We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own pillow.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morosani Fiftyone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morosani Fiftyone
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Davos Platz
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bring your own pillow.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Start with the good stuff:
1. The hotel design is nice. Open wood, muted greys and clean nice bathroom
2. The concept is nice - the idea of checking in and out automatically is very Tokyo
3. Central to Davos and only 10 mins walk to the sports centre and next to the main shops

Now the bad stuff:
1. Automated check in is great BUT that only works when you book directly with the hotel. Your agoda booking ref number for example is useless when you arrive and as this hotel is staff less and you deal with a machine at checkin, this results in a walk across the road to one of the other Morsani properties. Not a great issue but after a long drive - an annoyance

2. The design - although cool, the room is a tiny box and more stupidly, if you go out and do not fully close the bathroom door inside the room, a breeze (air con or open window) can push the door open such that when you try to open your door to get into the room you cannot because the bathroom door is jamming it shut. Again an annoyance as it happened to us 3 times during a two night stay

3. The sleep quality - quite possibly the worst nights sleep my wife and I have ever had. No air con control in the room so the temperature was tropical inside, alpine outside. Worst the pillows seem to be something derived from paper napkins (the thickness) and straw (the texture). For two nights neither my wife nor I slept more that 1 hour straight.

4. Parking - there is none. You have to park at another Morsani property (if there is a space which in hi season may be a big ask) or at one of the local parking lots which require a small mortgage

5. The price - Davos is expensive granted. A coffee here costs 6 CHF at the local take away (for half a cup). However, when you are paying 200+ EUR a night (out of season) you do not expect sleep quality of the kind we had.

Nice idea. Poorly executed. Poor amenities (don't hide behind the room only excuse). Very poor sleep quality. Could you sleep well here - yes but only if you bring your own pillow, ski 60kms every day and then drink your body weight in toffee vodka.

Room Tip: If you are coming to Davos I am sure there are better places to stay similarly priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morosani, Owner at Morosani Fiftyone, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to express your observations and feelings on TripAdvisor on the occasion of your visit the Morosani Fiftyone. Please allow us to contact you herewith. Your opinion is an important tool to control our quality standards on a daily basis.

Normally the 24/7 terminal works properly with all reservation numbers. For some reason it did not work with the given reference number you plugged into the system. Since we are aware that not all clients know how to check-in at a terminal, we offer a personal check-in at our sister hotel, the Morosani Posthotel, located just across the street (2 minutes walking distance).

As you may see from many other comments who are praising especially the room quality, your experience should be an exception. Please be aware that the fiftyone is a room only hotel and staff is available only during the day. We regret that you were not well informed on your date of arrival of the type of hotel you’ve booked.

We are sorry, as well, that the room we allocated for you this time did not meet your expectations. Moreover, we would like to inform you that we do offer parking spaces, even free of charge. These are located just in front of the hotel main entrance. We regret that our front office staff did not mention these obvious facilities at your arrival.

Dear guest, on behalf of the entire team of the Morosani Hotels Davos, we would like to express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences occurred during your stay with us. It is understood as our most important aim to provide excellent service for our guests. We would be very happy to welcome you again in order to prove that we are a better host as you experienced.

With kind regards, Gianna and Toni Morosani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Campos Do Jordao, SP
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is good in all aspects, really clean rooms, good area and excellent bed, tv and internet connection. Do not expect any service, this is an 100% non pessoal hotel. Nobody is there if yiu need any help and it is like to rent an apartment and be you to yourself. However, is really well localized, have a reasonable are to park the car and the cleanness is excellent, on a very modern environment. If you need a hotel without any service, this is the one, if you need or want glamour, fancy and people serving you, you need another option, and pay more for it

Room Tip: i dont saw pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlodallanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Morosani 51 is a non-lobby style hotel, where you either pick up the key in the sister hotel next door or check-in via a ATM style machine. Both works well and the hotel offers great value for the price offered.
Location: downtown Davos with a 7 minute walk to the Jacobshorn ski-lift and the train station.
Rooms: large, clean, very nicely designed with a modern, mountain feel. Fairly small but nice bathrooms.
Service: no staff on site, but on call.
Ambience: the hotel does not have any public spaces but the rooms and hallways are modern trendy.
Bars/restaurants: none
Other: there are few available parking spaces available free of charge.
All in all a no-frills hotel which works great if you do not mind not having a classic hotel environment. The feel and look of the rooms can match any 4-5 star hotel, and I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked this last minute because it was pretty much the only place available in our price range, and I was pleasantly surprised, actually. I've never stayed in a "rooms only" place before, and it was okay if you don't need any of the usual services. I liked the modern design of the room, the really nice shower, the functional (albeit small) ski room, the free wifi (fast!), the location on the main drag, and the amount of storage in that little room! I wish they had more parking, or at least a voucher for a garage or something. Also, it has stone floors everywhere so the sound just reverberates throughout the whole floor which sucks if you have noisy neighbors. Finally, the bed was too hard for me and it made my wife's back hurt...the pillows also suck.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank emandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

New Modern Hotel, the rooms are good size, and modern. (strange to Davos). Large LCD with all the connections. Comfortable , nicely designed bathroom, love the LCD inside the bathroom mirror, you can watch while showering, shaving washing. Room only, so no Rest, but related to Morosani PostHotel, so breakfast is there (25 meters), but thats 2 star only!, very primitive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davos Platz
0.1 mi away
Morosani Posthotel Davos
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.1 mi away
Morosani Schweizerhof Davos
0.8 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morosani Fiftyone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morosani Fiftyone

Property: Morosani Fiftyone
Address: Promenade 51, Davos Platz, Davos 7270, Switzerland (Formerly Postli Residence)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos > Davos Platz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Davos Platz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Morosani Fiftyone 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Expedia so you can book your Morosani Fiftyone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing