We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monastero-Fortezza di Santo Spirito
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ocre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This monastery is unique. A wonderful place to feel like the monks hundred years ago. Cristina the manager was in all details. We strongly recommend the restaurant with a customized menu according to the occasion. We arrived late, and they were waiting for us with a special menu. They have 12 rooms very comfortable. They place is excellent for events and they are organized to receive and organize the events.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeljak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We selected this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed! The location is stunning and the building complex of the monastery is both interesting to explore and very accommodating. There are terraces everywhere you can sit, either in shade or in sunshine, library rooms indoors when the heat of the sun gets too much and a charming chapel complex where there was an exhibition of carved wooden Virgins from the medieval period together with the remnants of wall frescoes. Our bedroom was simple but adequate and always clean. Dinner in the evenings was very generous ..... four courses of which the pasta was nearly always a meal in itself. There was a piano recital one evening which was a lovely added bonus. The valley is interesting to visit: the consequences of the L'Aquila earthquake of 2009 are still very visible in the local villages, but the people are incredibly friendly and interested in welcoming strangers to their area. The limestone caves of Stiffe are worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We organised our wedding reception here...BEST CHOICE EVER!

We live abroad but wanted to get married where we grew up: we visited the Monastero, met Cristina and Gianluca and quickly understood this was the place! The location is amazing, the settings are stunning; moreover, Cristina, Gianluca and their collaborators all made a great job, from the food to music and pictures – accurate planning and smooth organisation (which is not what you usually hear about weddings!)

The atmosphere of the Monastero is unique, we and our guests added a joyous mood - we ended up celebrating an amazing event! Thank you again Cristina and Gianluca, see you soon

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a great holiday at Monastero di Santo Spirito. The staff was most helpfull and welcoming. The room was perfect for us and the breakfast was a joy every morning. The standard of cleaning was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lz123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was initially struck by the surrounding quiet of this 13th century monastery. So beautiful! The bed and pillows were among the best I've encountered on my travels, however the shower recess could have been a bit more spacious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The dinners were Michelin-starred - it was worth trying not to eat much during the day to save up for these gastronomic delights in the evening! Thank you, Christina! And make sure you meet Ruggiero, the dog with the very adorable, wise human face!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We can warmly recommend Hotel Monastero Fortezza di Santo Spirito for a pleasant stay in Abruzzo. It is quiet and very nicely located. The couple who run the hotel are very nice and accommodating. We got a very interesting tour of the monastery and its history. The dinner we were served was delicious cooked and can be highly recommended. The pleasant atmosphere and friendly hospitality makes us happy returns!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga-Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stuning beauty, perched on the side of a valley wall, with spectactular views. And the facility itself was perfect - Ancient, but all the modern stuff & redone super high end. Shockingly cheap, in a city this place would be 400-500 euros a night. The owners were super nice & super aware, and the espresso was as good as any I have had in Italy (the best on this trip). The dinning experience was great (food so-so) but a private dinner, in a beautiful place - awesome. Loved it, took a boatload of pictures, and I will go back. I can't believe this section of Italy isn't in any of the guide books - go off the beaten trail a bit, get privacy & amazing value. Easy drive from Rome (~2 hours).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monastero-Fortezza di Santo Spirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero-Fortezza di Santo Spirito

Address: Via Santo Spirito S.N., 67040, Ocre, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Ocre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ocre
Price Range: $116 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monastero-Fortezza di Santo Spirito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing