We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Alpine Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseneath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Resort
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed at Alpine Resort twice. It was a very relaxing and quiet vacation, the cottages were fine and had everything we needed for our stay. The beds however were not comfortable. We will definitely go again, just didn't want to deal with the traffic on the 401 this summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. Bed comfort is an individual thing and ours are fairly firm. We try to keep our mattresses updated. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Alpine is family. For years my friends and family have been going to Alpine Resort. The amazing hospitality, generosity, and great cabins make Alpine the best resort on Rice Lake, if not all of the province of Quebec. Rice Lake offers the best fishing in North America for bluegill, crappie, walleye, perch, and bass. You can't beat it. I'm 31 years old and have been going for over 15 years and have a little one on the way. My kids and grandkids will all go to Alpine Resort in the future. Alpine Resort is the best with the pool, general store, great ice cream, and clean & comfortable facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stowcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thanks for your great review of Alpine Resort! We're glad you enjoy it and look forward to your return with your grand kids. Note: We're in Ontario, not Quebec ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went visit Alpine Resort for the first time in 2010, my wife heard from a friend that it was something we might like. We rented the Juniper, right on the water. I like fishing, my wife likes the pool, it was near perfect. The cottage is okay, it has everything a cottage should have and then some. I just think that the upkeep could be a little better. The beds are very hard but we seem to sleep okay, the kitchen is very spacious and it even has a tub with shower! With upkeep I mean inside I see loads of dust on a ceiling fan, when turning it on a large amount of dust flew around. Lots of cobwebs and bugs but that is cottage life and yes I am a city slicker. If I see past that I think it is clean enough to enjoy. This year we spend time with the friend that told us about it and we had a super week. I caught some fish but most important was that we had time to relax; we simply don't do that enough in our busy lives. There always seem to be some younger people that think they can trash the place but Fred takes care of it in a proper way. We are planning to come back for many more years, it is recommended to bring a large amount of OFF repellant as the musquitos are using any non treated skin as their own buffet.

Room Tip: Three cottages direct on the like - Juniper and Cove are quiet (little or no traffic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aelaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness so are very sorry your ceiling fan was dirty. Unfortunately that's something easily missed. We'll be sure to check it next time.
Mosquitos come and go. Some times they're bad around dusk and some times we have none. They're a fact of life on any body of water in North America.
Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have been going to Alpine Resort since 1988. Mike, Fred, Jodi, Anita are always wonderful hosts. The cabins are exceptionally clean. The fishing is good but connecting with family and friends is the best part of these trips. If you want to feel like you are part of an extended family and experience outstanding personal attention give Alpine Resort a try.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a very nice, very family friendly place at Rice Lake. There are about 20 cottages, some right on the water, most not. The water is weedy, (hence the name Rice Lake) but they have a very nice pool. They have volleyball, a basketball hoop, and horseshoe pits, and a kids area with sandbox and climber. They do family friendly games each day: a turtle race, a balloon toss, tube rides, etc. The cottages are humble, but very clean, and are kept up in very good condition. The owners are wonderful, helpful and kind. There is a nice island about 1/4 mile out, where there is a really nice, but small, sandy beach with shallow entry. They rent boats: fishing boats, or larger motorboats, or pontoon boats. You can boat for miles: to Peterborough, or to Hastings and beyond through the lock. You can dock your own boat for a fee. The cottages are 1-pet friendly. There are campsites if someone wants to do that. Every cottage has a fire pit and picnic table. Prices are reasonable, but not inexpensive. Free wifi is available at the camp store.

The only drawbacks are: 1) Not really "cottagey" i.e. pine trees and rock. 2) The lake is warm at all times, but can be VERY weedy. Great for fishing, (muskie, bass, pike, pickeral) not so good for swimming. So....swim in the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We appreciate your accurate description and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Couldn't say enough about Alpine. I'm 32 and have been going since I was 2. Every year about 25 of us, ( family ) stay the week. Some of the best times of my life are here. Definitely recommend this place for fishing or just a chance to get away and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review Alpine Resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been coming to Alpine Resort for about 20 years. We had sometimes thought of trying some place new, but always thought "Why fix it if it ain't broke". Its a great place to vacation if you want to be up north and do the "cottage thing". Cottages are clean, grounds are clean, lots of stuff to do, fishing is good. Our kids (and us) look forward to this vacation every year. Its a very relaxing vacation and I hope to be going for another 20 years or more!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockeyfamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortRiceLake, Owner at Alpine Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Resort

Address: 435 Islandview Dr | Rice Lake, Roseneath, Ontario K0K 2X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Roseneath
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Roseneath
Price Range: $80 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the south shore of Rice Lake, near Cobourg and Peterborough Ontario, Alpine Resort offers 2, 3 and 4 bedroom housekeeping cottages on 1200' of shoreline. Cottages are well spaced, clean and family friendly. The resort has many amenities including a large playground, inground pool, docking, coin laundry, basketball, volleyball, horse shoes, etc. Rice Lake boasts the most fish per acre than any lake in Ontario. Alpine offers boat rentals, docking for your own boat and lots of room to fish off the dock. Canoes, kayaks and paddle boats are free for guests to use. There are fish cleaning huts and fish freezers for those who like to keep lots of bluegill, crappie or perch. Walleye (pickerel), bass and even the odd muskie are there for you to catch as well. During high season we offer a children's program including a fishing derby, waterskiing and tube rides, family bingo, turtle races and water balloon toss. Alpine Resort is perfect for a relaxing family vacation, a group of fishermen or a couple who needs to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Roseneath, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing