We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Leknes Lofoten Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hurtigrutens Hus(Stokmarknes)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
18
56
61
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
56
61
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are cleanfirst floorlofoten islandstwo nightsbreakfast buffetfree parkingnice hotelnorthern lightsgreat breakfastwi fian overnight staybreadsausagesmall townarctic circlelaundry doneno elevator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 144 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Everybody should go to Lofoten. Even if you live in Big Sur, Califorina! It is the most amazing place on the planet! And if there, you´ll come by Leknes. The Leknes Hotel is one of the hotels from the Winter Olympics in Lillehammer 1994 that were built in sections, dismantled afterwards and sold. So, it´s a wooden building, assembled section style and not of the standard of a new Hotel built in concrete. It was due for some refurbishing. However, breakfast was great. The staff was friendly and good, with one single exception. A mature lady in her 40´s with long, half-curly dark hair. I have never felt so unwelcome in a hotel as when she took over the recepton at night. Actually, I have never ever felt that I was trespassing into someones living room with muddy boots on a clean carpet before, while sitting in a hotel lobby watching sports and having a beer. I talked to some truckers who were in town doing some construction work. They were living there for some period and were actually scared of her. It´s hard to fire people in Norway, but I hope she´s gone. If not - go to bed early before the night shift comes on. I think it´s around 10 o´clock.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The main advantage of this hotel is its location in town, close to eateries, shopping mall, gas stations for refill of rental cars, and proximity to the Leknes airport. Scenery-wise there is nothing exciting but serves its functional purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Leknes may not be the most charming town in the Lofoten Islands. Absent is the fishing harbor theme. Nevertheless, Leknes is an ideal place to overnight. And in Leknes, the Best Western is THE place to stay. Actually, it may be the only true hotel in town. Best of all the prices were the lowest we paid in the Lofoten Islands and we smiled the whole time at having found value. Sure, the harbor ambience is nice; one can visit it for nothing or pay handsomely to be there while sleeping.

I have to admit that the ‘Best Western’ brand name set my expectations towards the low end. Despite their website photo I envisioned something old and tired but of good cleanliness and quality. My expectations were far exceeded. This Best Western is new and perky as well as clean and offered both good quality and value. The hotel’s history is equally as impressive. Each of the rooms was part of a modular housing complex for the Lillehammer 1994 Olympics. While there is some odd feeling about being in a ‘mod’, that feeling is offset with the thinking that we may have slept in the same room as a gold medal winner.

The rooms were nicely re-done with excellent beds and bedding, flat screen TV’s, and nice pictures on the walls. Our room had a small desk. We had a splendid mountain view out the window. We also got to see the midnight sun. The property had great internet that was fast and easy to use. The small bathroom was very clean.

Best Western had a dinner buffet for 195NOK [about $33 USD] with no additional tax and tip. Considering high food prices on the Lofoten Islands, this was a good price for fine food. Best Western also had a breakfast buffet with nice arrangement of breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fruit, juice and coffee – but no eggs.

There was no problem conversing in English. All staff spoke and understood with fluency.

Upon checkout we discovered they had charged us twice for evening meals. The bill was adjusted with no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed there in Summer for a couple of Nights and our impression is that the Rooms are down used the Funiture looks old and well used, It was clean and the Staff was very nice, even a German speaking Woman which was of Great Help for us. This place have seen better times but if you dont expect too much , it is okay. Greetings From Germany

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamScheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The hotel is located near the main E10 road through Leknes. The location of the hotel is a bit strange, in the middle of a residential area. Looking out the windows, you look into people's homes...

According to the information binder in the rooms, the hotel was originally build for the 1994 Olympic Winter Games in Lillehammer. After the games, they cut the structure apart and shipped it to Leknes. This is not evident, but the exterior does not have much charm to it.

On arrival at about 2300, the reception clerk had deleted our bookings as no-shows, even if we had called the hotel a few days before notifying them of our late arrival (the reservations were guaranteed by credit card as well). This was straightened out quickly, though, but could have been a problem if the place had been fully booked.

Rooms did not seem to have been upgraded since 1994 - apart from a new TV. All OK, but quite worn. Not much space, the desk was tiny. The bathroom showed clear signs of age - cracks and small pieces falling of the wall along the floor.

Breakfast was OK. Staff were friendly, but some of them seemed to lack training (unable to combine two bills into one).

If returning, I would rather find a more interesting place to stay. Both Leknes and the hotel are among the least interesting bits of Lofoten.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews