We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Beanie's Bistro

Beanie's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Sherbrooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Open April-December, Monday - Friday 7:00-3:00. Max & Barbara have brought their history & love of food & music to this Bistro on 27 Main St. in Sherbrooke, NS. They offer the very best coffee and espresso drinks on Route 7 , made with a honking Lido Fiorenzato espresso machine, as well as healthy, home made menu items. Barbara has created a menu that ranges from a pulled pork sandwich, Mexican burger & St. Mary's Smoked Salmon sandwich. Everything is fresh & made to order. Gluten free bread available for sandwiches. They also offer a tasty Daily Special & free wi-fi to boot! Beanie's was presented with the 2016 "Flavour Award" at the DEANS Gala Awards on April 20th. This award is presented to a food and beverage establishment which has made an impact on creating an experience for the visitor.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Quaint and clean. Friendly host. All fresh homemade food, and super coffee. Just what we needed after a long drive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxMacDonald, Owner at Beanie's Bistro, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We enjoy what we do here at Beanie's and I'm glad it shows. Thanks for taking the time to write about your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant in the middle of town”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Liked the friendly service, but we didn't like the waitress sitting at the next table browsing the internet on a laptop and listening to everything we said. The restaurant has a good menu although we only called in for the coffee and scones. We thought the slices of pie were a bit expensive at CAN $4.60 but the other prices looked okay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxMacDonald, Owner at Beanie's Bistro, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for visiting with us at Beanie's. We are a 22 seat restaurant with no office so my wife (and chef) uses a bistro table to set up our computer in order to research recipes and answer mail. I also use the area to do ordering and other business.This setup also allows us to be aware when a customer requires attention.

All restaurants in Nova Scotia are required to collect tax on the food sold. This means a $4 piece of our delicious homemade pie comes to $4.60 after tax.

Thanks for taking the time o write about your experience at Beanie's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went for breakfast. Max & Barbra made us feel like family. The meal was above expectations (and those were high). Served us gluten free fair and a nice strong cup of coffee. The place is small, but cozy and the food was delicious. My only regret was that we did not go back for lunch & supper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mum1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxMacDonald, Owner at Beanie's Bistro, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We really enjoy seeing the smile on someone's face who comes into Beanie's with dietary issues and leaves feeling well fed or enjoying a non dairy latte or other drink. Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love, love, love”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the best restaurant on the eastern shore by far. The food is homemade and there are a variety of options for vegetarians, something that is lacking on the Eastern Shore. The lattes with Almond milk is a treat to find in this part of the province.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nsbeachlover2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxMacDonald, Owner at Beanie's Bistro, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It's really nice when someone feels strongly enough about their visit with us to take the time to write about their experience. We do enjoy the smiles on the faces of those folks we can help with tasty solutions to dietary issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome cafe”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I found myself craving a well-crafted coffee while away from larger cities and this cafe definitely hit the mark. It is warm, inviting, and charming with interesting menu and delicious brewed beverages. Definitely a great place to stop for a quick coffee or to linger on a rainy day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogojanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxMacDonald, Owner at Beanie's Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We appreciate your kind words. Our coffee is a quality organic, fair trade beverage that brews up really nicely. Thanks for stopping by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beanie's Bistro also viewed

 
Liscomb Mills, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Beanie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing