We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking hotel in an awesome location!”
Review of Uga Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uga Bay
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel resort is situated on a quiet sandy beach with stunning views of the bay. We stayed in a beachfront room with views directly out across the beach which was wonderful and this was complemented by the high-spec fittings of the room itself. The hotel can boast a relaxing and indulgent atmosphere and the highly professional staff team are on had to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. We stayed on a half-board basis with a buffet on offer for breakfast and dinner. It would be fair to say that if you are a vegetarian the options available may be limited at dinner, but there is always an a la carte selection for you to consider. Overall, this resort offers a high quality hospitality product. We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colombopk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Uga Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 811 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and our 13 year old son stayed for 6 nights and we all loved it. The rooms are very luxurious and comfortable with lots of great features including large screen tv and iphone charger. The setting is amazing with a beautiful pool and beach. The staff are exceptionally attentive and striving for perfection. The food was varied and high quality. It was very quiet when we were there and great for relaxation. The only down side is the Spa was not up and running as this is a relatively new hotel however we used the spa facilities in the hotel next door.
The staff make this a special hotel as they are all very caring, attentive and want you to enjoy your stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and worth the travel from Colombo. Probably best to combine it with sight seeing and take two days to get there and back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed 5 days with kids age 10, 13 at uga bay. The hotel is tranquil, beautifuly structured with huge rooms, very nice beach and pool area.definetly the best hotel in this area. The main issue to consider is the isolated location of this area: Only few hotels around and nothing else besides that... no restorants, no activities (besids some sea activities), no shops, no attractions. So if you want a very quite and isolated vacation this is a perfect location for you. Also, we understand that as of next week a direct flights are planned to baticulla so it will be easier to arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a great holiday. We had a long trip around the country and the cultural triangle and stopped at Uga bay to get a few good days on the beach and to relax before we set off for Colombo. Roshan and his staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome and special from the moment we arrived. Uga is a very tastefully done resort and our room was very well designed to capture the best view of the ocean and the manicured garden. The food was truly indulgent and all in all if was a perfect stay. I would also like to add that the beach right in front of the resort is simply perfect and Overall I feel it is the best property on this stretch of beach. I have no hesitation in recommending Uga Bay and will certainly look forward to visiting on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinLaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Uga Bay in May for 5 nights as part of a two week trip around Sri Lanka with Red Dot Tours. We'd planned this part of our trip as a real wind down experience after 10 days on the road, and it really delivered. We had some reservations about booking on the East coast, and the landscape on the drive out of Polonnaruwa does still bear some of the scars of the civil war, but the road is new, and echoes the sense of renewed hope and ambition in the East.

Uga Bay is one a small number of small/mid sized resorts on the beach at Passekudah, and there are signs that there will be a few more springing up in the not too distant future. It is a beautiful bay; quiet and calm, but with enough life (from locals and tourists alike) to give it a sense of atmosphere.

Although there are 40+ rooms at Uga Bay when we arrived there were only 11 guests. During our stay it maxed out at about 40 people. The rooms and grounds are well laid out, with good space between and by far the most generous and attractive gardens of the resorts on the bay, so it never felt in the least bit crowded.

Our room (I can't recall the number but it was an upstairs room set back from the beach near the main resort buildings) was spotless on our arrival. A large, comfortable bed, spacious room, very clean and well appointed bathroom, and lovely balcony with great deck-style chairs for relaxing/reading. The aircon was much quieter than in some other hotels we'd stayed in too. It made a great first impression, and was kept in great nick by the room staff throughout our stay.

The staff really looked after us the whole time we were there. In particular the restaurant staff were really attentive and so eager to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed. They were clearly a young team, and at times the service sacrificed polish for enthusiasm, but it was done with such charm that we were really won over. Pool side service was very welcome, and I even got an ice bucket for my beer one lazy lunchtime.

The food was excellent. An enormous, perhaps even overly generous, breakfast was a great start to the day, and the Uga Bay breakfast juice was delicious. The menu at lunch and dinner was varied and offered a good mix of Sri Lankan and international choices. Again, the rice and curry was very generous, with a brilliant array of side dishes to have with beautifully cooked prawn or fish curries. The chef was keen to introduce himself too, and came out to the dining room to greet new guests and check everything was okay. As we were there for 5 nights we popped next door to Maalu Maalu one night to see what the competition was like. And while MM was good, it didn't match Uga Bay for decor, staff, cooking or presentation, so we felt pleased we'd chosen Uga Bay over MM. On our last night we were given a complimentary glass of champagne to start, which was a wonderful surprise, and then, at the end of the meal we were told that the whole meal was on the house. Needless to say we were quite touched, and staff got a generous tip that night!

5 nights flew by in real comfort and indulgence. Yes UB is a bit more expensive than some other good hotels in Sri Lanka, but we felt that it was the worth every penny/rupee. The staff are a credit to the management, and while the beach is mindblowing in it's tranquil beauty, and the resort and rooms very considered and well laid out, it really was the staff that made our experience so special. If you want Parisian precision in your service, go to Paris. If you want Sri Lankan warmth, go to Uga Bay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have better views, and the balconies offer a little more privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan33295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed - me, my wife and 16 and 19 year old boys - for 4 nights and we all loved it. Great rooms, beautiful beach and sea, great breakfasts and food. Having read that food was overpriced we were pleasantly surprised to find most dishes between £4 and £10. Given this is a 5 star hotel we thought food prices very reasonable. Staff friendly and service good. This was part of a very active holiday and so we were very happy to chill out but if you were looking for lots to do on site this might not be the place. However, overall would happily recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful place but it would want to be for the high price it is charging . The staff were lovely and friendly but absolutely disorganised and at 1200 rupees plus taxes for a vodka & fresh lime soda which never came out right was too much . Food quality as you would expect from a 5 star hotel but again overpriced . There is nothing much to do here apart from relaxing so 2 -3 days max is all you need .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#6 of 13 in Kalkudah
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Kalkudah
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#8 of 13 in Kalkudah
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Bay

Address: Coconut Board Road, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range: $125 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Pasikudha Bay famous for its gentle swell across one of Sri Lanka’s shallowest beach where guests can walk waist- deep to the edge of the coral reef. Turquoise waves gently break their long stroll over coral reefs as it caress the powdery white sands warmed by the sun, sitting at the centre is Uga Bay the 46 Studios built in a cluster style brimming with vibrant energy, offering its guests a memorable ocean vacation. The accommodation at Uga Bay is unique in many ways. Located along the beachfront and set just meters from the pristine beaches of the stunning Passikudha Bay comprises of 46 spacious 500 square foot rooms, a Bay Suite and a Beach Chalet. The architecture is contemporary tropical fused with a Mediterranean theme set amidst swaying palms. Each cluster features two Beach View Studios upstairs and two Studios on ground level offering breathtaking views of the palm fringed garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Uga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uga Bay Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing