We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dikhololo Game Reserve
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Brits
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to Dikhololo for one week and had a wonderful busy time. Unfortunately we couldn't get a house but an apartment, but we still enjoyed our stay.

Early mornings or late afternoon you can experience wildlife very close to you.

If you need a place where your children can be entertained, this is it. But be aware, all the activities, apart from entertainment at the pool, you have to pay rent for, so if you are sporty and active like us, bring your own, tennis- and squash rackets as they have none. Also bring your table tennis bats to save you money.

I would also like to recommend to bring beach umbrellas as shade is limited.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JokeDeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 167 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dikhololo Game Reserve is about 100Km from Johannesburg in the Northwest Province of Brits. The last stretch is a dirt road of approximately +-30km - you can use your car ( you will be slowed down as you need to drive carefully) but it is more suited for 4x4's or trucks.
We stayed in 2 comfortable duplex chalets (6 sleeper & 4 sleeper). At the main complex is tennis courts, mini golf, game drive, hot and cold swimming pool, shop and other amenities. There is also a waterslide a bit away with a swimming pool. We went for long walks and climbed up to the 2 lookout posts early in the morning and late evening - nice sunset and sunup. There is a wealth of birdlife - we saw lots! All in all a very relaxing weekend and I will go back! Not all the places have airconditioners - we had fans in our rooms and I think that in high summer it can be a bit of a problem as it gets very hot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Dikhololo is a lovely place to spend time,if you want to experience wildlife at your doorstep,the variety is not large,but the experience of looking out of your room and possibly seeing the giraffe or kudu eating right in front of you is wonderful,only problem is,don't expect much privacy,as most rooms or chalets are very open to all walking by who seem unable to keep their eyes from peering into your room or chaletas they go,and unfortunately in the studio style chalets,one can't look out while sitting unless the doors are open,and this totally opens one up to the other guests peering in,looking directly onto the main bed.The steps upto the loft are scarely steep and far apart,so not very good for little ones or the older guests.
With this being said,if one is going for the animal and bird life,it's worth it,it's a real treat being able to walk among the animals,though of course with a respect of their being wild,and they even have benches here and there in the game farm area under trees for those who wish to just drink up the African atmosphere.
The main pool area,restaurant and bar have just been revamped and it's lovely,all the other pools are well looked after and are a sweet relief after a hot dusty walk.
Oh yes,one other thing,the dirt road to the resort is a nightmare for a low car as it is terribly corrugated,so either go in a higher car or expect to be very shaken.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shirley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bliep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brits
23.4 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
13 reviews
16.2 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
84 reviews
10.2 mi away
Thaba Khaya Lodge, Sable Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Ukutula Lodge
Ukutula Lodge
#2 of 20 in Brits
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arotin Game Lodge
Arotin Game Lodge
#4 of 20 in Brits
9 reviews
18.2 mi away
Magalies Park
Magalies Park
#3 of 39 in Hartbeespoort
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikhololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikhololo Game Reserve

Address: Siena Farm, Brits, Brits 0250, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Brits
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Brits
Price Range: $57 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dikhololo Game Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This game farm retreat is located 34km north-west of Brits and offers visitors a unique and unforgettable eco experience. Accommodation is separated into different camps, generally clustered around rocky ridges to make the most of the amazing scenery. Nature lovers will be treated to close-up experiences with zebra, giraffe, eland and a variety of other buck and animal species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dikhololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing