We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mint spot”
Review of Manhattans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manhattans
Ranked #2 of 2 Wallsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just back from a septic weekend in newcastle. Three of us booked into one room in manhattans. We really enjoyed our stay. Only £7 for a taxi from manhattans to the city centre. Very friendly staff. Matthew the owner is a top man, very friendly and helpful with regards to where the best places to eat and drink in the city centre. Will definitely return here wen we come back to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoMc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

There was a large group of us staying here, we all found the place very clean and tidy we were a little concerned about the shared bath room facilities but once we arrived and saw them we were all rather pleased. The rooms were all large and very spacious. It is ideally situated above a Pub which was great for us as it meant we didn't have to travel far before our night, all the staff were very friendly and helpful Ros the manager was great to us all, we'd defiantly recommend Manhattans to our friends, were due to come to Newcastle again and we'll be certainly staying here thanks to everyone for a great weekend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were staying over for a stag weekend, rooms where perfect for a group of people staying over. Bathroom and toilet were clean as well as the rooms. The staff were very helpful and nice. The bar/club downstairs was a bonus, we all spent plenty time in it. Would definitely recommend Manhattans as a place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good value for money. Good location to start the Hadrian's Wall walk. The staff were friendly. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed. The noise from outside was continuos all night and early morning. Funny damp smell in the corridors. Mixed views about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie_D1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are sorry you were not entirely happy with your stay with us. The carpets are vacuumed on a daily basis please keep in mind we are a hotel and have a lot of human traffic through the corridors and naturally we cannot have someone vacuuming carpets 24/7, a bit of dirt from the day is likely to occur.
As for the smell of damp, the building is over 100 years old and is therefore prone to a bit of damp, it is expected in all buildings of this age. The smell of damp however is very minimal and is combated by windows being opened and air circulation, other than rebuilding the building there is nothing more we can do.
Regarding the noise, you were advised at the time of booking that this venue is a pub and is situated on a high street so there will be noise, but you were aware of this as it is stated in the important information of which it is your responsibility to read at time of booking.
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place is perfectly fine, ignore and reviews. Me and 3 mates just checked in 2 hours ago and well impressed. Great value, great room , friendly, close to town. A++++really pleased! Book here if you want a fun nigt in newcastle. X

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a second time this week and wow never recognised the place. The bar has been refurbished and it looked amazing. The people who run this place were very welcoming and friendly and the rooms are basic but still very clean even the shared bathroom was spotless. It is always nice to return somewhere and see big improvements especially in the bar area. We only paid £7 for a taxi into the city centre. Keep up the good work we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoothboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went there as a contractor came away with lots of friends, stayed there for 6 weeks on and off and enjoyed every minute, the staff and management are working so hard to achieve a dream and hopefully they will get there, cheap beer good food clean rooms and friendly welcoming people, what more could you ask for working away from home!! Thanks Matthew , Kev,Ros, Gail , Gemma, mark, Donna, and Kel for making my stay an enjoyable one

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manhattans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallsend
Price Range: $31 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manhattans 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattans is a small hotel that endeavours to provide comfort and great service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing