We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Togeather”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbot

The Talbot
Ranked #29 of 36 Restaurants in Keynsham
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Get Togeather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Recently visited The Talbot for Family get togeather & Celebratate Birthday there was Adults & Children, 23 all togeather, once we had ordered meals were brought out very quick, Every one had good time & commented how good the food & service was ,
would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepirate2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    48
    47
    29
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a regular haunt of mine when needing a cheap night out for food. You get good size portions and I can honestly say I've never had a bad meal from here apart from the Sunday dinner which is only because the veg isn't fresh and the meat is not carved from a joint. You do get what you pay for in terms of two meals for a tenner or twelve pounds. Drinks are cheap also so its money saver evening when needed! Staff are friendly but it can get very busy most days in particular, tea time and Sunday dinner time.

Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBBDD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Open the Window" was the response we got when the manager was told there was a fly problem!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well, this is the second time we went to this restaurant and we probably should not have gone back after the first time as it was not great! However we thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt. We booked a table and upon arrival were found to be on table 11 (a booth table) which sounded very nice indeed. However we found it to be infested with flies, small ones and bigger ones. It was also very very hot, the overhead light was so close to the table that you could hit your head on it. The main course was brought out even before the starters were cleared and my son was still eating his starter! The food was what you would expect from a cheap restaurant, it was alright, drinks were quite expensive but we were so busy trying to stop the flies getting on our food that we did not enjoy the meal at all. When asked if all was ok the waitress did not really know what to say "well it's because the windows are not open"? nope its probably because the tables were sticky and there was probably food stuck on the walls, decor was not up to much at all and it very much needs a revamp. When the waitress came back after speaking to the manager about the fly problem we were offered that they open the window or move table but as we had we finished our meal by this time we declined but I really think it's a bigger problem than opening the windows! Will not be returning again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michelleleighjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Level Contributor
202 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Service Raises It Above The Average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This looks in many ways like an average pub which serves above average food (my lunch companion and I both enjoyed generously (but sensibly) sized, highly enjoyable plates of cod, chips and peas which were served quite nicely and, as fish and chips go, were pretty good). We sat outside with Lucy The Labrador (only guide dogs are allowed inside) by the busy road but felt quite comfortable as we supped a good beer and the dog drank from a bowl of water supplied for her benefit. What I really liked about the place was the top notch, helpful, pleasant, interested, nothing-is-too-much-trouble, cheerful and charming service we received from the several members of staff who dealt with us in the ordering and serving of the meal. The meal was served quickly and was beautifully hot. It was just a simple pub meal as you can have in a thousand similar places across England but it was well above average. Well done, especially the serving staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank white_knight_and_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very busy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited the Talbot inn yesterday evening (Wednesday) it was packed, not much seating space, no space in the car park, the 2 disabled parking spaces were occupied by cars not displaying any disabled badge (as requested by notice by the bays) when a member of staff was informed nothing was done about it. We parked out on the road and made our way in. found a table eventually, the table and area around it was not very clean, looked at the menu that also was not clean!!! and decided to leave without ordering.....What I did see of the menu looked good value, and there were plenty of people enjoying their meal. I didn't find the experience rewarding or enjoyable, so won't be going there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

 
Yate, Gloucestershire
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing