We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Amaya Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaya Beach
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights. The rooms perfect, clean, spacious and ours overlooking the Palm trees with a sea view. Breakfast buffet perfect. We had dinner twice. The first evening was excellent, the second with crab and prawns a disaster. We did not have to pay for the second dinner and were given 4 shots of Arak to compensate.
Two things we did not like. You can not go Swimming in the sea in front of the Hotel, because there is a reef. You have to walk 200 meters to the public beach. Water is very shallow.
The pool does not make it up, as it is only 3ft or 90 cm deep. Not a Swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Joachim,

We appreciate the time taken to let us know about your recent holiday experience in the resort. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the seafood dish and glad that it has been attended to immediately by our restaurant staff, this has been discussed further with our chef to ensure that such is not repeated in the future. With regards to the sea bathing fronting the resort, it does contain lots of corals and recommend to wear beach shoes for safety, with regards to the swimming pool depth, this has been built to the latest international pool safety standards therefore the difference between older pools you will find in other locations. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the room and the view's they offer over the bay as well as the variety of our breakfast buffet and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 644 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April for 8 nights. Everything was superb. Even if it was very few guests one of the chefs arranged chockolade workshop for the 3 of us + 2 more guest. The rooms are spacious and and clean. The view is fantastic. This hotel has a better beach than some of the other hotels in the area. A walk out to the reef is nice. You can see many smal fishes. because there are sharp corals. Bring some beach shoes If you take one of the boats across the bay you will have a wonderful snorkling experience. - A trip to the Hindu temple Batticaloa is recommended. - But think twice if you want to take the day train back to Colombo - there is no first class and there is no anouncements in english, . and it can be VERY hot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Arne,

We appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your recent holiday experience in the resort. I see that you have taken the opportunity to explore the local culture as well as experience the amazing snorkelling locations available close to the resort, as you say the corals in shallow the ocean of the bay can be sharp and definitely recommend the beach shoes which will allow one to have a good experience of the reef fronting the resort as well. I am happy that you were able to do the chocolate factory experience during your stay. The train trip is an experience that may not be enjoyed by all and is definitely an experience, there are several other options even by air available and details are available in the resort for this, may be an option for next time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have stayed in Amaya for 10 nights in May and it was a fantastic experience!
The rooms are spacious with beautiful view, beds comfortable and air con kept us cool and comfortable after a hot day on the beach.

Hotel itself is beautifully designed, just walking around makes you calm and relaxed.
Staff are friendly and helpful - special thanks to Ms Inoka and Asoka the fitness guru!

Hotel staff can arrange trips to various places of interest like Pollanaruwa or Sigiriya or snorkeling in the nearby coral reef. They also help with taxis and tuk tuks. All will go out of their way to help! The hotel provides strong connection free wi-fi too which we used a lot to find near by places of interest. You can discover the area on bikes that can be hired from the hotel.

The food was delicious. Breakfast had everything from traditional Sri Lankan milk rice, sambols, hoppers and light curries through cereals, cold meats, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages to waffles and fresh fruit. It was the same with dinner but you could also order a tasty sandwich from the Aqua bar.

Their chefs are knowledgeable and happy to share a recipe if you ask. I was also treated to wood apple at breakfast - a very Sri Lankan fruit I did not manage to find in the local fruit stores!

The bay the hotel is situated on is very beautiful although you need to take a 5 minutes walk to the pure sandy bit as there is a lot of coral around. We spent hours in the sea but the hotel pool is not bad to cool down either.

In all we had a wonderful time in Amaya - highly recommended!

Diana

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Hotel Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear sillyredhead,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us in May this year. It is great to hear that you have been able experience the local attractions as well as activities the resort offers. The team always strives to do their best and accommodate special requirements of our guests and I am glad that you have been enjoyed the variety of food we offer including the Sri Lankan food varieties in our menus and get some recipes as well from our chef, as you say the wood apple is a very Sri Lankan fruit and not always in season, happy to hear that you were able to experience this during your stay.
It is a great encouragement to all in the team to hear that their efforts have made you stay a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This was without a doubt the best hotel we stayed at during our 12 day trip in sri lanka. Everything was perfect, the room, food, staff, pool, views ... everything. This should be a 5 star hotel and not four. The only downside was there weren't many guests the time we were there and the hotel was extremely quite and there weren't any activities going on. I would only recommend organising some activities to keep the guests entertained.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiadJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear ZiadJordan,

Thank you for the time taken to give us comments about your holiday at the resort. It is a great encouragement for the team to hear about your experience and your comments about the resort. With regards to activities the resort does offer a variety of activities in as well as outside the resort such as water sports, beach volleyball, water polo, jet ski, diving, snorkelling excursions, local excursions, local life experiences, cycling to name a few, these activities are advertised in the lobby are of the resort and I am sorry that this has also not been briefed to you during your stay. So glad that you have enjoyed the spacious rooms, variety of food, large pool as well as the ocean views and that the team has made your stay a memorable one. We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back when you do so.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

At first we decided to stay there for one night only and then get to Nuwara Elya, but next morning I realized that we should stay more because of a cold I'd caught on the way to the hotel. So despite all the health troubles it was amazing. I'd like to say my special thanks to all the staff and especially Ms. Inoka Attanayaka, who was so kind to drive me to the hospital and help to buy the medicine. It was a great help! So the other stuff are also very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the meals are brilliant! We were so glad to taste well cooked food after the 1,5 in Sri Lanka again. You won't regret about this experience! :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katerina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Katerina,

Thank you for the time taken to give us comments about your holiday at the resort. We hope that you recovered from your illness and enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka. It is good to hear that you have been able to enjoy the variety and the quality of food we offer and that you have been able to enjoy some local dishes as well. I am very happy to hear that the team and Ms. Inoka have made you holiday a memorable one, our team is always happy to assist where needed. We hope that you will be able to visit us again and look forward to having you stay with us once more on your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

1st of all its not Centara anymore its re branded as "Amaya beach"

Sadly had only 1 day at the hotel. Extremely happy with the service and the friendly staff. Nice and spacious rooms with a breath taking view of the see. Food was excellent.

We organized a gathering for some of our top clients who had a memorable experience with an out door dinner. Staff was very flexible in accommodating our requests even at the last minute.

Recommend this hotel specially for travelers who are seeking a relaxing & clam stay. Ideal for a romantic honey moon too. Hope to visit again soon for a longer stya

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurancem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Laurancem,

Yes you are correct, it has been re-branded as Amaya Beach, nevertheless we thank you for the time taken to give us feedback on your recent holiday at the resort. Even though your stay was short I am happy that you were able to experience the services, facilities, food variety and that the team has taken efforts to make your event a success. We are happy to hear that this experience has encouraged you to visit us once again for a longer stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent two nights at Centara / Amaya Beach Last week. Rooms were spacious and modern. Most importantly clean. Our reservation was on half board basis. I'm glad that we did not get full board. Food was so scrumptious that after a healthy breakfast you won't find space for lunch buffet. Yummy cocktails and friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed their dinner buffet as well.Fresh sea food and the selection was great. Loads of activities in and around the hotel for all age groups. It was my boyfriends birthday and with short notice they arranged a cake for him.
Spa is a must try. We thoroughly enjoyed the massage for couples.

I only have one request for the management though.. It will be great if you can provide brewed coffee at least during breakfast.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms get a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiyara8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Amaya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Kiyara,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent holiday with us.
I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the spacious room, as well as the variety of food and beverages we offer as well as the spa. it is good to hear that you have been able to experience the many activities available in the resort as well as outside. Our team is always happy to assist with any last minute requests such as the birthday cake for your boyfriend, we are happy that he was able to spend this day in the resort. With regards to the brewed coffee we do have a good Italian coffee/espresso available in the resort however it is at an additional charge.
I trust that we will be able to visit Passikudah again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back when you do so.

Kind regards,

Michael Armstrong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.6 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 13 in Kalkudah
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Kalkudah
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 13 in Kalkudah
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#6 of 13 in Kalkudah
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Beach

Address: | National Holiday Resort, Passikudah, Kalkudah 30000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Centara Passikudah Resort & Spa Srilanka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range: $130 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaya Beach Passikudah Resort & Spa Sri Lanka is set next to the beach at Passikudah Bay, a long stretch of coastline renowned for its calm and shallow waters, ideal for swimming and water sports. Besides relaxing on the tranquil beach you will enjoy a wide range of facilities and activities including a large swimming pool, water sports and an award-winning spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaya Beach Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing