We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
$92
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
$258
$246
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
$106
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
263
170
51
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
170
51
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnunney castlecastle suiteribssunday lunchmy partnerevening mealbeer gardenpicturesque villagefunction roomsteakold buildingpretty villagefood was lovelypuddingfour poster bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 546 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very interesting place to be at, full of history, narrow doorways and mistery!! Our room (no. 13) was a bit tight (perhaps too much furniture crammed in the space?) but spotless, same as bathroom (no shower). Dinner at the restaurant was excellent, with very nice buzzing ambiance. Excellent breakfast, too! Nice place to be when visiting the village: wonderful and very picturesque (lovely properties & gardens), with impressive ruins of a XIV century castle with surrounding moat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for one night after a great day out at Stourhead. Check in was easy and we were shown to our room (9) which was fairly small but very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The shower was powerful but very hot and would not run any cooler and on a warm day was not great. We enjoyed drinks in the garden before going to our room to get ready for dinner. Dinner was pretty good overall but my medium steak was medium well (but tasty) and hubby's rack of ribs was really hard to separate. The bar and restaurant has been very well done up and is a nice place to spend the evening with pleasant staff. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best we have had. Definitely kept us going for the day. We had a walk around Nunney using a guide/map available in the pub. This little village is truly stunning and the castle is lovely and open all the time. Just go through the little gate. I think we will return and next time for 2 nights in the Castle suite.

Room Tip: Will def go for Castle suite next time
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed just the one night but altogether it was well worth it although the lady at the check in did get a little stressed when we altered our number for dinner fron six to four an hour or so later.Food was excellant and great value.Room was very comfortable although no shower just a bath.The village,church and ruined castle are well worth a look round.lots of work being done in the beer garden.Breakfast is good with a varied menu.Try the kippers.We will be back.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms more accessable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for the night to break up the last day of our holiday. We chose it for it's close proximity to Longleat (which we went to the following day).

We arrived quite late as we had been out in the day then visiting a friend and so didn't get there until gone half 8. The staff were rushed off their feet with a busy Friday night dinner service, however, they made the effort to show us up to our room and managed to save us a table so we could eat there (food was very nice btw). Would recommend you book if you are planning to eat there.

Our room had a beautiful view and a nice big bathroom and four poster bed (which was very comfortable). Another plus was the fact they gave you decnt sized towels! I've stayed in many B&B's and hotels over the years and this is the first place I have stayed that actually gave you a towel you could wrap around you and be sure nothing was on display!

We had a lovely stay and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Only a couple od points I would make - firstly, some maintenance issues. Both the light outside our room and in our hallway were broken which wasn't great when we went up to bed after dinner and it was rather dark trying to find the keyhole! Secondly, it would have been nice to have had blackout or darker curtains than the light ones provided. Room was very bright when the sunrose and I was awake from about 5am. I'm not normally a light sleeper but if you are you may find this a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a lovely hotel and great location for a day at Longleat Safari Park. Fabulous food as well in the resturant. Absolutely gorgeous and great price as well. Highly recommended. Well done. Thouroghly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews