We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely area and wonderful cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Swarthmoor, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew S
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely area and wonderful cottage”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After driving 400 miles to this cottage myself and my partner were pleased with the location, even with the sheep guarding the road out of the property that liked to play chicken with the car.

The property is well sized to meet a couples needs for a place to stay whilst visiting Cumbria and offered a good location with a 15 to 20 minute drive North to get into the Lake District itself. Our only minor complaints and they are minor are that the stairs to get into the bedroom area are quite narrow and very steep so care is needed when going up and down the stairs.. And when we had some stormy weather the cottage did have some drafts around the main door and bathroom window.

With those minor complaints in mind, and the are only minor! Do not let them put you off ... the cottage was a lovely place to stay. Complimentary eggs, milk and champagne were well received! The owners are very friendly and let you do your own thing with no interruptions and the local cats are also very friendly and don't mind being petted (Careful with the black and white one as she likes to nip/bite)

Would definitely consider revisiting this cottage next year but me and my partner might choose another area of the UK to visit but should we want to revisit Cumbria we will most likely choose this cottage.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location for our visit and the cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: The matress was not very supportive for my generous size, we were told the internet connection was a little sporadic but manageable, however the TV reception was bad but not at the owners fault.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi Y
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning & Gorgeous Cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Most beautiful cottage i have ever stayed in. Very romantic and warmly for a couple. The cottage provides you with everything you need and also attrations around the area. We stayed for a week and did many things i would definatly book back up to stay in this cottage again, very clean.

Date of stay: November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicDR
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, great location for exploring the Lakes”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is lovely. Modern while still having cottage charm. Wood burner and wood an added bonus. Loved the welcome pack of milk and a bottle of wine (nice touch), Well equipped cottage, in a good location for exploring the Lake District.

Added bonus was the farm 'attractions' including three cats - as well as the goats, chickens and ducks that were on the site too.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowyma...
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Modern cottage for two in remote location”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Basically a one room open plan modern cottage, bedroom is accessed via a short but steep staircase, for two. Fairly well equipped, just a few shortcomings i.e. no freezer compartment in fridge which we consider to be an essential appliance for self-catering especially in a remote location where the local village pubs do not serve food until the latter part of the week. Lack of instructions for some appliances could be a handicap for some. The cottage is grouped with another 4 holiday lets so you are not totally isolated. Ideal for walkers as there is a path quite close to the properties. It is possible to walk via the path network into Ulverston from the cottage, but be prepared for some hills though!! Overall we enjoyed our stay at the cottage and the stairs did not cause us two active pensioners any problems. We would certainly consider a future booking.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Poor quality cutlery and some glassware, flaking coating of pots & pans. Caused by lack of wooden spatulas/spoons. Metal on metal not a good combination, note left for owner.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornbury nr bristol.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucestershire
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Date of stay: June 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Date of stay: July 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing