We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway - Brook Boutique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Romantic Getaway - Brook Boutique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Dilu & Hesh

We started and concluded our Honeymoon week at this perfect romantic getaway, relaxing in the calm and quiet atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and provided excellent customer service. Their chef did wonders with different dishes; food was awesome. Rooms are so so comfy..... So far the best place I have ever been to in Sri Lanka. If you ever need a place to relax and let romance blossom, then Brook’s the ideal place for you!

Room Tip: Go for the Chalets, think it was room number 8, has its very own pool and indoor jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co-founder / Director Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Dilu & Hesh,

The Team at Brook would like to 'thank you' for not only choosing to stay with us once on your Honeymoon but coming back to spend your last night with us as well. We are delighted that you rate us as the best place you have been to in Sri Lanka, knowing that you have visited many top class hotels.

Since your visits, we have learnt that we have won a "World Luxury Hotel Award" & will be claiming our trophy at a ceremony in KL, next month, so we are thrilled that you spoke highly of our staff's 'customer service', as that was the big factor in winning the award. Our chefs love it when our guests appreciate their culinary skills, thank you on their behalf.

All our warmest wishes go out to you for a lifetime of happiness & we look forward to your next visit to Brook.

Best regards,

Karen, Pubudu & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    21
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our special re-union weekend celebration - with friends coming in from the US France & Australia - I was asked to organize something special. Trust me from the moment we entered Brook we were spoilt rotten. The food just awesome. The rooms are so beautifully decorated with attention to detail. Definitely the best beds in Sri Lanka for comfort. there's a pillow menu, and when we felt guilty about eating too much we got on the treadmill - one in every room then had fun in our private jacuzzi. A visit to the main pool is a must - it's heavenly.We had a karaoke night and a quiz night tailor made by the Partner Karen. Someone said You can't have enough of a good thing - this ones for Brook & the wonderful team & thank you again We are coming back.
Congratulations on being awarded a prize at the luxury hotels awards ...Rozobelle and friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co-founder / Director Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Rozobelle & friends,

Having such a charming group of ladies stay a couple of nights for a special reunion, lent a definite air of sophistication to Brook, especially in 'Butterflies' our "Fine Dining-room" where you experienced our chef's exceptional dishes including foie gras & a trio of Brook's signature desserts; accompanied by some of our fine wines. As you said, it was a good job you had the treadmill & gym balls to help.

Thank you for your comment that our beds are the best in Sri Lanka for comfort & noticing the effort which has gone into making this an unique hotel in the boutique world. The ladies from abroad, as well as those from Colombo will always be welcome at Brook. I better start devising a new quiz for you.

Thank you for choosing Brook Boutique for you get-together; it was our privilege to serve you. We await your return.

Kind regards to you & your party,

Karen & The Team at Brook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have stayed here because our friend Glen Terry from Udekki recommended this place. Oh wauw. The staff, the chef, the food, the environment, the treatment, the luxury, the guide for our tours (Jayanta and Prasad), beautiful Karin and super Pupudu, Reggy. Wauw to infinity. I've enjoyed the most tasteful consommé avec des quenelles au poulet and more in this tropical environment. The staff is present to service you in the way worth the seven stars of Dubai and be invisible. The way I love it. Isharas passionfruit cocktail is superb. So if my daughter gets married (hurry up darling), she'll have this present.
By the way my sons of 12 and 14 truly enjoyed this stay and have some trouble getting adjusted back to the basics we normally do.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Estate Villa, if you can, have this one, otherwise the superior room are great as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitasharmila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co-founder / Director Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Sita & family,

It was a joy having you & your family stay with us & I'm happy that the 2 bedroom villa was so well appreciated by you all. Thanks go to our mutual good friend, Glenn Terry the owner of Udekki, over in Kalpitiya (a wonderful beach-side boutique hotel) for suggesting you spent the next part of your holiday in Sri Lanka, with us. Pubudu & I enjoyed sharing time with you over our evening cocktails. The boys really seemed to be happy with the pool table & table tennis, the karaoke & loved the hill-top pool as well as that in the garden of the villa.

Our chefs so enjoy creating wonderful food & nothing is more rewarding than having wonderful guests who enjoy eating it. All our staff were sorry to wave you good-bye. Thank you for referring to the standard of service at Brook as being worth the 'seven stars of Dubai'; a lot of our staff have worked in several of the leading Middle East hotels including the 7-star variety & Pubudu & I don't let the standards drop, we constantly train & update the staff.

We are thrilled that you are planning on offering a Sri Lankan honeymoon with a stay at Brook for your daughter when she gets married. You can be assured how well we will look after them.

Before I finish, I'll share the news with you that we are one of the winners of a prestigious World Luxury Hotel Award for this year, thank you for voting for us.

Come back some day, we will always be ready to welcome your arrival from Amsterdam.

Kind wishes to you all,

Karen & the Team at Brook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I happened to look up Brook Boutique, our favourite hotel, on Trip Advisor the other day and was very
upset to see that somebody had been very unkind in their comments. I grew more annoyed when I
read the hotels comments where they are saying that this woman hadn’t even stayed at the hotel. It
has prompted me to add my comments on what is probably the very best hotel in Sri Lanka.

My beautiful wife and I were fortunate to spend two nights of our Honeymoon here at Brook last
May. It was the most wonderful experience, we had a lovely bedroom with a window seat and all the
facilities you could wish to find in your room. The service of the very friendly staff and the delicious
food made our stay very special.

What that lady was complaining about is so wrong. When we were there they had a rule that children
had to be from 14, now, I hear it is from 7. It was wonderful for us; we had a beautiful peaceful place
to enjoy together. At the fantastic pool, we enjoyed having it to ourselves, we know that if there had
been little kids running around screaming and crying, as little ones do, we would not have been able
to enjoy. Brook really gives you the feeling that it is there for grown-ups and we were two grown-ups
who loved it. The management seem to care about making the most calm and relaxing time for their
guests. Keeping little ones away doesn’t make this place bad; it makes it special for people who want
just bird songs & butterflies, peace to sit and read a book or simply chill.

It is 14 months since we were there on our Honeymoon and we are very soon about to have a baby
of our own but I respect this hotel so much, I would never think of trying to take our little one there
but in time to come, we’ll leave the baby with the grandparents for a night or two and I can take my
wife back to this excellent hotel to relax. If anyone is looking for the most romantic hotel for their
Honeymoon, don’t hesitate in booking here at Brook, in our opinion it really is the Very, Very best
Honeymoon place. I see from other people’s comments, that many more think the same as us.

Thank you Brook, we have voted for you in the Hotel Awards and hope you win because you are
great. We are honestly giving you 5 in each category because that is what you deserve. Good luck for
the future of our favourite hotel, Brook Boutique.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharinduax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Co Founder/Director Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Tharindu,

How kind of you to speak up for what we are trying to achieve at Brook Boutique, it is very heartening for myself, the other directors & staff members to know how much our policies are actually appreciated. As somebody once said, "You can please some of the people all of the time, all of the people some of the time but never all the people all of the time" but at least at Brook we give it a jolly good try!

It is always our pleasure to welcome our guests to a calm & peaceful environment & I hope that sometime in the not too distant future you & your wife will come back to your 'favourite' hotel.

Good luck for the arrival of your baby, do let us know what you have?

Karen & the Team at Brook Boutique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visited this place on our way to Dambulla, its a beautiful place, but the only hic up was that they said that no kids were allowed, and well from the moment i heard that i was Put off, What kind of Holiday place can tell you that no kids are allowed, it is costly YES!!! but not a problem, as long as there is value for money, here you have that, but they say no to children....sad but true...Just a waste, where would the married couples with kids leave their kids and come???
Not a Good Ideai would say for a place like this, as i saw it children have many a space to run around and play, so its a shame that they do not accomodate kids here..

Room Tip: no point as kids are not allowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank larinetoussaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Larine Toussaint

Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to note that you thought our hotel 'a beautiful place' and you were kind enough to note that we give value for money.

Regarding your actual complaint, I'm afraid you were completely incorrect in your statement 'no kids allowed' as our hotel policy accepts children, initially, we had a policy of 14 years but we reduced it last year to children of 7years & above, so allow me to explain our concept.

We have never marketed our hotel as a 'family' hotel, instead it is regarded as a "couples" hotel, being that I am British, I think this is a concept recognised by most Europeans & Americans. There are numerous famous hotels around the world, including here in Sri Lanka, who do not accept children at all but we do.

You are very fortunate that as a family when you want to travel you have your pick of 99% of hotels world-wide but what about the others, older couples, honeymooners, gay couples, stressed out business people who all just want peace, tranquillity & relaxation - that is what we are offering them here at Brook. It's not that we don't like children, we do, very much, but please think about the hotel, we have some steep steps, unguarded fish pond, areas fenced only by tensile steel cables, although all are completely safe for adults, a little one could have a mishap and we are surrounded by an 80 acre working estate, an open stream etc, etc. Older children know the meaning of danger, little ones do not. We do not have a kiddies pool nor provide cots & high-chairs or toys & games for little ones.

We have actually received grateful thanks from married couples, who have left their children at home with the grandparents or aunties, saying how wonderful it was to totally have time for each other once again; one review was headed "Truly a perfect place to rekindle your romance" - a little difficult to do with kids in tow! These days 'romance' is very much in the air at Brook with many Honeymoon couples making it their dream destination. If you had taken the time to read through the 33 glowing reports we have received up to date, you would have found how our guests value the calm peaceful environment which is Brook.

Was it a mistake on your part that you gave us a 'poor' rating while marking us very high with 5s & 4s for Rooms, Cleanliness, Service, Value, Location and Sleep Quality (we are a little bemused by the last one, as it appears you did not actually stay in one of our rooms & know what it is like to sleep in our beds & to experience the pillow menu but just looked around!) A mistake like that could affect our overall rating but anyhow, we are still #1 hotel in the North Western Province.

Thank you Larine for successfully helping me promote Brook because future guests who are looking for luxury, comfort with peace & quiet will certainly look at your review & know that they will find what they require at Brook Boutique, a sophisticated adult hotel.

Yours

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was the best hotel we've been to so far. We really appreciate the fact that they respect our privacy. Every moment we spend there gave us something more than we expected. From the time we entered the hotel till the last second we left the place they treated us and pampered us very well. Food was delicious & the spread they had for breakfast was just awesome. Also the soothing and calming atmosphere & the classy room was another thing we loved. FOUR thumbs up for the Brook team for their excellent service & making our holiday a memorable one. I guess for all couples this a place you must visit. :D
-Sandun & Anjalie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Anjalie & Sandun,

It was our delight to have you stay with us for your belated honeymoon. Our chefs take such pleasure in seeing their delicious food enjoyed so much. Our total staff are thrilled with your '4 Thumbs up'. The peaceful luxury which is Brook, looks forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Have a very happy life together,

Karen, Pubudu & the Brook Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This review is looooooong overdue! I stayed here in Feb 2012 as part of the last night of a tour with my cousins. In fact, we had upgraded our hotel stay to this hotel without knowing much about it. We did not have high expectations because some of other hotels we stayed at were overrated. After driving miles through the coconut groves, I was in awe standing in front of this hidden gem. We were immediately greeted with drinks by the hotel staff. The manager of the hotel personally greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed. The staff was very hospitable. The chef approached us to help set the menu and made an amazing 4-course dinner and English breakfast (and to this day I still talk about how delicious it tasted)! And I can't forget the great selection of wines and huge wine cellar!
Karen...it was lovely to have met you! You have done a wonderful job with the layout of the rooms, decoration, and amenities. The pool tote bags had everything we needed! The pool has the most beautiful view of the sun setting over the plantation... it could not be any more tranquil that this. I really wish I had a few more days there. I was absolutely mesmerized by the property and hope to stay here again in the future. This truly is a 5 star hotel with 5 star staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Co-Founder/Director of Operations at Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Salu,

How do we respond to such a glowing review, when a humble "thank you" doesn't seem enough. It warmed our hearts when you told us that being at Brook had been the 'high-light' of your trip around the island. On a personal vein, I'm glad you can't see my blushes from your very kind praise!

We hope that one day you will make the long journey back to Brook from California, we'll be waiting for you.

Karen, Pubudu & the Team at Brook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melsiripura
0.0 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Madahapola Road, Alipallama, Melsiripura 60540, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Melsiripura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melsiripura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Luxury Hotel Award winner 2012 for the best Luxury country Hotel,Melsiripura-hub to many Cultural Heritage sites-on 80 acre fruit-growing estate.(Close to Dambulla) 4 Superior rooms,3 Luxury Garden Chalets,2 Bedroom Luxury Villa, Flat screen satellite TV-DVD-Internet. In room T/Coffee- 300 thread-count bed-linen/Pillow Menu, AC/fans, safes, minibar, hairdryer, iron, robes. Designer bathrooms-state of art body-showers. Chalets with secluded gardens-Jacuzzi or plunge pool,Magnificent hilltop swimming pool. Brook running through estate with natural pool, Spa, Ala carte and Fine Dining. Underground Wine-cellar, bar, lounge with variety of board-games. Designer Jewelry shop-Book/DVD Libraries. Child policy 7+ Ideal for bird-watching and relaxing.Day tours recommended from the hotel are: Dambulla, Sigiriya, Kandy,Na Uyana, Arankelle, Rideegama, Matale.Approx 2.5 Hrs Drive from Airport. Closest Luxury Boutique Hotel (Cultural Triangle Hotels) to the Airport/ Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Brook Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Boutique Hotel And Spa
Brook Boutique Hotel Melsiripura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing