We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best daytrips ever”
Review of Aravanes Taverna

Aravanes Taverna
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Thronos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Traditional family cretan taverna situated in a picturesque village called Thronos. Heartbreaking view on mountains and on Amari valley. Delicious homemade food, raki and wine. Genuine Cretan hospitality by the sisters Maria and Eleutheria and their family who run the place!
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional family cretan taverna situated in a picturesque village called Thronos. Heartbreaking view on mountains and on Amari valley. Delicious homemade food, raki and wine. Genuine Cretan hospitality by the sisters Maria and Eleutheria and their family who run the place!
Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

First of all the location of aravanes family restaurant is unique! Located on a cliff with a panoramic view of the valley and the psiloritis mountain as well it is the best setting for a lunch with solely organic products that come either from their farm or from other small family farms of the region.The owner Mr Lambros was extremely welcoming and also knowledgeable of the broader erea and the paths of psiloritis as well as of the rich history of the thronos village and the ancient city of sivritos whose ruins can be found at the backhills of thronos village.In overall i would recommend this place for a daytrip with family members or friends.Best food best view rich history and countless activities offered!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank giannisstav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

Came across this place on our trip to Arkadi monastery. As we walked in from the road we noticed the neatness and the splendid view. Decided to have lunch which was really nice as well as the staff which were friendly and took the time to satisfy our questions about the food which turned out to be mostly own produce. Tasty lunch, highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Pheldagriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, Ιδιοκτήτης at Aravanes Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words!
We always be happy when our guests enjoy the food and the place!!!
Wish you happy holidays in Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Unfortunately, we drove all the way to this restaurant because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Although there were 3 staff members and only 4 tables to be served, service was extremely slow and we paid for half of what we ordered because only half was brought to us. We tried the fava and it was inedible as it was swarmed with vinegar and salt. A poor baby goat was tied with a very short leash and didn't stop whining the whole time we were there. We just couldn't believe how the staff was not in tune with how distressing its calls were to customers and why it was crying in the first place. There are caged rock partridges, too. They call it "The animal farm".
I do not understand why this place has good reviews at all. We diverted our route to eat here because of them. It may have nice views but the service we had and the food we ate were terrible, besides having to witness caged and tied animals while we ate. It is not the cheapest either...

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria P, Ιδιοκτήτης at Aravanes Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Hello from Aravanes!
I am Maria and with my sister Eleutheria run this place at the moment. We are sad hearing that you haven't a good time with us! We didn't notice that you were so disappointed neither from our food notR front he enviroment. However let me explain and kindly answer to your bad review .
Out business is a family business that means that only me my sister and one more employee work at the place which as you have seen is very big and needs a lot of care to be clean tidy and beautiful. All our food and salad are made at the time you order it so it is normal not to serve our guests immediately as we DO NOT serve refrigarerated food or we DO NOT have salads ready to be served. We try to be fast but food need its time to be ready.
As many of our guests are not used in local and village food we fully prepare the dishes adding salt,olive oil , lemon juice, so to have a genuine typical Cretan food. We DO NOT add vinegar in our FAVA as no one can eat it. FAVA goes only with lemon juice!!!!!!
In order to offer always fresh food we cook everyday two or three fresh food. We tell our guests the dish of the day will be for exomple imam or meat with vegetables or beans...
We want to serve only fresh food and if something is out we propose a different plate.
A few days before you came in our lace that little goat you mentioned lost his mother. It could not be at the farm alone so we decided to bring it near our taverna so to get used with people and to be able to take care of it . It was normal to asks for its mother but we do our best to conform him and now it is better and seems to be happy with its new friends. Our small animal farm has chickens,birds,and rabbits which unfortunately you haven't noticed. Many children fave fun observing that animals!
We are really suprised reading your review as this place has a long story life starting 30 years ago when our parents first started this business. A lot of guests have written kind words for us in our paper book we keep in ourvtaverna and one can see and check it and also we have great reviews on TripAdvisor and on our page on Facebook.
We are very sad that you didn't tell as immediately that you didn't like the food or that our goat annoyed you to replace the plate you had and explain the situation of tha goat.
Last we are very careful as far our prices concerned and we can assure everyone that our rates as normal rates for everyone.
We hope to meet you some other time and have the chance to talk and show you the beauty of our place!
Maria Papoutsaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017

Called in for coffee. Very friendly welcome, superb views! Also visited the local church. A truly wonderful experience. Visited in March which was out of season but the staff made us feel at home. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

We were visiting the village and the church, and were taken here as part of a tour group. We just had coffee so can't really comment on the food. But the views are magnificent, and the owners were pleased to show us all round, including where the raki is made (and we sampled some). Picture idyllic rural Crete and this is it.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Service
1  Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aravanes Taverna also viewed

Meronas, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Spili, Rethymnon Prefecture
Margarites, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Thronos, Rethymnon Prefecture

Been to Aravanes Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing