We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$96
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
$91
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Warminster(Warminster)(Great Value!)
$89
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$221
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
$258
$249
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
262
170
51
36
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
170
51
36
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubnunney castlecastle suiteribssunday lunchmy partnerevening mealbeer gardenpicturesque villagefunction roomsteakold buildingpretty villagefood was lovelypuddingfour poster bedfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 545 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Top compliments to all the staff, particularly Neil - a large group of us were at a festival nearby, Neil was really kind and very helpful. The place is beautiful, in pretty surroundings. We all came in for Sunday lunch and it was very tasty. Would definitely recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliathesecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks Julia for taking the time to review us. It was a real pleasure having you with us that Lunch time, and Neil send his regards also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A wonderful location, this place is a real find. We stopped there prior to visting Longleat and just picked it up of late rooms. Superb food for dinner we had scallops and mackerel pate for starters. Both were delicious but the pate had the edge for being that little bit different. Monkfish tails and steak for mains. The steak was fantastic, cooked perfectly and just melt in the mouth, the monkfish was a little tough but good and there were sugar snap peas which i love. We didnt try the sweets as we had had enough. Reasonably price. Breakfast was very good, cereals fresh fruit (strawberries, apples, oranges and bananas - love my fruit). The bread itself was lovely - very tasty brown seeded bread. English breakfast or fish, the English had proper field mushrooms not those horrid sliced tinned things that you get a t lots of places. Freshly cooked and served hot. The location is great, over the road the hotel has chairs and tables next to the river, just beyond the river ins the imposing castle and up the road a church which serves tea/ coffee cakes on a Sunday afternoon. The location is excellent 2.5 miles from Wells about 5 ml from Longleat and Stourhead is not far away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allnamesunderthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

A big thanks for taking the time to review us. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again if you're ever passing through Somerset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We visit the George at Nunney on a very regular basis, we always eat and have a fantastic food. The new owner is very nice and all stuff at brilliant. We will continue to visit as we very much enjoy every visit.

Well done Gordon you have done a brilliant job at the George!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks very much for such a great review! Its always a pleasure seeing you at The George!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at the George at Nunney Hotel earlier this year.

My gripes with this hotel were the rudness of the owner or Manager, he was very regimented in his approach, as in you have breakfast at this time. I had to leave early and no option was availiable for this!!

My room was so also cold it was untrue!!

That apart, the food quality was good and it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adoniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDA_rep, Owner at The George at Nunney, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

As the new owner of The George at Nunney since April, we're very sad to read this review as it reflects on us, rather than as it was under the previous owner, who did have a poor reputation for being rude to some of his clients. However we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here but would like to say if you did ever visit us here at The George again, you will find a friendly team who will do their very best to make sure you have a very enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We regretted only being able to stay for one night as The George is the sort of place where you feel so comfortable and relaxed that you don't want to leave! Smart without being pretentious, a good mix of locals and visitors and dog friendly. Our 4 poster room was charming with a view of the church and castle, and the restaurant/bar area is beautifully lit at night creating a very pleasant dining atmosphere with no awful background 'musack'. Our meal was very good indeed - scallops as a main course is unusual (and weren't they delicious!). Another plus was champagne served by the glass - perfect for a lady whose husband doesn't like it and who can't manage a whole bottle by herself! Because it is so popular they were very busy;consequently our meal started a little later than planned but, in their defence, the waiter did apologise for this in advance when he took the order and once we were seated at table the service was very efficient. Breakfast offers a good range from full English to smoked fish to continental and was served by very friendly staff. We noticed that the proprietor was running quite a tight ship in that he was constantly watching over what was going on and this seems to be paying dividends. We would highly recommend The George to anyone wanting to treat themselves to a weekend break in a very pretty village.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have the best views but there are quite a few stairs and corridors as it is an old building.
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank brambleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews