We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great welcome from a hard working team”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorset Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorset Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wallsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a great welcome from a hard working team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

spent 3 nights at the dorset arms hotel . nothing was too much trouble for stan and his staff . rooms were modern and clean, breakfast was lovely. stan even saved both myself and my girlfriend our sunday lunch having been out all day doing great north run . we have already booked again for next year . i doubt you will find accomadation this good for that sort of price .
what else can i say it does exactly what it says on the tin
keep up the good work and thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We thank you for a positive reveiw and lookforward to greeting you in the near future,

Kind regards,
All the staff at the Dorset Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    36
    10
    7
    24
See reviews for
35
50
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Lovely new rooms, a little small but fine. It's obviously a local pub with locals playing dominoes all very friendly. Dog friendly so our dog liked tormenting the
Parrot in the corner!! The bar was a little tired but the beer was lovely and the bar snacks were fine. Massive portion of sausage and hand cut chips and scampi and chips. The girl behind the bar was friendly and helpful. Breakfast lovely, landlord friendly. Good location for start of the walk, nothing really special but very adequate for hikers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozzie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We thank you for your positive review and lookforward to greeting you in the near future,

kind regards,
All the staff at the Dorset Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stan the landlord was very friendly and a great source of interesting information about Wallsend in the days of the shipyard. The room was very clean and comfortable and surprisingly modern. Yes there was a band downstairs but they finished at 11. Breakfast was rather basic, a few more additions to the range of cereals would be welcome but the staff were keen to please.Would recommend as a good starting point for the Hadrian's Wall walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We thank you for your positive review and lookforward to greeting you in the near future,

Kind regards,
All the staff at the Dorset Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Dear Dorset Arms Hotel,
On the 28th July 2012 my wife and I had a totally unique experience at your establishment and we feel your internet particulars should be amended to reflect the same. May I suggest the following –?

Upon your arrival you will collect your key from the bar, where, to provide interest, you can cleverly avoid the discarded clothing left on the floor. When in your pre-booked ‘double en suite room’ we helpfully supply an additional single bed and site the double one against the wall to make room for the former. This has the advantages for one of your party to either climb over the other to get into bed or experience the delights of climbing in from the base.
This arrangement also has the surprise opportunity for guests to pull the bed into the middle of the room to tuck in the sheet that we have left loose to give that ‘previously slept in look’.
We will then impart our greatest surprise news - that, on this night, we have booked a band to play in the bar that is thoughtfully positioned right underneath your room. Therefore you do not have to go down stairs to hear them, in fact, for your delectation, they are so loud that you will be saved the distraction of the TV in your room (as you will not be able to hear it) and, probably for the only time in your life, you will enjoy the sensation of the walls and floor actually deflecting with the vibration of the group's PA.. To paraphrase a song – you will really ‘feel the noise’!
Just to add a little more spice the band will liberally alter the lyrics of well known classic rock songs to include use the usual expletive thus providing the artistic innovation of rendering the lyrics meaningless.
Unfortunately the band will have to finish their cacophonous endeavours around 11 pm but to save you the inconvenience of falling asleep before midnight we ensure that the piped music/raucous drunken conversation continues until this time. Again our intentional non provision of any soundproofing will mean you will feel you are in the bar and could actually join in with this convivial banter. Thereafter the traffic noise from the nearby A1058 will fill the void for those who hate peace and quiet.
For our more hirsute guests we provide 6 sachets of shampoo for the shower but no shower gel/soap as these items would be extraneous to your needs.
To avoid the inconvenience of making cups of tea/coffee for both of you more than once we helpfully only supply 3 milk portions.
We also provide a novel breakfast experience. Upon entering the dining room we will show you to a table set for just one of your party and, at a leisurely pace, provide the other setting whilst you eat your meal – or afterwards! Just to test your powers of observation we will provide a loaf of brown bread that has gone mouldy and our special toaster ensures that you really work up an appetite waiting for its product. Finally to complete your dining experience we will ensure that the scrambled eggs are micro-waved just long enough to remove any vestige of flavour.
To sum up we are proud not to offer the normal ‘hotel’ experience but that of an adventure in an estate pub with rooms.

I trust you will agree these amendments as I am sure your bookings will change dramatically. Thank you once again for a unique stay I have not had before in my previous 30 years of travelling.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms not sited above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Owner at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The Dorset Arms Hotel is running under new managment from August 2013 and all issues have been noted,

Kind regards,
Stan Madgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Booked it as a result of proximity to our needs. there was always a car park or two left when we returned each evening. The bed was comfortable and the room adequate for our needs. A nice new bathroom and blinds that shut out most of the light. Was exceptionally clean. The staff were always friendly and eager to please. The parrot didn't bite and provides quite the conversation as your having your full English breakfast. His little dog wanders around but is never a nuisance. The locals seem all descent folk and typical of the clientele at a few of the locals near my own work so I felt right at home. He even bought some soy milk for me as I told him of my milk allergy. His staff sorted a loose panel in the bedroom as soon as it was reported

It was a warm night so I had to leave the windows open as there is no other ventilation and the boiler lives right behind the reading desk. As a result I had to put in my ear plugs as the pub refrigeration equipment makes quite the racket. The owners car alarm went off just as I was waking up (twice) but his profuse apologies and pleasant nature means you can forgive this fellow for anything!

I will come here again whenever my business brings me back
The Guinness is just right and they have a real kitchen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wearytraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive review and lookforward to greeting you in the near future

Kind regards,
All the staff at the Dorest Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a fantastic night out at the Dorset Arms, The staff could not have been nicer.
Top quality

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbothemainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive review and lookforward to greeting you in the near future,

Kind regards,
Stan Madgin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

…You Can If You Know Where to Eat
After losing 17 pounds on the agel fit challenge I was in need of some good English Grub as a birthday treat. I booked a table for 6pm at the Dorset Arms Hotel in Wallsend 28 th April 2012… and was not disappointed.

With all desserts and starters for only £2.50,one main meal only £5.95 we selected
2 main meals for only £10. I chose to have the lot. The broth was delicious, not salty and piping hot.Both myself and my partner opted for the Butterfly chicken breast on a bed of peppered leak ands tarragon wine cream sauce. It was one of those unique meals which make you reluctant to take the last mouthful. It was served with seasonal veg and an extra portion of chips…which I had not eaten for 12 weeks. I finished off with apple crumble and ice cream… my partner was full up and could not manage a dessert.

The food was very tasty and the staff very friendly. If you are looking to celebrate a special occasion , without maxing out the credit, I highly recommend the Dorset Arms Hotel.From Monday to Saturday 12pm-9pm providing every day value,great quality and affordable prices. All functions are catered for from the cradle to the crypt.

Best Regards,

Brian Louden
http://noneed2work.com/

Ps A carvery Sunday Lunch Menu is available but it is recommended to book early

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive review and lookforward to greeting you in the near future,

Kind regards,
All the staff at the Dorset Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
#19 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#31 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Arms Hotel

Property: Dorset Arms Hotel
Address: Dorset Avenue, Wallsend NE28 8DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Dorset Arms Hotel, Bar and Restaurant; a small, friendly establishment located just a ten minute drive from the city centre. Whether visiting for business or pleasure we provide a welcoming and friendly atmosphere that will make you feel right at home. At the Dorset we pride ourselves on delivering individual attention to each of our guests to guarantee an outstanding level of service to ensure you have the best experience that Newcastle has to offer. The Dorset Arms is a small privately owned hotel with seven rooms, relaxed bar and lounge area and finally our newly opened restaurant Cinatra’s which offers a range of exquisite Italian dishes to satisfy any pallet. The hotel is situated in Wallsend with excellent transport links to the city center. Our restaurant is open till 10:00 and our bar is open till 11:30 every evening if guest require a relaxing drink after exploring the sights of Newcastle. We offer free parking on a first come first serve basis and there is access to free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Dorset Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing