We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Coast Holiday Parks Moonee Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a lovely week long family holiday. The grounds were well maintained and looked after as was the ammenities.
There is a lovely BBQ area that is undercover with a TV, Fridge, Microwave adn sick for all visitors to utilise.
We stayed in a cabin which was well maintained and modern.
The location is ideal with a tidal creek between you and the beach. There is also a public picnic area near the creek. There is also a lovely beach or forrest walks. Lovely views from the headland.
We even saw a few whales splashing around while sitting around a table near some of the cabins, that was great and the kids enjoyed it.
There is a shopping centre just off the highway as you are heading into Moonee Beach which has pretty much everything you need and you are only 5-10 minutes to Coffs Harbour.
Will recommend this holiday park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were instantly impressed at the beauty of Moonee Beach and fantastic setting of the holiday park over-looking a river, beach and head land. The location is easy too access but we felt we were far away from civilisation. Great coastal forrest and beach walks too. Some people manage a holiday park as if they were a prison warden. Not Jill at Moonee Beach, she understands hospitality. We will be back for a longer stay soon! Thanks again Jill!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina-Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Again another fabulous stay with helpful staff - Heather and the lady whose name begins with M (sorry can't remember your name). Looking forward to our visit later in the year!
A well kept site and excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhatEyeThink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love Moonee Beach - this is a great little caravan park, particularly for families with young kids, the outlook over the estuary to the beach is amazing. The tidal estuary is great to paddle in and play around on the flats during low tide (lucky to get past thigh height at its deepest) and for a better swim (up to neck height) at high tide. Be careful of the beach as it is unpatrolled, a bit rough and we have seen some decent sized sharks not too far out!
To the right there is a lovely headland that looks out to split solitary island, north to Emerald and south to Sapphire, they have recently put a great lookout and walkway in, but be wary of snakes here as we have seen a few of them as well.
To the holiday park - we camp on a powered site and it is very reasonably priced around $40p/n during peak time, obviously as it is camping you need to share facilities at the amenities block, the front ones are looking very tired and struggle to deal with the numbers at peak times, however the regulars quite often use the 'ensuites' at the back of the park which are usually a better quality.
There are three types of cabins and we have been in all of them - the premium cabins (I think they are going to rename creek or river view) are the newest they are quite modern with all you could need during a holiday and a nice big veranda/deck only problem is they are incredibly pricey at $1750 per week in peak times which is more than some of the 4 star accom in the area. T
The second tier is the Deluxe cabin (I think will be renamed the ocean view cabins) these are a bit older than the premiums but I think are better value, they have a couple of bedrooms, small lounge and kitchen and they have extended the front deck which is great for morning brekky or arvo drinks, these run about $1500 per week in peak so still fairly pricey.
The third option is the Ensuite cabins which are fairly basic and don't have any decent views or a deck but I would definitely consider for a family (has double bed and bunks) that are looking to keep the budget down but don't want to camp, I can't remember the prices on these but think it was a fairly less than the others.

If you get sick of BBQ's and don't want to cook the Moonee Beach Tavern down the road does great pizzas and pretty good food in general, there is also a large shopping centre next to it (probably 600m from the park) but it must struggle to survive in non peak periods as it only has a Coles and about another 5shops with about 8 vacant store fronts as well.

A great place to go to relax and swim and do as little as possible if you want to!

Room Tip: I would go with the Deluxe Cabins (2nd tier of pricing) they are a bit older and smaller but have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We love Moonee. We've been here quite a few times over the last few years on our way to and from the Gold Coast. Grounds look lovely and well cared for. Even with this rain we still smile. Very clean amenities. Problem with key code on amenities last night but it was sorted immediately. She came to tell us in the dark it was fixed within minutes of us reporting it. Thanks.
Wanted to add to the comment on the previous review as we saw the RSCPA man come in this morning and going into the office so the incident was reported. He came straight over to the site where the van was whilst we sat there. There have been a few dogs off leads but saw a manager Friday night asking one to be put on a lead. Not had this problem before, some people don't do as asked. Wouldn't make me worry about staying again as not had any problems when visited previously. The owners of the dogs that were sometimes not on a lead left this morning, they need to be responsible. If the rule is dogs on lead put your dog on a lead please.

Room Tip: Ocean Views are on there own at front of park and have a good view out to sea. Site D1 and D2 at f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Happycamper1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We revisited the park after some 5 years,this time we stayed for two weeks and were once again were impressed by the beautiful location.We travel with our dog and are always grateful to find a lovely park so close to the beach that allows dogs.
We have stayed in many parks that allow dogs,all of them stipulateing that dogs in the park must be restrained at all times.
This was certainly not the case at Moonee.All of the guests around us had their dogs and all were loose to wander at will.As a result there was a dog fight,the dog next to us ran at young chilldren and one of the guests had her dog,a German Shepherd locked in a small camper van and let out for just a few minutes a day.When the dog was out of the van it barked savagely at anyone who passed by.
This was reported to the park managers who took no action whatsoever and in fact during the whole of our stay we did not sight the managers in the park at any one time.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Dakky630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way south. The location is superb overlooking the beach and estuary and adjoining a beaut nature reserve.
The cabin was excellent, clean, spacious, modern with a nice verandah visited by beautiful birds every day. Great value about half the price of a hotel and the staff were great. Made us feel really welcome. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moonee Beach
3.6 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
379 reviews
5.7 mi away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
272 reviews
4.3 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sapphire Beach Holiday Park
Sapphire Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Sapphire Beach
132 reviews
3.1 mi away
Opal Cove Resort
Opal Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Korora
873 reviews
3.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Emerald Beach
Discovery Parks - Emerald Beach
#1 of 1 in Emerald Beach
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Holiday Parks Moonee Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Holiday Parks Moonee Beach

Address: 50 Moonee Beach Rd, Moonee Beach, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia (Formerly NCHP Moonee Beach Holiday Park)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Moonee Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Moonee Beach
Price Range: $74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Coast Holiday Parks Moonee Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dip your toes into the calm swimming waters and rock pools or take advantage of the low tide for direct access to Moonee Beach. Located on the tranquil waters of Moonee Creek and adjoining Moonee Beach Reserve and Green Bluff headland there is so much to see and do at Moonee Beach Holiday Park. Whilst parents are out swimming, fishing, boating or bushwalking, the kids will be entertained during the school holidays with fabulous activities such as painting, movies, face painting, Easter egg hunts and fishing competitions. Nature lovers will marvel at the rare flora and fauna on display as they stroll through pristine rainforest, mangrove mud flats and scale the coastal headlands that boast stunning ocean views.Dog friendly (on sites only)* seasonal conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your North Coast Holiday Parks Moonee Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing