We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Rose Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hackthorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hackthorn B&B and Inns
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My mum and I stayed here whilst competing at the near by Lincoln Show ground. Anne was the perfect host, we arrived late after being stuck in 6 hours of traffic. It was the perfect place to relax for the evening, lovely modern en suite and Anne even offered to make a sandwich as we did not have time to get to a pub for some dinner.
Little touches like handmade biscuits in our room and a flash of fresh milk made it a very pleasant stay.
The breakfast was delicious and faultless, and set us up for the busy day we had ahead of us.
I would highly recommend staying at Rose Cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbbambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a delightful find. A very warm welcome, with (more than one piece of) deliciously irresistible chocolate cake. The facilities were first class in all respects, and the breakfast comprehensive with locally sourced food. The time was all too short, and hopefully we will return for another dose of care and comfort before too long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay here whilst attending an event at Lincoln Showground. A great host welcomes you to a fantastic property and our double room with en suite was just superb, great shower! Fresh milk for the room and home made biscuits are great touches. Really comfortable bed and furnishings.
Highly recommended and we will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraBravo2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

A wonderful stay. The room was beautiful very fresh and bright, which with the hot weather was lovely. High specification bathroom with plenty of space and good shower.

The welcome from Ann Ward is very friendly and you are made to feel very at home. The little extras such as the home made biscuits flasks of cold milk and cold bottles of water for the night are lovely. Somewhere we will definitively be returning to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Whilst attending a wedding and reception in the beautiful village of Hackthorn we were lucky enough to be able to book all 3 rooms for my family at Rose Cottage so it made it a real family weekend together. From the moment we arrived we were met with the warmest of welcome's from Ann and her delightful dog Millie in what is the most beautiful B&B we've ever stayed in.
The location is very private with very little traffic through the little village, although it's only 10 minute drive from Lincoln and the main Lincolnshire A roads.
The rooms are amazingly clean and all bathrooms have very recently been re-fitted and tiled to an extremely high and modern standard whilst remaining in-keeping with it's listed building status.
The breakfast selection was comprehensive and the full english delicious with as many top-ups of tea, coffee and toast as required.
Ann's friendly service and attention to detail is second-to-none and we can thoroughly recommend a stay at Rose Cottage to anyone & everyone. If you do go then please spend a little time giving Ann's lovely dog Millie a good belly-rub but be aware you may still be doing it an hour later !!
Many thanks Ann, we're really looking forward to a return visit the next time we're in the region.
Mark & Lesley. x

Room Tip: Don't worry if you can't book the bedroom with the en-suite as the family bathroom is fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been staying regularly at Rose Cottage since October 2012 and cannot praise it highly enough. The rooms are warm and cosy and the bathrooms have been designed to a high specification with great showers and the one with the bath is lovely with ample hot water. The beds are very comfortable and I have always had a relaxing and restful nights sleep. The owner is a delight and simply cannot do enough for you and offers an impressive and delicious range of breakfasts. The lounge area is very comfortable and it has been really nice to have an open fire going during the winter and "spring". Location wise Hackthorn is only 15mins from Lincoln city centre and there are some great pubs within 10mins drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernowcropdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were visiting Lincoln while my husband was taking a blacksmithing class in nearby Cold Hanworth, so we wanted to find a nice spot nearby. We're not usually keen on B&Bs since we like a fair amount of privacy, but we felt completely comfortable in this charming cottage. The guest living and sleeping areas are separate from the owners' spaces so we never felt like we were intruding. The owner was friendly and went to any length to help us enjoy our visit, but never was hovering. We are vegetarian and she made sure that our breakfast was just as delicious as any other. Fresh fruit, jams, eggs, delicious porridge, and nice treats at night. Our room had a tv, a comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. We loved the decor of the home--beautiful white plaster walls, great views from every window--the setting is simple and lovely.

We stayed at Rose Cottage for five nights and never ran out of things to do. Lincoln is just a short drive or cab ride and has a spectacular cathedral and castle plus great coffee shops, restaurants and museums. If you have a chance, visit the cathedral while the choir is practicing--we're not usually big on such things, but it was truly amazing. We also enjoyed several good meals at the nearby pub in Welton, The Falconer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hackthorn
7.5 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
11.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lincoln Yurts
Lincoln Yurts
#1 of 14 in Lincoln
315 reviews
5.5 mi away
Langdale Lodge B & B
Langdale Lodge B & B
#1 of 1 in Langworth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage B&B

Property: Rose Cottage B&B
Address: Rose Cottage Main Street | Hackthorn, Hackthorn LN2 3PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Hackthorn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hackthorn
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing