We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on The Beach”
Review of Amaya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaya Beach
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel on The Beach”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Make sure you get the rooms requested by you at the booking. Well maintained hotel. Pool and beach area is very clean. Food is not great. On the day we were there the salads and the desserts were almost the same for lunch and dinner. There was a good spread for the Breakfast, authentic Sri Lankan and Western. Fruit juice were not from fresh fruits at the breakfast. Serving staff is very helpful and obliging. There was ample food even near to closing time.
Rooms were well maintained. Comfortable bed. Big wardrobe and luggage table. In room safe and Toiletries. Hair dryer in the bathroom. Not enough light in the bathroom should have more light at the mirror.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block, the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Kumwick,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent holiday at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. Your comments regarding the food has been discussed with our executive chef, our buffet menus are all planned for a weekly cycle and is also varied on certain days according to the guests in house, our salad counter offer's a variety of option each meals as well as a “make your own” salad section which contains the basic salad items, we offer one fresh juice for breakfast and is varied daily. Your suggestion regarding the lights for the mirror in the bathroom have been noted for the future. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the Breakfast spread we offer and that the room and its facilities have met your expectation, our team is encouraged to hear that they were able to make your holiday a comfortable and enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back at Amaya Beach on your next visit to Passikudah.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    183
    61
    28
    26
See reviews for
237
183
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very friendly staff. Variety of buffets. Child friendly hotel. Spacious area for kids to play and baby sitter available . Excellent service. Variety of cocktails at the bars . Spacious room. Not hesitate to visit again :) :)

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsharaM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Ishara,

We appreciate the feedback on your holiday at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. It is always a great encouragement for the team to hear that their efforts have made holidays memorable for our guests, as has been yours. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food and cocktails as well as the views from the Ocean view rooms. It seems that the kids also had a wonderful time and glad that we were able to take care of them, and we look forward to welcoming you back at Amaya Beach on your next visit to Passikudah.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Pros: great food(especially the Sri Lankan food), good views from hotel, hotel has nice facilities.

Cons: Staff can be slow (the staff seemed overworked and stretched thin, they were doing their best), hotel is nice but lacks character, beach is rocky around hotel

Overall: Hotel has good food and the facilities are nice however the inexperience of the management and staff slows down service.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Jason,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your holiday at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. Your concerns regarding the speed of service has been addressed with the team and we are in the process of training new associates, manpower shortage in the industry is quite high and we are doing our best to improve this. I am pleased top hear that you have enjoyed the food and had the opportunity to taste some good Sri Lankan food as well as experience some of the other facilities the resort offers. We hope that you will be able to visit Passikudah again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We came here from Arugam Bay on our round island tour staying for 4 days to celebrate a big birthday. At check in there was confusion regarding our booking but once this was sorted we were soon in our spacious rooms with sea view. The room boys were very friendly and helpful and made sure that the rooms were tidy. The contact at the hotel helped my wife make sure that I had a cake and that I was thoroughly embarrassed by the restaurant staff singing Happy Birthday to be at dinner.
However, service was slow, especially when ordering drinks, which as has been mentioned already were more expensive than other hotels near by. Why not have all inclusive prices rather than the price plus plus plus. Why charge a service charge on the buffet meals when clients are serving themselves?
The pool is an odd one- lovely and long for swimming laps it is too shallow for about half the length to do crawl without hitting your hands on the bottom.
Great massage in the spa.
Breakfast was very good and we ate a la carte on one night and had the buffet another- both very enjoyable. On 2 night the 5 of us ate at Roy's place which is along the lane by the Hindu temple for the price of one of us at the buffet. Dennis Beer shop sells a large lager for 170r.
We enjoyed our stay but think that more attention needs to be given customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJSMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear DJSMc,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. Your concerns regarding the service delays has been discussed with the F&B manager and corrective action is being taken, your comments help us to improve the consistency of our service and standards. The pool has been built as per the latest international pool safety guidelines and is for leisure and made suitable for families, therefore not suitable for swimming laps. Disclosure of taxes and service charges on bills is a requirement therefore prices are quoted accordingly. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the spacious room and the sea views and that the team has made all efforts to make your stay enjoyable and your birthday celebration a memorable one. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Sri Lanka and Passikudah.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are great! Housekeeping must improve! Food is good, but more variations! Pool Bar staff must be more proactive! Pool ok, beach is great but a lot of reef. Move over to other areas. Friendly people. Thank God no beach bums or touts. Overall ok

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TariqTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Tariq,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. We are constantly working to improve the consistency of our service and standards therefore we appreciate your feedback and comments. Your concerns regarding service in Housekeeping, Pool bar as well as the variety of food has been discussed with the respective teams and we are working to improve all these areas. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the rooms, nearby beach and the friendliness of our staff . I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future for you to experience the changes made.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

A nice resort with attractive rooms. Good-sized pool, although usually quite busy. Good sun-loungers comfy and always available.

Breakfast buffet was good with eggs made to order. Drink prices ok but hefty 12% tax and 10% service whacked on after.

Sorted taxi for us to Arugam Bay although pricey at 14,800R.

Nice guy at reception drove us to nearby guesthouse for dinner - numbawumba I think it was called, had great food. Restaurant at Amaya ok but slightly over priced.

Beach nice, sand and coral so not great for walking in/swimming in but picturesque and quiet.

Service ok, went from great to frustrating but suppose to be expected in large-ish hotel.

All in all a good resort, not 5* but made for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimwithtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear swimwithtrees,

We appreciate the time taken to comment on your recent stay at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. We are constantly working to improve the consistency of our service, feedback and comments from our guests are discussed daily with the team. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and services we have to offer and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will be able to visit Sri Lanka again and make Passikudah part of your trip, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

It was a last minute reservation because of the debacle that happened with our 1 night stay at Uga Bay (originally meant to be 3 days - my oversight on nights and price).

Overall, it is an enjoyable place to stay. Bigger than other locations, but great view of the sea and wonderful bar. Service at the bar is terribly slow and sometimes unnecessarily chatty at the cost of ignoring customers. I love friendly people, but when customers are not being tended to, that's a problem for me.

Our $200/night rooms (premium deluxe beach view) were nice and spacious, bed was very comfortable and view was actually quite amazing. The bathrooms are enormous, spacious and very clean. Housekeeping does well. I am curious and concerned about the quality of water that comes in the faucets - which is a rusty orange color. Uga Bay did not have this issue, which means it's probably unfiltered water from a well. Alarming considering the price you pay to stay.

Prices were 'OK' but higher than other high-end venues in the same area, so some room to improve.

The pool table was a great feature my wife and I enjoyed quite a few times, so definitely a relaxed environment where you can unwind and not feel stressed. I feel pool tables encourage a sense of calm.

We'll probably be back, but my concerns about the overall pricing structure of the area in general remains the same - prices are about 25-50% too high, even during peak season.

The pictures should tell you more. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea, so try to get one in the center of the hotel or the east wing so you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear JJBaybee,

We appreciate the time taken to comment on your recent stay at Amaya Beach, Passikudah. Your comments concerning the service in the bar has been discussed with the F&B manager and his team and we are working to improve this. With regards to the quality of water, it is true that some hotels in the opposite side of the bay do have access to fresh water from underground wells, unfortunately the other side of the bay does not have this option, also due to the severe drought being faced in the region the supply of fresh water is limited and we are reliant on the water supplied through the main lines and supplemented daily with additional water which is provided by the local council by truck. This water is re-filtered and re-treated by us before use. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the view of the bay and rest of the facilities and services in the resort and hope that you will be able to visit Passikudah again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.4 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Kalkudah
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 13 in Kalkudah
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#6 of 13 in Kalkudah
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#8 of 13 in Kalkudah
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Beach

Property: Amaya Beach
Address: | National Holiday Resort, Passikudah, Kalkudah 30000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Centara Passikudah Resort & Spa Srilanka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaya Beach Passikudah Resort & Spa Sri Lanka is set next to the beach at Passikudah Bay, a long stretch of coastline renowned for its calm and shallow waters, ideal for swimming and water sports. Besides relaxing on the tranquil beach you will enjoy a wide range of facilities and activities including a large swimming pool, water sports and an award-winning spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Beach Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing