We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Manhattans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manhattans
Ranked #2 of 2 Wallsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There was a group (10) of us staying in the bigger rooms, and after reading the reviews we were a bit worried - however the rooms were tidy and clean. The rooms were a big size and enough room for everyone to get ready! Would recommend it for a weekend if your looking for cheap accommodation for the amount of time you spend in the room it was fine. Think some of the reviews are over exaggertated! If you want cheap accommodation and a room were you can all share its great! The rooms were alot cleaner than some of the Travelodges and Premier Inns we have been in! We never had to pay £50 deposit per room either which was a bonus, and the staff were really friendly!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Large En-Suite room as this also has its own dressing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiera1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your review and were are glad you enjoyed your stay we look forwrd to welcoming you back regards Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 59 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Its an alright price considering it is close to the centre of Newcastle. But shared bathrooms? Dirty tea cups? Broken television? I suppose the breakfast was okay but would hand out for a more expensive hotel next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Now under new management since November 2012 please disregard this review thanks Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The room was not clean.pubic hair was found on the sofa and on the bed.tv didn't work.there was a shared toilet which had no toilet roll.the tiles in the bathroom were very mouldy.we had a good night out in the city centre and when we came it was a sausage fest.we were suppose to stay 2 nights but ended up booking out early next morning. I would not recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin19872511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Now under new management since November 2012 please disregard this review thanks Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked - Breakfast in price , one night £125 at the steam elephant... Well we never got it , no longer serving food, promised it , as I was doing running great north run next day , which I passed out due to not eating , no breakfast and no time to get any . Awful hotel blame them x ,smelly carpets,above a bar with function room under neath , loud music, horrible area,did not feel safe. Please don't go there awful awful place x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomashannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Now under new management since November 2012 please disregard this review thanks Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived here after a 5 hour car journey for my mums funeral... The corridor carpets were filthy, the air was smelly & damp... The room had not been cleaned from the previous people the night before, beds were unmade, rubbish on floor, pizza boxes & half full cups in room... There were several flies circling round the ceiling... There was evidence of drug smoking & was just generally disgusting!!... We were told the room would be done by the time we had come back from the funeral.... It was 5.30 pm & the room hadn't been touched, the manager had gone home & the bar staff hadn't really got a clue but told us there was no employed cleaners... We left & drove 5 hours home after a long emotional day..... I do not advise you stay here ...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blaggers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Now under new management since November 2012 please disregard this review thanks Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with three friends for only £60 which was perfectly reasonable, I knew already that the bathroom facilities were shared which wasn't a problem and the hotel had parking facilities which was a definite positive note.
The woman who checked us in was lovely and also the man who made us breakfast in the morning, - which when it was included in the price I would be happy with anything - it was a full breakfast and was really tasty!
But when it comes to the rooms themselves, it was just so dirty! Our mugs for tea were dirty, we had to clean them in the bathroom sink, the floor was dirty and there was fake eyelashes sitting on the dresser!! Hm not so pleasant! The TV had about 3 channels that worked with a remote controller broken in half! No bin in the room, I would think that's a simple thing to add??
As it was only one night we were there we didn't moan, but I would definitely advise against staying here unless they hire a new cleaner!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzhands21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Now under new management since November 2012 please disregard this review thanks Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had booked this hotel because it was one of the few that still had rooms available at short notice and I wanted to be as close to the beginning of the Hadrian's Wall Path as possible. What I hadn't realised is that it is a bar/pub/club that keeps going until all hours. The people were very friendly and helpful, but that didn't make up for what the place otherwise lacked. I was shown upstairs and to my room, only to find that it hadn't been cleaned. I was given the family room instead, which was much bigger and luckily I had my pick of beds as the double was very uncomfortable. I had to tune the TV myself. The bathroom was shared, but appeared to be clean, until I saw the thick black mould on the shower head and the basin tap needed maintenance. The main problem was noise. I just didn't need to hear the conversation in the hallway at 2am between the girl staying next door and the guy who had come up from the pub with her. It was also bad value for a single traveller - I had to pay the 2 person rate, which was pretty expensive anyway, even assuming the place had been clean. If you're wanting a night out in Wallsend and don't want to drive afterwards, then maybe you'd be happy here, otherwise, give it a miss.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsti1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros K, General Manager at Manhattans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Now under new management since November 2012 please disregard this review thanks Roz and Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manhattans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattans

Address: 85-87 High Street West, Wallsend NE28 8JD, England (Formerly The Steam Elephant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Wallsend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallsend
Price Range: $31 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manhattans 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattans is a small hotel that endeavours to provide comfort and great service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manhattans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing