We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay in the Loire Valley!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Clos de la Garde
Ranked #1 of 1 Anche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed in Le Clos de la Garde for 3 nights in January this year and had an excellent stay. The suite was spacious, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. It was also lovely to come home to our own wood fire after a long day (as we stayed in winter). The property also looks beautiful from the exterior. We recommend travellers to have dinner with Manfred, the host, at least one night of your stay, beginning with being served one of Manfred's homemade aperitifs! Breakfast was ample and accompanied by Manfred's homemade jams, which were delicious. As well as being a great cook, Manfred is friendly and helpful and gave us tips (& brochures) on restaurants and chateaus to visit. We would recommend Le Clos de la Garde to all, and hope to visit again one day ourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Le Clos de la Garde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 226 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

As so many others have found, Clos de la Garde was one of the highlights of our trip. Since my husband had to work early in the mornings, the separate bedroom and living room made our stay even more comfortable. The units would be ideal for longer stays and families. The wine cave and dinner (with herbs and vegetables from Manfred's garden) and the enjoyable conversation with the others at the B&B will be memories we'll treasure. Note that Anche has no restaurants, so plan your day accordingly--Chinon is only about 10 minutes away. We can't recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: The upstairs apartment is sunnier, the downstairs one has a fireplace.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCJ-DLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Such a wonderful experience, from the accommodations, to the delicious breakfasts and dinners prepared by Manfred, to the cave tour! We could not have chosen a more comfortable place to spend the weekend in the Loire Valley. Thank you, Manfred!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently had the good fortune to visit Le Close de la Garde, Manfred Fritsch's delightful
B&B in Anch‚, near Chinon in the Loire Valley.

Manfred's extensive experience in the hospitality industry in Germany shows through in
everything he does in what he accurately calls "his house." He greeted us as though we were
family. After getting us settled in to our studio apartment, he invited us to join him in a tasting in
the wine cellar that he carved out of a hillside on his property. We then joined him and his other
guests for a marvelous gourmet dinner that he had prepared for us.

As caffeine addicts, we truly appreciated his eager willingness to accommodate our need for
wake-up coffee by bringing freshly-brewed "medicine" to our rooms first thing in the morning.
Then, after our wake-up coffee the best in the world in our experience we returned to his
dining room for a delicious breakfast each morning.

In addition to the delightful accommodations, Manfred also showed his abundant knowledge of
the area by suggesting local activities beyond the usual tour of the chateaux for which the Loire is
most famous.

Finally, although it didn't concern us, Manfred is one of a very few hoteliers who allows guests
to bring their pets along for the stay. When we were there, a German couple introduced us to
their dogs something that added an unusual and fun element to our most enjoyable visit.

We highly recommend Manfred's B&B and look forward to returning at the earliest possible
opportunity.

Ed and Lilli Kemp
Springfield, Oregon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilli k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Extremely comfortable and clean B and B, lots of space, wonderful bed and superb bathroom, large and enclosed garden ( my dog was so pleased to run around after his day trip!), private car park, delicious breakfast, really ideal! Don't hesitate!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie91410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found this wonderful bed and breakfast at short notice, and wish now we had found it sooner to stay longer than the one night. Manfred has a very good understanding of a travellers needs and his attention to detail in this rustic accommodation is to a weary travellers benefit. You not only get a spacious French farmhouse style bedroom and very modern bathroom complete with hair dryer and magnifying mirror, but a sitting room with fireplace, small dining table. A comfortable sofa and one English Channel on TV. Many B&BS throughout our 4 weeks of travel so far do not offer tea and coffee facilities in your room, but Manfred has this all included. He has a passion for local produce and will surprise you with his gourmet skills from the kitchen to the cellar. Only 10 minutes from Chinon, in a peaceful village without parking hassles! We would love to come back!

Room Tip: Both rooms have a sitting room. Both very comfortable. One is upstairs via a small flight of steps...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeavemeinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one evening on the 20 September. We arrived very late and Manfred had left an evening meal in our room with a bottle of local Chinon red wine. The next day we had breakfast and Manfred gave us a tour of the caves which were impressive. The accommodation was outstanding and Manfred made every effort to make our stay as memorable as possible. We have stayed in several hotels/B&Bs in Europe and we rate this as one of the best boutique style accommodations we have stayed in to date. We intend to stay here again when we next visit and recommend it as an enjoyable and pleasant venue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anche
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
505 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
916 reviews
17.2 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
12.1 mi away
Troglododo
Troglododo
#2 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
243 reviews
10.8 mi away
La Dixmeresse
La Dixmeresse
#1 of 4 in Restigne
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de la Garde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Garde

Address: 4 rue de la Basse Garde, 37500 Anche, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Anche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Anche
Price Range: $123 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with 2 spacious suites and 1 double room deluxe near Chinon in the heart of the Loire valley. Feel the breath of history and enjoy nature and tranquility in a 3000 sqm garden. All rooms are situated in a typically tuff stone house of the 18th century, each with a maximum of 4 persons (convertible sofa), large sized beds, modern bathrooms, heating, TV, free W-LAN and parking. Table d'hôtes (dinner) served upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos de la Garde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing