We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!”
Review of Dog House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dog House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Frilford B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Well worth it!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing weekend, the staff are so helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the bed amazingly comfy the food generally fine and the atmosphere great. Only thing holding the score down slightly was the fact that being January they obviously run a skeleton shift system which makes sense but mistakes will happen if you put too much on to a small team that said they coped really well and should be congratulated for their hospitality and work ethic!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay, many thanks for letting us know. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    144
    64
    39
    25
See reviews for
74
160
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and i was worried due to the reviews here, but to our surprise we really enjoyed staying here, right from the start we we're looked after very well, our room was spacious, warm and comfortable with a huge comfy bed, we had evening meal both nights and it was delicious, breakfast was excellent with efficient service by lovely friendly staff, we would definitely stay here again, anyone wanting to stay in comfy relaxing pub just 10 mins drive from Oxford, this is the place to stay! We must thank James the assistant manager and ALL the staff for looking after us so well

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comments . I will be sure to congratulate the team. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having stayed at the Dog House in February 2012 and absolutely loved it my husband and I thought we would return for a weekend break between Christmas and New Year. We had an exceptionally good price so was even more looking forward to our stay.

However things had changed and not for the best. We noted that the management of the Inn was different and it seems that whatever the previous management were doing obviously changed when the new team were put in place.

The room (14) had absolutely no water pressure at all. On commenting on this we were informed that yes some rooms have no water pressure and that it is an old hotel and nothing could be done!! We did have an offer to change rooms but thought as only for 2 days we would endure this. Breakfast on the first morning was an experience watching the cleaner/bar person/waitress walking through the restaurant with her rubber gloves on obviously having been to clean the toilets then vacuuming the public areas as well. Not really something you want when trying to eat. The evening meal on the second night is where this all went so horribly wrong.

We placed our order then had to wait some 25 minutes for it to arrive, and no it was not busy, when my husband tried his it was stone cold so we sent both meals back. We then had to wait a further 15 mins for then to reappear only for mine to be stone cold. Then I approached the manager to complain about this and explain we wanted 2 fresh meals done as rewarming steaks would naturally dry them out even further than they were then. We had to wait a further 25 mins for the new meals to arrive. In the mean time we ordered a bottle of wine which did not appear after 20 mins so had to re-order it again. When the 3rd meals arrived yes they were good.

On approaching the bar to pay for the food etc my husband again pointed out the the manager that what had happened was not really acceptable and really had to prompt him for an apology.

On checking out the following day we were presented a bill with a bottle of wine that we never actually had. We had ordered a bottle of wine on the first night and was informed that it was in stock but when brought to the table it was the wrong one but they obviously still saw fit to charge this, I then had a struggle to have this deducted from the bill.

All in all the changes are not for the best and the place really does need a lot of attention. Please bring the Dog House back up to standard it is a lovely place. The one shining light in this bad review goes to Racheal who seemed to be there doing every job available though out our stay so well done to her.

Room Tip: Rooms out the back are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizd1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that you did not have a great time during your recent stay at The Dog House, though we are very pleased that you were impressed with Rachel and will ensure that she gets that feedback. Please be assured that the housekeeping team will be spoken to about their practices to ensure that they are working in a hygienic manner and that the Duty Manager who you spoke to will be given the support and training required to help him deliver the required guest experience, we are very pleased to announce that since your visit we have appointed a new Head Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frilford hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Needs someone to walk around and really look at the place. 'Hotel Inspector' would have a field day. Staff doing their jobs but no view of quality, or joined up thinking. 'superior' room only adequate . No pictures, decor tired. Bathroom tiling good but spoilt by poor bath panel and decor. Water warm not hot. Bed clean & v. Comfortable. Breakfast adequate but slow service with luke warm coffee and 2 requests for butter & stale croissant on the Sunday. Vacuuming during breakfast not appreciated. Noone appeared to be really in charge and supervising. Perhaps reasonable for the money but not the standard advertised. Very suprised as we left the room to see the clean laundry ready to remake the beds left out on the carpet unrapped where we had just walked in our outdoor shoes. We won't be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We have and will continue to use this to make positive amendments for the benefit of our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a wonderful four days from the 23rd to the 27th December. Rich and all the team were great. Everyone worked really hard, they were warm, friendly and attentive. The food was great and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in.
It would be a five star rating but as per other reviews the place does need a bit of TLC and modernising. The price really does reflect this and for this it's difficult to complain. Everything was clean and the girls who looked after our room did a great job.
All the staff were great and we'd like to wish you a happy new year and I hope your on Green Kings list for refurbishment soon, you guys really deserve it as this is a great place in a wonderful location with fabulous staff. Thank you for making our Christmas.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor looking out on the garden, very quite and a easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. We will of course pass on all of your comments to our team who will be delighted to read what you have posted. Once again thank you for your kind words & we sincerely hope to see you again soon at the Dog House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This place could use a coat of paint but the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Decoration in the Room a bit scruffy but overall it was clean and tidy.
Full English breakfast was excellent well worth the £49 for a double room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobthetaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to be able to inform you that Old English Inns are engaged in a major investment plan for the estate and that The Dog House will be included in this programme in time. We hope that you stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed one night as we travelled to Wales. The catchy name appealed to us and didn't disappoint. We sat for 3 hours in the bar/lounge near a lovely fire. We ate our meal there and some drinks. The staff were very attentive and friendly.
The room was a comfortable old inn style with a very comfortable bed. A very quiet location. Late breakfast and check out is great and the paper delivered added to the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Dog House Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frilford
2.3 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
450 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
238 reviews
5.5 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
9.9 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog House Hotel

Property: Dog House Hotel
Address: Faringdon Road, Frilford, Abingdon OX13 6QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon > Frilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Frilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dog House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing