We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Last Family Vacation - before the kids leave...”
other travelers have booked this property
The loungers on the Lanai have great views of the beach, cove, and sunsets.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The loungers on the Lanai have great views of the beach, cove, and sunsets.
View of Kai Kotch (Island House #17) from the Cove.  Island House #16 to the left in same building. View of Kai Kotch (Island House #17) from the beach of Sand Pointe Cove - the bioluminescent cove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The loungers on the Lanai have great views of the beach, cove, and sunsets.
View of Kai Kotch (Island House #17) from the Cove.  Island House #16 to the left in same building.
View of Kai Kotch (Island House #17) from the beach of Sand Pointe Cove - the bioluminescent cove.
Kai Kotch is beachfront on the bioluminescent cove, short walk to Rum Point Club & property manager.
Kai Kotch east side, viewed from Water Cay Road.
The front door of Kai Kotch, Island House 17.  the key locker is on the left side of the doorway.
View of the Living Room looking to Sunroom. The armoire houses TV, DVD, VCR, and Stereo / CD player.
The Dining area opens to the Living area,
The inside Dining Table seats 6. Opens to the Living Room, Kitchen and Lanai.
The Sunroom adjoins the Living Room - a cozy nook for reading or just chilling out together.
The bright and cheerful Kitchen has a dishwasher, refrigerator, stove top/oven, and microwave.
The bright, cheerful Kitchen has full-size appliances.  The Utility Room is off the Kitchen.
The pool is large and surrounded by a deck perfect for relaxing.
Beautiful views of the beach, dock and cove are on display from the pool deck.
The stairs to the Bedrooms have safe, sturdy railings, leading up from the living area downstairs.
The King Bedroom has ensuite bath/shower and walk-in closet; opens to a balcony overlooking the cove
Queen Bedroom has ensuite bath/shower, walk-in closet, and its own screened Balcony.
Ensuite Bathrooms for each Bedroom have full tub and shower.
The Powder Room is conveniently located next to Dining/Living Room and Kitchen.
Both Bedroom Balconies have great views of the beach, cove, and sunsets.
The Lanai Dining Table is great for breakfasts, lunches, card games, or just visiting.
Our outside seating in a shady spot 'Under the Coconut Tree.'
Entrance Foyer with a convenient Desk and storage spot for our two Bicycles.
Full-size Automatic Washer and Dryer in Laundry Room next to Kitchen
A folding crib is stored in the closet upstairs, and fits in the King bedroom upstairs.
An infant high chair is stored in the closet upstairs, suitable for use in Dining Room downstairs.
Our pedal boat seats two adulst in front, with seating space for two kids in the back.
Kai Kotch has two single Kayaks and two double Kayaks.
Rum Point Beach, across the street from our Island Houses complex.
Watersports of all kinds are available at Rum Point Beach.
The world-famous Stingray Sandbar - a few minutes away by glass-bottom boat departing Rum Point Dock
Stingray Sandbar is a short boat ride away from Rum Point dock, on the Red Sails glass-bottom boat.
Starfish Point is about 1.2 miles south, at the end of Water Cay Road just past Kaibo Yacht Club.
Our Island Houses complex road sign facing Water Cay Road as you approach from Rum Point Drive.
Turn off Water Key Road here to enter our parking area.
Kai Kotch east and south sides, viewed from entrance to parking area off Water Cay Road,.
The car parking area - on the sand in front of Kai Kotch.
Front door of Kai Kotch, viewed from the parking area.  The key locker is to the left of the doorway
Colorful tropical flowers and trees adorn the grounds around Kai Kotch and the other Island Houses.
Colorful tropical flowers and trees adorn the grounds around Kai Kotch and the other Island Houses.
Colorful tropical flowers and trees adorn the grounds around Kai Kotch and the other Island Houses.
Detail of a tropical hibiscus flower in the grounds around Kai Kotch and the other Island Houses.
Kai Kotch, a townhouse in the Island Houses complex at the northern  end of the cove at Rum Point.
Approaching the Island Houses complex as viewed from a boat on the famous bioluminescent cove.
Kai Kotch is searchable on Google Maps! 50 Water Cay Road, unit 17 in the Island Houses.
Come get your slice of paradise at Kai Kotch!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Side, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RIKFrey
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Last Family Vacation - before the kids leave the house.”
Reviewed June 26, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
10
people found this review helpful

I was you once, staring over the internet looking at pictures and wondering – does this place live up to all the hype? So here I sit in the Lanai of Kai Kotch, day #8 of a 12 day vacation, writing the review, and paying it forward to the next guy. We are a family of 5 with 3 adult kids -- in or heading off to college. We like a base of operations from which we can head out to see the sights.

Kai Kotch is a well supplied vacation home. Clean and well suited for family living. We particularly like that you can open up the entire lower level to the outside air and we often spent breakfast on the lanai talking about the plans for the day. My observation was the ‘little details’ the owners paid attention to. Things like a BBQ, DVD movies, beach towels, flashlights, and a storage cabinet filled floor to ceiling with beach toys – Stuff I had to leave at home was here.

Our second day included a friendly phone call from Tim, who just wanted to make sure everything was A-ok and met to our liking. We found the beds clean & comfortable, each room can be setup as open air or closed up for AC. The kitchen has most everything we needed to cook breakfast & dinner. We used the clothes washer to clean the ‘sea’ out of our clothes and just air dried everything. The dishwasher is a little loud, but we started that on our way out the door.

The view out the back is just as the photos advertise. We all commented on how we saw very few people – it was like we had to cove to ourselves. We did encounter other families vacationing, all with kids younger than us, all staying in Kai’s, all with the same comments: it's a quiet location; we thought we had the place to ourselves; family friendly; etc…

Here are some financials to consider:
- We considered two hotel rooms at Seven Mile Beach, which was more expensive, and packed [literally] with tourists.
- Your going to drop $75 on a modest lunch for 5 [w/o drinks] and $175 for a modest dinner, including a round of drinks.
- Cooking meals at the Kai saved us literally $2000-$2500us dollars – we planned to eat-out every other day.
- All of the Kai’s are the same floor plan, so if this one is booked – try another.

About Rum point. It’s just across the street – Literally… Going to the beach is as simple as grabbing the snorkel gear, tossing on flop flops, and grabbing a free lounge chair when you get there. It’s the place locals go on Sundays to ‘get away from it all’. The reviews of the place are pretty much spot on, white sand beach, kid friendly swimming area, snorkeling out further from shore, after going there you will have no interest in playing in the cove as the ocean has much more to offer.

Icing on the cake: The cove is a bio-luminescent bay. Every time the kayak paddle hit the water, it was like someone poured ‘glow stick’ juice in the water. People pay for tours of the cove and it was right outside our back door. The Sting Ray city excursion from Rum point ended with the kids asking – can we do that again? Certainly the highlight of the trip.

Now for the bad stuff: The Kai, like any home, is in need of a few minor repairs, but nothing that deterred from our vacation. Rum Point is inconveniently located from the rest of Grand Cayman – which explains the lack of a crowd. All major stores grocery, liquor, shopping are at least a 30 minute drive away. There are 7-11 versions of these stores. But all in all, for the tourist who wants to be close to restaurants, shopping, and tourist activities – Rum point isn't for you. We had a rental car, used up 2 tanks of gas [$5.89 gal], and went ‘into town’ 2 of every 3 days for activities – Snorkel, Dinner, shopping, etc.

This was our experience at Kai Kotch and to steal the words from a New-Yorker vacationer who comes here every year.
“We come here to get away from all the people, its nice to feel like you’re the only ones on the island”.

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewed June 10, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2010
Traveling group: Friends
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed May 31, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Reviewed May 16, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lookin4lu...
Albany, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great location and toys but more dated than we had hoped”
Reviewed February 24, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I shopped forever trying to find a rental with great beach access but without the bustle of Georgetown. We had an incredibly rough start but things improved as the week progressed.

On arrival, we had a considerable delay getting the rental car for no real reason (cannot recommend Thrifty). The drive to Rum Point was not difficult. Within an hour of arriving at Kai Kotch, my 7 year old had jellyfish stings. I didn't know they were lying all over the bottom of the cove. I'm only familiar with the floating variety. The first 5 things we tried to use at the house did not work including a burner on the stove, the upstairs toilet (soon determined that the water had been shut off to it), and the TVs' volume. I found myself frantically studying the owner's manual, not what I had envisioned for my vacation. I called the management company and help arrived within 20 min. even after hours.

It was great to be able to walk to the beach at Rum Point. The areas was not as crowded as I thought it would be. We really enjoyed the pedal boat and kayaks. The owner was a wonderful communicator during the booking process. Free US and local calls plus WiFi access were really great extras. We cooked most meals at the house though there were 5-10 dining options around.

The rental was more dated than we had hoped with torn screens on the doors, peeling paint/plaster in the sunroom, wall damage where furniture had made gouges and an older kitchen. I did not use the dishwasher as it appeared that the soap from the last run was still in the compartment suggesting it wasn't working well.

So, some great ammenities but not as luxurious as we had hoped. I would recommend this rental for families with multiple generations traveling or with kids as there is lots of room to play outside, toys, and a nice (though cold) pool very close by. I wouldn't recommend it to others looking for high end rental.

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Elk River, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

My husband and I just returned from a week at Kai Kotch (Island House #17). It was our first trip to Grand Cayman, and our best vacation yet.

Having reviewed many other accomodations on the island (online), and having stayed at Kai Kotch -- we feel like we made the BEST choice. (We drove by some of the places we saw online and were glad we made the decision to stay where we did.)

The home itself was tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished, and loaded with toys --even if it was just us 2 adults!

The view was beauitful and the calm of the waters of the cove peaceful to sleep beside.

Tim the owner called to check in on us right away and left his personal number should we need help. We didn't need to call him though because he and his wife carefully put together a book of instructions on how to use everything, tips for outings, etc.

Walking distance to Rum Point was a bonus. It was a casual, fun, and relaxing place to hang out for food, drink, a swim, a snorkel, or a boat ride. Nice to have so close to the house without it being right in front of where we were staying which is the case with most of the resorts on the island.

We used the kitchen, the peddle boat, the kayaks, the grill, and the laundry-- and all were enjoyed -- or at least appreciated (no need to do laundry now that we're home!).

Its a bit of a drive to George Town and Seven Mile Beach (45-60 min) -- but we actually preferred that. It felt more like a relaxing, romantic, and yet fun tropical vacation to not be in the thick of 'hotel lane'.

StingRay City was fun. We also enjoyed snorkeling at Rum Point, Cemetary Beach, and especially Eden Rock (must do!).

The Wreck at Rum Point had good casual food and cocktails, while Kaibo was a treat as well (we highly recommend their Fish & Chips -- best we've had!)

While we enjoyed this location as a couple, we certainly see its benefits for families or small groups of friends. In fact, we met another couple one night (stayhing elsewhere) and brought them over to see the place in case they decided to come back with their 2 daughters in the future -- they seemed to be very interested, asked for pricing, and thought it was a tremendous value -- as did we.

My husband, who has been a diehard for Maui for several years now, said this was his best vacation ever. It was actually warmer than Maui (by night), the water crystal clear, the snorkeling amazing, and somehow our week felt extended as if it were two. Ahhh....

So....LOOK NO FURTHER! THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY!! We can't wait to return some day and bring friends and family!!

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrequentT...
McLean, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful Place, Want To Go Back”
Reviewed February 3, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

My family (two adults, two young children) had a wonderful time staying at Kai Kotch #17. It was everything we hoped for in our vacation. The house was well furnished, comfortable, quiet and in a fabulous location. It's beautiful and extremely convenient, with the stunning cove steps away, Rum Point beach club across the street, the yacht club just down the road, and a grocery store a few minutes drive away. We had a great time kayaking and paddling in the cove with the equipment provided by the house, and snorkeling off Rum Point. The kitchen was well supplied with cooking implements and dishes, more than sufficient for us to make most of our meals in the house. The property made an excellent base for our half-day trips exploring the rest of the island. Our only sadness was having to leave. The owner and property management company were also extremely helpful when we needed some unexpected assistance, and gave great recommendations for restaurants and grocery shopping. Very highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing