We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ukutula Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kassaboera Lodge(Schoemansville)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Venue Country Hotel(Hartbeespoort)(Great Value!)
$76
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanseria Country Estate(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
$73
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwamahla Conference Centre & Game Lodge(Rustenburg)(Great Value!)
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Valverde Country Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
67
8
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
8
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion cubswalk with the lionshear the lions roaringamazing placesconesamazing experienceovernight guestsonce in a lifetimesun cityon arrivalself cateringinteractiondevillodgevisitorsanimalswalks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 81 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are Lion Farms and there are LION FARMS! If you love lions and appreciate animals that are healthy, happy and well looked after, you MUST visit Ukutula Lodge. This is not your typical tourist trap that pushes visitors through like cattle and after a brief viewing of lion cubs they move you out. You spend time with the gorgeous little cubs, picking them up, letting them crawl all over you and fall asleep on you. It is paradise! Take your family and have a very memorable experience!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was an experience of a lifetime. We were there with a group from the Special Convention of Jehovah's Witnesses & were there just for the tour. However we were able to see on our tour Tigers-cubs as well as adults, Cheetahs, Caracul's, Hyena's, and of course lions! My son was able to hold in his lap a lion about 6 months old--amazing! Then my wife, son & myself were able to hold 2 day old as well as 2 week old cubs--I will never forget this experience. The walk with the lions was awesome, we were able to see these "teenaged" lions chase after food being tossed by the guides & see some of their instinctive reactions. What beautiful animals. We learned about the white lions & the efforts of the lodge to preserve this breed of lions. We also had the opportunity to speak with one of the owners about the research efforts of the lodge with regards to the lions. Overall I highly recommend this interaction & I would love to come back to stay here for a couple nights. We also had lunch here & this was excellent quality food. Nothing to be disappointed with. Great operation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here as 2 couples for one night mid May 2013. We booked directly with them and it was an easy drive from Joburg, just about an hour. Checked straight into our chalet on arrival around midday. Chalets are great, very clean, spacious, nice modern bathrooms and small kitchenette. Each has a little terrace overlooking the small pool. Lovely setting! ONLY negative of chalet would be that the bed was extremely hard and the lighting was incredibly subtle!!
We had lunch on arrival which was fabulous, no choice of menu but it was delicious so no problem for us. Free water/soft drinks too. Then we did the lion interaction which was included with the cost of the chalet for overnight guests. This was an amazing experience where we cuddled and played with the young cubs, then moved on to play with the sub-6 month cubs which included 2 tiger cubs and then we had a break for aternoon tea (which was complimentary and delicious!). We then took part in the lion walk which was an incredible experience, walking for about an hour with 3 adolescent lions. UK health and safety would have had a fit!!!
We ate in the outdoor boma that evening, just the 4 of us and they waited on us hand and foot and lit a beautiful fire for us. The 3 course meal was once again delicious. We woke up throughout the night listening to the 118 lions living onsite roaring - just incredible.
Breakfast next morning was great and we had time for more lion watching before we left to move onto our next stop.
All in all an incredible experience and one we will definitely revisit and recommend to others.
Thanks for looking after us, and the lions, so well!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maldivesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Did stay here, just did the tour. The staff, the preservation, the care and love by all there is fantastic!! Had the chance to take a private tour and visit with the lions. Its so evident how all the staff cares so deeply for what they do. Extremely accommodating for their visitors but of course prioritizing the care for their animals.
Unforgettable experience and can't wait to go back some day. Would even like to volunteer!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustever008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife, brother and I visited the Centre on 31 Dec 2012 and had a wonderful time. It was great to play with the baby lion cubs and even more fun Walking with the Lions. Like the Van Dyk Cheetah centre, the Ukutula Lodge is doing great work with the Lions. Although we did not stay for the evening the Lodge faucilities looked amazing and would love to go back some weekend to stay. Park of the tour included small refreshments, in particular Scones which were fantastic. Would recommend visiting the Lodge for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pherse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews