We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kaibo Will Exceed Your Expectations!”

Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in North Side
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $47
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Upstairs at Kaibo is renowned for Chef Laurence’s consistently excellent Michelin star standard and modern European techniques, using local and Caribbean ingredients, to create a masterpiece of a menu. The scenic view overlooking the tranquil North Sound is delightful, and the Rare Rum Lounge is decadently relaxed.
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kaibo Will Exceed Your Expectations!”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

While in Grand Cayman if you are looking for a friendly and fun open air bar with excellent lite fare, delicious drinks, a casual beach atmosphere plus the opportunity to meet interesting people, then downstairs at Kaibo Yacht Club is for you. If you want fine dining in a gorgeous Island setting, world class cuisine overlooking the water with friendly, professional wait staff may I suggest upstairs at the Kaibo Restaurant - it will surpass your expectations. I know, I live in Grand Cayman and the Kaibo Yacht Club is where visitors and locals alike enjoy socializing and dining. Last week 14 of us went to the upstairs restaurant and had an amazing time, gorgeous food and fantastic service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGSQOTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    40
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Kaibo Upstairs is one of the best restaurants on the island, it is difficult to fault the food or service. The tables and restaurant presentation and views are beautiful.

When the upstairs restaurant is not open the beach bar sells good food too, but the "must do" is the Luna del Mar on the night of the full moon - this is an awesome experience - fine dining on the beach, sadly it was a bit cloudy and windy when we were there in November but hoping for better weather next year.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiboClaire, Owner at Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you so much for posting your review on Trip advisor, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again when you return for your annual visit to Cayman and hope you can squeeze in another lUna del Mar celebration with us! Contact us anytime on kaibo@the beach.com and let us know when you would like to visit again and how we can assist you. best wishes Kaibo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A magical setting for a lovely evening”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We chose the upstairs Kaibo restaurant (2 couples) for a nice evening out without an input, just based on advertorial in a Cayman dining magazine and were not disappointed. In fact, in was one of the best dinners during our two weeks on Grand Cayman primarily because of the lovely setting and elegant food. The upstairs is beautifully decorated in a Caribbean greathouse style with A/C inside around the bar. We dined outside by the wood railing with a lovely view of the beach, palms and boat docks below.
Our friends enjoyed it enough to buy a gift certificate as a gift for our hosts at the house where we were staying (arriving just after we left.) Our only regret is that the upstairs is not wheelchair accessible so one of our relatives could not enjoy dining there after he arrived this winter. Also, it was only open on weekends in early January so it was important to plan ahead.
The location is near Rum Point, so it is a good distance from Seven Mile Beach, but not far for those staying on East End.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stcroixwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiboClaire, Owner at Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Hello and thank you for writing a wonderful review for Kaibo, we appreciate all your feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you with the ultimate Caribbean experience whether in the fine dining Upstairs restaurant or downstairs in the beach bar. we hope you will visit us again soon, and if you have further questions please contact us at kaibo@thebeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Obviously they dont need our money”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Called at 4:30p on a monday afternoon to inquire about a reservation for dinner. Was told by a very rude individual that dinners were only served in the resturant on Fri, Sat, and Sunday nights, but they could serve us from that location from the bar menu, and that there was a side menu that incuded some items from the dinner menu and that they also served from that. Now say all that to yourself very quickly and in a thick accent. Sounds a little confusing right? Well the individual on the other end of the phone could have really cared less to explain in more detail.

Sorry, but cant you even be civil to me on the phone when I'm trying to come give you money?
went to Tukka instead. THAT I reccomend highly.

Helpful?
3 Thank jackandniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiboClaire, Owner at Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
We apologise for any confusion caused by our accents! This is a British owned bar and although these days we are more International/ Caribbean than Brits, sometimes a smattering of the Queen's English can seep through in our accents! To clarify, our beach bar is open 7 days a week, 11am until 11pm, and there is an all day menu. Our Upstairs fine dining restaurant is open Friday Saturday and Sunday nights from 6pm. I highly recommend both, as they offer very different experiences. Menus for both the beach bar and the upstairs restaurant can be found on our website. We hope if you visit Grand Cayman again you will contact us kaibo@thebeach.com to make a reservation. best wishes Kaibo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had our Wedding Reception at Kaibo; Very, very pleased!”
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My fiancee and I hosted 25 guests for our wedding reception upstairs at Kaibo. We were married at sea on a 65 ft catamaran and wanted a casual/beachy place for our relaxed wedding reception.

We worked through Daniel and Kaibo exceeded our expectations. We had a fixed menu with 3 choices--2 fish and 1 steak. All of the food was terrific. Choice of salad or gazpacho as well. We had a dj in the room upstairs, but took our meal outside on the upstairs porch.

Kaibo did many extra little things, like meeting our party at the dock with mojitos and had tiki torches lining our walkway to the restaurant. They also used really nice decorations on our tables and did not charge extra for that.

We have dined at Kaibo Yacht club in the past and enjoy the casual downstairs bar as well. I would highly recommend this retaurant/bar as an example of the relaxed East End of Grand Cayman. Well worth the drive out from Georgetown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing