We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to see a more authentic chateau”

Park and Chateau de Beauregard
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cellettes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Beauregard : the portrait château and home of Kings’ ministers. The chateau of Beauregard and its park is one of those little treasures that will leave you with an unforgettable memory. It makes a striking link between the past and future. Come and discover 300 years of French and European history told in its famous and unique Portrait Gallery and the Bell study. Its gardens will astonish you with all the surprises they contain for young and small alike.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good to see a more authentic chateau”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Dont go if you expect a luxury and noble chateau. It is more a rich big farmhouse than a refinded building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    94
    42
    31
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place to visit - Nice gardens - interesting House”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice garden walk with points of interest to see.
The house was very interesting with some great art to see

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Beauregard chateau and gardens”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Having read the other English reviews our experience was somewhat different. There is a large park for walking and some formal gardens organised by colours, interpreting key themes in French history. The formal gardens were nice and could have done with a bit more attention but the themes were interesting. Within the woodland on the way up to the house you get the chance to learn about the various characters depicted in the portraits that make up the key point of differentiation for this chateau. The rooms were interesting and the modern portraits of dogs were striking, adding a modern twist to the historical aspects. There are toilets, there is a cafe, the people in the shop do speak french but then this is France. Overall, it was worth visiting, we have seen many chateaus and whilst this is expensive in comparison to some, if the money helps to preserve this bit of French history then we are happy with that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Three rooms”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Only three rooms to enter...a lovely old kitchen and two others but these are full of portraits ( very interesting) and lots of dogs. The gardens extensive but nothing really exciting. It appears that the owners are unsure of the direction this attraction should take.
But the lady in the little shop/cafe was very pleasant and a ray of sunshine to us!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best the region has to offer”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited this chateau one evening when we wanted something quick to see that was close to Blois. This is not the most impressive chateau and whilst some of the rooms have been restored it all feels a little disappointing after the splendor of some of the other sites of the Loire region. The gardens are pretty but nothing special. There are some nice varieties of chickens to see but only very few in a tiny chicken run. The chateau also has some sheep but they had been put indoors for the night by the time we visited.

They offered to allow us to use our tickets the following day as we had arrived late. We felt that we had really seen all that there was on offer and didn't want to spend another day of our short break there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummieSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park and Chateau de Beauregard also viewed

Chaumont-sur-Loire, Loir-et-Cher
 
Bourre, Loir-et-Cher
 

Been to Park and Chateau de Beauregard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing