We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming place, luxuriously decorated and very quiet”
Review of Arcus Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcus Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Argyroupolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very charming place, luxuriously decorated and very quiet”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in the Tholos Luxury suite, which consisted of a large living room with 50"LCD tv with home entertainment system and DSTV, a large kitchen, a large bathroom with tub and a very large & cosy bedroom with king size bed, a round jacuzzi tub and its own 40" DSTV .

The service was excellent. Daily the appartment was serviced including doing all dishes (we never touched the dishwasher), every 2 days new linnen on the beds, bathrobes, sumptuous breakfast served on the terrace (extra optional) and all we wanted to have or know in between.

The level of service, maintenance and comfort is very far up from your average greek studio appartment on the beach. The buildings are original, nicely restored and not at all similar to the concrete grubbyness found on the tourst resorts.

The location is in a village 8 km from the sea. This is a plus and a down, as a car is essential. There are some local tavernas, for more excuisit dining you have to go to Rethymno. Outside the season, it can be a little quiet.

The pool is not very large and lacks roman stairs. It is 1.60m deep

Room Tip: The Tholos suite is simply the best. The 2 bedroom units offer less privacy as their terraces are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YiannisDeligiannakis, Manager at Arcus Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your review of your stay at Arcus Luxury Suites. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and the services in our Hotel and the surrounding areas.

We have renovated the 14th century complex with respect for the style and the architecture with a touch of fascinating atmosphere originated from the Venetian predecessors. The truth is that we treat our clients us invited guests, offering them the higher level of comfort and service, making them feel charming and luxurious good.

Your point for the size of the LCD TV sets is really flattering but a little bit inaccurate. The size of the LCD TV on the living room is only 42'' and on the bedroom only 32''.

Our hotel is located in a truly quiet area not far from the sandy beach of Episkopi (7km) and close enough to the city of Rethymno (20km) almost in the center of Crete offering the advantage of a choice but making the use of car required.

As for your reference to the pool we haven’t chosen the Romanian stairs instead of the metal ladder because it would sufficient reduce the total size of the pool which is 48sqm (6m x 8m). Unfortunately the size of the pool can’t be larger in our area according to the law.

We want to thank you again for your time to review our hotel and of course for your stay in our hotel. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Arcus Luxury Suites again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Argyroupolis is a lovely village but very quiet out of season and self catering is essential as few eating places are open. The facilities at Arcus could be improved with a microwave and kettle, but the breakfasts (extra charge) were varied and extremely good. Interesting decor in the apartments was appropriate to the style of the old buildings. Parking is limited at the premises, but spaces were available in the nearby village square.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JSL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The place was a lot more than our expectations, very very warm, nice "natural village" designed with very delicate technology supported elegance, the people were very warm kind and supportive in anything we needed, the prices are reasonable.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Stella2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hello to everybody!
It was really amazing!!!! The villa was up-to-date, location was very interesting, the village is very ancient. People around were so nice, friendly!!!!
We`ll be back no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alla63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

A bit difficult to find in the small village of Argyroupolis but what an experience when you do! Beautiful room, beautiful living room area, beautiful bath, beautiful huge jacuzzi bathtub in the bedroom. The room had everything you could possibly ask for and the decoration was just so romantic it was heartbreaking having to leave. The only thing i didn't like was the fact that all customers coming in that small complex could see you through the main door windows that didn't have any curtains, so not much privacy. Also, the pool area was too small and the breakfast needed some improvement. It was nice being served at your porch, under the umbrella and just enjoying your peace and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sevasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

we stayed for 4 days.
the suite was well designed
very clean,
kitchen equipped with all you need. Ther was a minimarket.
wonderful view
Close to almost every interesting place .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank avish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in Arcus Villas in August and were bowled over by the high quality of the accommodation, the peacefulness of the area and the helpfulness of the owners.

Each villa has been converted to a really high standard, with plasma TV screens, laptops, and huge bath tubs. They really are luxury villas. We had a private terrace at our villa with views of the mountains.

The pool is also beautiful - rather than the usual umbrellas providing sun cover, the pool is shaded by wonderful trees.

We made a visit to a so-called '5*' hotel during our stay in Crete, and it did not compare at all to Arcus villas.

The warmth and helpfulness of the owners was fantastic, for whom nothing was too much trouble, from providing additional items for us in the villa, to offering refreshments by the pool. They are also happy to recommend little-known restaurants and beaches if you wish.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Holidays154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argyroupolis
9.7 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
617 reviews
13.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
16.4 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
550 reviews
9.8 mi away
Barbara Studios
Barbara Studios
#1 of 44 in Rethymnon
357 reviews
59.7 mi away
Casa Bianca Boutique Hotel
Casa Bianca Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Koutouloufari
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcus Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcus Suites

Property: Arcus Suites
Address: Argyroupolis | Argyroupolis, Argyroupolis, Crete 740 55, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Argyroupolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Argyroupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arcus Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven kilometers away of the beautiful beach of Episkopi you will found Arcus Luxury Suites, a whole neighbourhood of old Venetian stone mansions of the 14th and 15th century, located in the neighborhood «Kintana» in the heart of Argyroupolis and Lappa in Rethimno. After efforts of owners, the entire complex of buildings was declared in 2005 by the Ministry of Culture as «Preservable archaeological monument». Since then the mansions and the environment space renovated with respect for the style and architecture and created 5 independent luxury suites. All the suites retain their architectural features and fascinating atmosphere of the Venetian people, their predecessors. Ambitious dome, stone arches, burrstones, axes, arches, stone fireplaces, wooden floors and ceilings, interior gardens, cobblestone courtyards emphasize and highlight the charm. The two level and one level (path) suites can accommodate, in comfort, from 2 to 6 persons each, in all seasons. The decoration in each one is unique and offers all modern comforts 5 stars. The interior garden of 400 sq.m. hostes pool, wood oven, BBQ and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Arcus Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcus Suites Crete/Argyroupolis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing