We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
$207
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
263
170
51
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
170
51
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnunney castlecastle suiteribssunday lunchmy partnerevening mealbeer gardenpicturesque villagefunction roomsteakold buildingpretty villagefood was lovelypuddingfour poster bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 546 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful place for one night and were really pleased. We only stayed for a night And were made to feel so welcome by everyone. We stayed in room 8 and it was very clean & comfortable. Lovely oldie worldwide place with a huge amount of character. Would most definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank michelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nunney is a beautiful village, however we were disappointed with our room at The George. The website certainly shows the rooms at their best. Our room was in need of some attention, however. There was damage to the door frame which did not add to any rustic charm and a wooden shelf in the en suite had suffered from water damage and was unappealing. Both of these could have easily been repaired. Our night's sleep was also disturbed by the occupants above us as every step and flush of the toilet could be heard. We were further disappointed that despite the claim that wifi was 'available in all areas' we could not access this in our room nor in the restaurant! We were told that it was a bit patchy. The service in the restaurant was slow and required several prompts. Would love to visit Nunney again, but not to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alis0n1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, set in a small quaint village with a lovely walled sheltered garden with comfy sofas. Restaurant served really nice food at reasonable prices. Some rooms are still to be decorated but still lovely. Family owned and run with that personal touch. Very friendly with nothing too much trouble.We used it as a base to visit Longleat nearby. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked at the George for two nights when we were visiting Longleat for the day. I have to say from the moment we arrived to when we left the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. One particular member of staff even had the foresight to book us a table for dinner as they knew the restaurant was getting booked up. The pub was tastefully decorated with quaint snug rooms for relaxing at the bar, there was a beautiful beer garden, which was perfect as the weather was very warm. It was very nice to be able to have breakfast in the garden aswell. The food at the George was extremely good and good value for money! Our bedroom was overlooking the medieval Castle which was a great novelty. There was a fan provided which we were very grateful for and It was nice to have our room cleaned and the tea tray refilled after our first night! I would highly recommend The George, especially good position if your visiting Longleat or Bath.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the outside The George is lovely in a very pretty village with views of a castle and on a river. Inside it has been modernised and lacks the same charm. Generic hotel chairs and animal skin style rugs were a disappointment. The food was good but we nearly missed out due to our request for a table being missed when we booked our room. The room itself was fine. The floors creak a little but its an old building so that should come as no surprise. The initial welcome was less than inspiring but I guess staff at the end of their shift can be a bit tired and grumpy sometimes. The evening service was good and its a nice atmosphere but it is definitely a restaurant rather than a pub these days.

Room Tip: Our room at the back could have been noisy on a sunnier evening due to the beer garden
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharltonEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews