We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully designed hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Uga Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uga Bay
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Visited almost all the hotels in the area but Uga Bay stands out by far, due to the spacious design. Many other hotels in Passikudah feel quite cramped up and the rooms are too close together.

At Uga, the rooms are nice and comfy. The cuisine is delicious. Had all three meals there including some rooms service. Staff are very friendly and always smiling - something very pleasing to any guest there.

Their soon to open SPA is in a well designed location - under the swimming pool with portholes looking into the ocean.

Room Tip: If your with a big group their suites are value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAmerasinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    151
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
280
275
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was my second stay at Uga Bay, having stayed here in July last year. I brought 3 other families along. Service is excellent, staff are friendly and attentive from the moment you arrive and do all they can to make their guests feel special. While the bay with it's soft white sand and the pool are the real reasons I came back to Passikudah, I will continue to stay at Uga Bay because of their service. The front desk manager was friendly and knowledgeable, the sous chef who deputising as the head chef was away tried to accommodate the many requests from our large group and the guy who does the jet ski rides was a delightful, warm person who even brought cricket gear and soccer balls for us to play with.

There are hotels you just go to stay at and some rare ones you go to receive an experience. Uga Bay falls in to the latter category. Keep it up!

Room Tip: Any room with a direct view of the Bay are great to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Inspite of the long drive from Colombo to get here, it was worth it !! Fantastic beach,and so peaceful (something that is getting harder to find)- so hope they keep it like this! The rooms were big and well equipped, with extra bed, and we loved the fact they did not do boring buffets ( with our kids, we find it easier to order a'la carte as they hardly eat anything from buffets) - hats off to the chef for some amazing meals, beautifully presented (and so nice that the Sri Lankan breakfast is available if you want - so many places ask you to order a day in advance). The service was great, and loved the little details, like the frozen juice shots served by a very atttentive, service minded beach bar guy! Every one was very helpful and attentive, and they made some great cocktails!! Also allowed us to bring out own wine, and only charged Rs 200 for the wine cooler! A couple of suggestions - improve lighting in the rooms and bathrooms, provide clothesline to hang swimwear to dry ( in bathroom or balcony). Otherwise, a perfect stay in every way- we are already booking our trip for the same time next year!!! Think we will then try a for room nearer the beach for the view, as the one we had now on the top floor had trees in the way.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabinalarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Uga Bay from Feb 23rd to March 17th and were really sad to leave as we had the most relaxing holiday of our lives so far. The food and restaurant staff could not be faulted, the fact it was all freshly cooked to your requirements is a BIG plus and it all tasted delicious. The breakfasts were amazing even after 3 weeks!.
The pool area and beach were always kept very clean and liked the little touches of bringing us fresh smoothies, fruit sticks and cooled face towels through the heat of the day. The sand was brilliant so soft and great for long walks along beach to Elephant rock and beyond. Nice to see the fishermen landing their catch in the mornings .
Had great fun playing beach volleyball with the staff from the hotel, great to see all the staff taking part, from management to cleaners.
Our room was room 16, lower level and had a lovely view of the beach and gardens with access straight out to pool or beach we didn't even need shoes!! it was heaven.It was always kept spotless, was very spaceous, and nicely decorated the only fault with the whole place was the noise from the room above as you could hear people walking about all the time.
The gardens were also lovely and very well maintained and the whole layout was well designed, we walked along the beach both ways and this was by far the best hotel in the area.
We would just like to say a VERY BIG THANKYOU to all the staff at the hotel for making our holiday so special, you are all doing a great job so keep up the good work and hope to see you in the future.

Room Tip: Although we had noise from upstairs, I would still recommend the lower level due to the easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The place is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have ever visited. Service is excellent and food is awesome. Staff is very friendly. The beach and the atmosphere is maintained very clean.

Room Tip: Choosing rooms in ground has more quick access to the beach and the pool, but upstairs are having ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manuja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Me & my husband went to UGA Bay recently. We had a wonderful experience there. The crew was wonderful and friendly. and it gives you a kind of feeling that you belong there. Mr. Roshan(FOM), Mr. Hafi(GRE), And ever cheerful Manjula(Life guard) are few people, you should meet without a miss. And the other crew members were the same. Rooms were clean & service was superb. There's this Clean beach you can die for.

Food & Desserts are tasty. Don't miss chef's tiramisu. If you are a local and have issues with salt and spices you should ask them right away to make it bit spicy. They'll do it without a fuss. You should try BBQ Saturday. we were lucky to experience that.

You can try snorkeling and jet skiing for affordable rates. Best time is morning for both activities. there's a book shelf in the front office which you can borrow and read during your visit. + there's a movie library too. But I don't think you'll ever watch or read with the breathtaking view in-front of you.

And for traveling, from Fort to Uga Bay: best way is train. You can book round trip tickets before hand like we did. There's a intercity train and a fast normal train in the morning Fort to Batticoloa.

You shouldn't miss the sun rise and the sunset in a boat or a jet-ski, which hotel will arrange, on your request.

Breeze keep you sane under the scorching sun. with balcony open in your room, u can do without A/C. Rooms, pool, restaurant, everything has enormous space. it's wide spread.

It seems like gym can get use to humans though. :D It seems nobody using it 'cause of the wide calm beach. Anyhow we ended up having the best ever trip we had so far. It was a new experience. And we are planning to go & visit soon again. We will never get enough of that. If you are wishing to see this place ever, which you should, I hope you'll have the same best experience, we had. Good Luck!

Room Tip: go for ocean view rooms to get the cute private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryDanansooriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

this place is very quite and beautiful. it is just like a castle and out-space heaven.
the food is not buffet, the guest can order as they like. very good Chief and food, and the quantity is to much for us and variety is rich to choose. though as we are a group, we cannot finish all the provided food.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful, one of our friends was sick, they helped ask for a doctor and solve this problem.

we stay in a short three days, and cannot experience all the fun there. hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#5 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
0.2 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#6 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Bay

Property: Uga Bay
Address: Coconut Board Road, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Pasikudha Bay famous for its gentle swell across one of Sri Lanka’s shallowest beach where guests can walk waist- deep to the edge of the coral reef. Turquoise waves gently break their long stroll over coral reefs as it caress the powdery white sands warmed by the sun, sitting at the centre is Uga Bay the 46 Studios built in a cluster style brimming with vibrant energy, offering its guests a memorable ocean vacation. The accommodation at Uga Bay is unique in many ways. Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Passikudha Bay comprises of 46 spacious 500 square foot rooms, a Bay Suite and a Beach Chalet. The architecture is contemporary tropical fused with a Mediterranean theme set amidst swaying palms. Each cluster features two Beach View Studios upstairs and two Studios on ground level with direct access to the beach. All studios offer breathtaking views of the tranquil Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uga Bay Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing