We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and food”

The Crown at Old Basing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Old Basing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Searched for location easily accessed from m3 to meet half way with family for a birthday dinner.
The staff were friendly, knowledgable and able to answer all the questions we had as two of the party had gluten allergies. The food was tasty, hot and the flavours outstanding.
Excited to return as soon as another celebratory event arises.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glutenfreespeechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    133
    41
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

What an amazing meal top top class food and service I cannot recommend this place enough Helen and Chris and team are doing a brilliant job

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richyrich87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic find - some of the best "pub food" we've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Describing this as 'pub food' feels like you are really understating it! Both the steak and the cheese souffle were extremely tasty, and the service was friendly and attentive. Highlights would have to be the homemade bread and triple cooked chips, so be sure to try those. I'm sure we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrProper0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely dinner here. The service was excellent. We had no trouble getting a table even though they were quite busy. I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pub for food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this pub after a walk with friends. Great food and service and a number of different ales. The landlady was very welcoming and helpful which the the visit all the more enjoyable. Worth a visit and I for one will be going back. Tip:- try the homemade bread, great with the best olives I have ever tasted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDKENT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown at Old Basing also viewed

Old Basing, Basingstoke
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown at Old Basing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing