We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it.”

Croft Castle and Parkland
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Yarpole
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hereford
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We took a friend (who is a Blue badge holder) out for the day and found the staff at Croft Castle to be extremely helpful and welcoming. They gave us the electric scooter to use, pointed us in the right direction and told us what stairs there were and what seating available inside. The very informative guides ensured that she had somewhere to sit and talked to her when we went upstairs and she decided to remain down below. There were special short talks put on, and a brief history tour before the house opened properly to the public. There was no additional charge for this. The guides were enthusiastic and full, not just of information about the property, but also of anecdotes, so that it was an extremely interesting visit. The walled garden wasn't as interesting as it was in October but we were impressed to learn that much of the produce used in the cafe is grown on site. The cafe was very good - we suggested warming the scones, but throughly enjoyed what we ate. Overall, it's well-worth visiting for a day out. The property itself is interesting and the guides bring it alive in a way that only enthusiasm can do.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    157
    37
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich-Spa
Level Contributor
644 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A very pleasant visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our second visit here -our first one was quite a few years ago .Very friendly and helpful volunteers. A lovely setting with interesting history. Not a lot to see in the Castle, but OK. Good Carpenters tea-room. Enjoyed our breakfast sausage bap & cappuccino

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GPTLebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good trip out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were staying nearby and so pleased we stopped for a visit. We are NT members so it didn't cost us anything to get in. All the staff were very friendly and a fantastic settling and house beautiful inside - well worth a visit!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghost tour and supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a brilliant evening at Croft Castle enjoying tales of sinister goings on and things that go bump in the.night: our tour guide was wonderful, very witty and approachable, at the end of the tour we enjoyed a delicious hot and very tasty supper with wine.

We'll done to all at Croft Castle for a great evening of entertainment and refreshments, my advice to prospective visitors is don't vacillate about visiting this beautiful NT building, and enjoy all it has to offer.

To all staff at the Castle, thank you and keep up the good work.

Lesley danenbergs

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
405 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds and lots of places to get away from the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I visited Croft Castle whilst staying in the Midlands - we hadnt been to this NT property since last year and again we managed to visit with on/off rain. However in between the showers we had a lovely walk around the grounds enjoying the peace and quiet - which is hard to believe as it was half term but weather must have put a lot of visitors off.
Small tea room a few minutes walk from the main entrance with inside and outside seating. Gift shop and secondhand book shop onsite.
We are hoping to come back here during the summer months to enjoy a picnic in the grounds.
We didnt go into the Castle this time as we had previously visited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croft Castle and Parkland also viewed

 

Been to Croft Castle and Parkland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing