We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in North Side
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $47
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Upstairs at Kaibo is renowned for Chef Laurence’s consistently excellent Michelin star standard and modern European techniques, using local and Caribbean ingredients, to create a masterpiece of a menu. The scenic view overlooking the tranquil North Sound is delightful, and the Rare Rum Lounge is decadently relaxed.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Kaibo Upstairs is one of the best restaurants on the island, it is difficult to fault the food or service. The tables and restaurant presentation and views are beautiful.

When the upstairs restaurant is not open the beach bar sells good food too, but the "must do" is the Luna del Mar on the night of the full moon - this is an awesome experience - fine dining on the beach, sadly it was a bit cloudy and windy when we were there in November but hoping for better weather next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kebab65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiboClaire, Owner at Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Thank you so much for posting your review on Trip advisor, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again when you return for your annual visit to Cayman and hope you can squeeze in another lUna del Mar celebration with us! Contact us anytime on kaibo@the beach.com and let us know when you would like to visit again and how we can assist you. best wishes Kaibo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

We chose the upstairs Kaibo restaurant (2 couples) for a nice evening out without an input, just based on advertorial in a Cayman dining magazine and were not disappointed. In fact, in was one of the best dinners during our two weeks on Grand Cayman primarily because of the lovely setting and elegant food. The upstairs is beautifully decorated in a Caribbean greathouse style with A/C inside around the bar. We dined outside by the wood railing with a lovely view of the beach, palms and boat docks below.
Our friends enjoyed it enough to buy a gift certificate as a gift for our hosts at the house where we were staying (arriving just after we left.) Our only regret is that the upstairs is not wheelchair accessible so one of our relatives could not enjoy dining there after he arrived this winter. Also, it was only open on weekends in early January so it was important to plan ahead.
The location is near Rum Point, so it is a good distance from Seven Mile Beach, but not far for those staying on East End.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stcroixwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiboClaire, Owner at Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Hello and thank you for writing a wonderful review for Kaibo, we appreciate all your feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you with the ultimate Caribbean experience whether in the fine dining Upstairs restaurant or downstairs in the beach bar. we hope you will visit us again soon, and if you have further questions please contact us at kaibo@thebeach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Called at 4:30p on a monday afternoon to inquire about a reservation for dinner. Was told by a very rude individual that dinners were only served in the resturant on Fri, Sat, and Sunday nights, but they could serve us from that location from the bar menu, and that there was a side menu that incuded some items from the dinner menu and that they also served from that. Now say all that to yourself very quickly and in a thick accent. Sounds a little confusing right? Well the individual on the other end of the phone could have really cared less to explain in more detail.

Sorry, but cant you even be civil to me on the phone when I'm trying to come give you money?
went to Tukka instead. THAT I reccomend highly.

3  Thank jackandniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiboClaire, Owner at Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2011

We apologise for any confusion caused by our accents! This is a British owned bar and although these days we are more International/ Caribbean than Brits, sometimes a smattering of the Queen's English can seep through in our accents! To clarify, our beach bar is open 7 days a week, 11am until 11pm, and there is an all day menu. Our Upstairs fine dining restaurant is open Friday Saturday and Sunday nights from 6pm. I highly recommend both, as they offer very different experiences. Menus for both the beach bar and the upstairs restaurant can be found on our website. We hope if you visit Grand Cayman again you will contact us kaibo@thebeach.com to make a reservation. best wishes Kaibo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My fiancee and I hosted 25 guests for our wedding reception upstairs at Kaibo. We were married at sea on a 65 ft catamaran and wanted a casual/beachy place for our relaxed wedding reception.

We worked through Daniel and Kaibo exceeded our expectations. We had a fixed menu with 3 choices--2 fish and 1 steak. All of the food was terrific. Choice of salad or gazpacho as well. We had a dj in the room upstairs, but took our meal outside on the upstairs porch.

Kaibo did many extra little things, like meeting our party at the dock with mojitos and had tiki torches lining our walkway to the restaurant. They also used really nice decorations on our tables and did not charge extra for that.

We have dined at Kaibo Yacht club in the past and enjoy the casual downstairs bar as well. I would highly recommend this retaurant/bar as an example of the relaxed East End of Grand Cayman. Well worth the drive out from Georgetown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SCWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We've had lunch at the casual Kaibo bar & grill and this time around decided to try to Upstairs "fancy" restaurant. The ambiance cannot be beat...beautiful hardwood floors, white slip covered chairs, organza curtains, overlooking the beautiful beach/bay, cool music. The food and service were excellent, albeit on the higher side. The amuse bouche was tuna tartar on a slice of cucumber and a think wafer. My daughter had the crab cakes and they are out of this world. My husband had the mussels, which were also excellent, but a bit of curry heat. I had the local lobster and avocado salad which was fresh and refreshing. The red pepper coulis was delish and provided an extra bit of flavor. I had the tuna entree which was fabulous. A HUGE piece of tuna atop a bed of bok choy and paella with a smattering of clams on the side. The tuna was done to my liking, but what I think was fabulous was the paella. Not sure why they don't have that on the dinner menu. The hubs had the lamb chops which were very tasty and the portion was also large. Needless to say, we brought food home. Kaibo has this monthly Supper Club thing going and this month features chocolate. It's a multi-course meal that features the main ingrediant in each course. The next one is on the 28th and we may join the party. The price for 3 people, apps/entree and 4 glasses of wine came to almost $200 US.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant also viewed

George Town, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Kaibo - Upstairs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing