We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover hotel in France”

Hotel le Grand Chene
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Grand Chene
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gievres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on 12 July on route to south of France
Rooms large nice bathrooms ,plenty of hot water very clean and quite
Play park outside for children and greenspace for dogs
Owners very polite and breakfast was bread, croissants jams tea etc very nice start to day
No bar or restaurant for eve but local town and supermarket 5. Mins away we purchased Turkish kebabs and chips and ate by the river ! And had wine and beer in garden of hotel very pleasant and quite and sunny early to bed for next day.
My opinion is very good base for overnight stay children and dogs welcome and not far from motorway

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is situated at the outskirts of Gievres, so it is an option only if you travel by car, but if so, it's a good choice for visiting the Loire-valley (esp. between Blois and Tours). Close to Romorantin, to the romantic Chateau du Moulin (it's worth a visit), to Selles-sur-Cher, Saint-Aignan and the zoo at Beauval.
Rooms were recently renovated, so they are quite pleasant, nicely decorated, very clean, the bathroom is modern. Free wi-fi in the room. Free parking. Very good value for money.
It is a family run little hotel and the owners are helpful and do their best, but sometimes they are overwhelmed.
The breakfast is not really worth the money. As you are served at table, sometimes you have to wait until you are seated and get something to eat.
There is a grill restaurant across the street (we did not try it, as it is closed on Sunday), and you can buy fruits in a store next to the hotel. Otherwise, there are no shops in the neighbourhood, so you absolutely need a car.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypathia_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel i situated not far from main attractions in the Loire valley.The place is quiet and secluded . Breakfast was simple but as expected in France
A room close to reception-you will hear every thing that goes on there.
There is NOTHING! close to the Hotel.(Unless you get there before 19:00 as all shops closes)
On the funny side:To get the WIFI connected you need to enter a 26 digits password..No idea why they could not make it simpler...
When I got the key I had to pass a test on how to enter a 5 digit code on the front door so I can enter in case the door is closed....

Room Tip: Ask for a room FAR from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank philippe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gérard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pascale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fxbck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gievres
6.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Romorantin Hotel
23.1 mi away
La Tete Noire Hotel Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Le Lanthenay
Le Lanthenay
#1 of 1 in Romorantin-Lanthenay
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Les Jardins de Beauval
Les Jardins de Beauval
#1 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
2,701 reviews
4.3 mi away
Astrotel
Astrotel
#4 of 6 in Romorantin
7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Pyramide
Hotel La Pyramide
#3 of 6 in Romorantin
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Grand Chene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Grand Chene

Address: ZA Les Grands Chenes | Gièvres, 41130 Gievres, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Gievres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gievres
Price Range: $62 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Grand Chene 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Grand Chene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing