We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”
Review of Dorset Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorset Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wallsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for a last minute lads trip to Newcastle and were very Impressed with the rooms. Couldn't believe what we got for our money we will be definitely be staying here again. We also missed breakfast and staff bent over backwards to accomodate us. They made us a cuppa and a Bacon sandwhich before we left we are thinking already about a trip back to this hotel next month. Thanks again from sunny Scotland

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson126209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMaster6564, Manager at Dorset Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thanks for your positive review we lookforward to greeting you in the future ,

Thanks and kind regards,
Stan Madgin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Dorset Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

I found the hotel through a random online search and had no idea what to expect. But I loved it. I have never experienced a friendlier hotel staff and I received service above and beyond what I would expect.

The room was nice, although a bit noisy before 11.30pm (when the bar downstairs quiets down) with clean beds and a spacious bathroom.

The only thing that was negative was the downstairs toilets which are old and in need of immediate attention. But that didn't detract from an overall great experience.

If I come back to Newcastle, I won't hesitate to check in at the Dorset Arms again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EivindFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 20, 2011

Thanks a lot fot taking the time to write this detailed piece of information which gives an overview to our future guests and conseguently help them choose our property, it was a pleasure having you with us and very honoured to know that you are planning to give us the pleasure to welcome you back it is the commitment from all the team to exert our utmost efforts to make your stay with us memorable as you would wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Whilst the staff try to be helpful to the best of their abilities, it does not distract from the key underlying issues.

What I liked:
- the taste in decor is clean and modern and there is enough space for clothes if you're inclined to unpack
- housekeeping is good; room and bathroom was clean and broken things were fixed when asked

What I disliked:
- too much furniture in the bedroom; hardly any space to move around
- the mattress on the bed is cheap and too soft: no support for my back or limbs
- the shoddyness of the lock on my room door; whilst fixed, you can tell it will break after another few days, it needs replacing!
- the breakfast room is ugly and cheap with uncomfortable chairs
- the breakfast was an absolute disaster: basic cheap white bread, out-of-date yoghurts, cheap brand butter and jam (which tasted terrible), and no cooked breakfast offered
- absolutely overpriced for the overall experience offered, sorry!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalamuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2011

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your disatisfaction, please except my apologies for any inconveince that might have happened and would like to assure you that your comments have been taken constructively for direct corrective action, we will be honored to get another chance of welcoming you back and that your previouse experience will not hinder you from visiting us again.

Yours Sincerely,
Burt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed with friends for 1 night which was far too long. Shown to 2 rooms only 1 ensuite but 2 booked. Lights not working in 1 room. Bathroom for 2nd room down corridor which anybody could access and it was filthy. Fobbed off, it would seem manager couldn't be contacted all day. He appeared next morning at breakfast said there had been a mix up obviously a ploy he has used many times. Offered £10 reduction for room without en suite and gave us a complimentary cooked breakfast, everything just thrown in a deep fat fryer including the bacon. Overall a bad experience - beware. Also looking on website you would not be aware that this is on a housing estate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthWestTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2011

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your disatisfaction, please except my sincerest opologies for any inconveince that might have happened and would like to assure you that your comments have been taken constructively for direct corrective action, we will be honored to get another chance of welcoming you back and that your previouse experience will not hinder you from visting us again,

Yours Sincerely,
Burt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We were back here again 4th time and it is still has good as ever the Staff and Customers very friendly and Stan very helpful ,I had a little accident friday night so was unable to go for breakfast sat morn i rang down stairs and asked for toast Stan wanted to do us a full english but we said no the staff went out of their way to help us we will be back again when accomadation required

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank she61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2011

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this detailed piece of information which gives an overview to our future guests and conseguently help them choose our property it was a pleasure having you with us again and very honored to know that you are planning to give us the pleasure to welcome you back it is the commitment from all the team to exert our utmost efforts to make your stays with us memorable as you would wish,

Yours Sincerely
Burt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I found the room to be tidy and the bed was comfortable giving a good nights sleep. The cooked breakfast was very nice and you were made to feel welcome by the manager and staff. I would stay again and the room prices were very resonable.

Craig
Scunthorpe

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2011

Managment and staff of the Dorset Arms Hotel would like to thank you for your very positive review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay

thanks Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

you will have to travle a long way to find a better pub/hotel. the staff are exceptional. the sunday lunch is to die for. a very friendly establishment where you are made to feel welcome from the very start.

this is a great base to explore the many activities that the north east has to offer with the exceptional coast only minutes away.

all rooms are newly decorated to a very high standard and its not every pub that has a parrott in the bar, worth the trip alone. fabulous looking garden in summer with an aviary for the kids also.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobthecabbie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 8, 2011

The management and staff of The Dorset Arms Hotel would like to thank you for your very positive review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The Dorset Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
827 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
527 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Arms Hotel

Address: Dorset Avenue, Wallsend NE28 8DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallsend
Price Range: $65 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Dorset Arms Hotel, Bar and Restaurant; a small, friendly establishment located just a ten minute drive from the city centre. Whether visiting for business or pleasure we provide a welcoming and friendly atmosphere that will make you feel right at home. At the Dorset we pride ourselves on delivering individual attention to each of our guests to guarantee an outstanding level of service to ensure you have the best experience that Newcastle has to offer. The Dorset Arms is a small privately owned hotel with seven rooms, relaxed bar and lounge area and finally our newly opened restaurant Cinatra’s which offers a range of exquisite Italian dishes to satisfy any pallet. The hotel is situated in Wallsend with excellent transport links to the city center. Our restaurant is open till 10:00 and our bar is open till 11:30 every evening if guest require a relaxing drink after exploring the sights of Newcastle. We offer free parking on a first come first serve basis and there is access to free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Dorset Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing