We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a quiet beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a quiet beach holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I think now might be the time to visit Passikudah: there are a number of new hotels and resorts under construction along the beach, yet our stay at Amethyst was perfectly peaceful and relaxed. The place is not yet crowded, partly due to the long drive from the airport and partly as it is all only just opening up again after the tsunami and past troubles, and the beach is quiet - you are unlikely to be pestered by passersby - and if snorkelling it's worth the walk to the left up the beach to where the fishing boats are drawn up, as there is an area of coral reef just offshore. There is a dive and water sports centre at the next hotel along. Amethyst itself was smart, the accommodation was good and the the staff were very friendly and helpful. Highlights were the basking crocodiles beyond the river fences and the ridiculously strong (and cheap!) stout at the bar. The pool has water polo nets and ball, which was good fun. Only complaint was the smell of drains in our bathroom; they could do with having a bottle of bleach poured down them!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RedJimNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind and detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are sure travelers will find this very useful and appreciate you taking the time off to put down your comments. We have made note of your suggestions as well and will take necessary measures to make improvements wherever necessary. Thank you again and have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    109
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
125
76
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Paradise location right on passikudah bay - on the best piece of beach. Rooms are all little beach bungalows which are lovely! Modern nicely decorated rooms with all facilities, TV wifi tea coffee etc. fab aircon, big bathroom. Rooms were cleaned/replenished twice a day which we thought was great as some Sri Lanka hotels don't clean rooms once for the duration of stay. Staff were always friendly and polite and also eager to help. The pool was excellent but a shame that the jacuzzi wasn't working. The restaurant and all meals were fabulous but the food (especially the evening buffet) was far too expensive. The buffet was 2500 rupees, the most expensive (by far) of any hotels in Sri Lanka we've stayed in. Gym and spa are currently being built, would have been nice to have access to this facility. HUGE resident crocodile in the lagoon/river running through the resort, this was right up on the bank at one point which was fascinating to see!! Price per night could be a tad cheaper. Would recommend amethyst and would return.

Room Tip: River bungalow is cheaper and no worse because you are only metres from the ocean whichever room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for you kind and detailed review of us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all your kind comments and have made note of all your suggestions. We will do our best to improve the areas in question to make it more beneficial and enjoyable for all our guests. We do look forward to having you back soon! Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Quite a low-key resort. Some of the staff are friendly and helpful, others don't seem to get the need for being welcoming to guests. The resort is beautifully located right on the beautiful beach. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom quite huge really - all very tastefully decorated and clean. The bar - the Barrel - is a lovely space and serves great cocktails - so cheap! The drawback in the bar is a huge screen with cartoons playing loudly, which completely wrecked the ambience as far as we were concerned. We haven't been particularly impressed by the food, although dinner was ok. Another off- putting factor for us is that there are 'important' people staying here at the same time, including the chairman of the resort. Staff hover over these people, serving them at the expense of the rest of the guests. Understandable perhaps but irritating nonetheless. There is no outdoor dining and few other options in the local area.

Room Tip: The rooms immediately facing the beach have the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your kind comments as well as suggestions and will do our best to make necessary improvements to benefit our guests. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and will take necessary measures to rectify them. We do hope you will visit us again and we look forward to having you back soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Amethyst resort is a nice place to stay, comfortable, rooms itself are a little tired but pleasant staff with a warm welcome. Buffet was of a good quality and variety of food was provided. Wifi only available in reception, not in the rooms itself. Beach was beatif and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Rooms were comfortable and bathrooms very spacious. We had interconnecting rooms which was very convenient traveling with family. The highlight of the resort is the large pool set in the middle of the resort with a view out to the beach. The resort also has a large lake which is crossed by a foot bridge to get to the rooms. All in all, very picturesque.
We stayed two nights and the only hiccup was breakfast on the first morning: they didn't seem to be prepared and it was a bit confusing as to what was available. This changed the next morning and a buffet breakfast was provided.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms near the pool would be an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review on Amethyst Resort! We apologise about the confusion on your booked basis and hope it was rectified accordingly. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel though and look forward to welcoming you once again!

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel was a bit of a surprise for us..we did not expect it to be one of the best in the area, however, the place was really nice.the rooms were spacious, elegant with large bathrooms..Pasikudah is hot..and extremely hot, we could only get out of the room after 4..and once you did it was fantastic..overall, value for money!

Room Tip: Don't get fooled by the "River View" rooms..there is no river but a small man made lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalindadef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear lalindadef,

Thanking for taking the time out to review us! We appreciate your kind comments and will pass it on to the rest of the staff! We hope you enjoyed your stay and that you'll come visit us again!

Have a pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Food was delicious. Lot of varieties.Pool also good. Only drawback is, rooms were like complex for me. Not enough space though. Other than that, everything was superb. I would like to re-visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fazeeha M, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Kasun R,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.4 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#5 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#4 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#6 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Resort - Passikudah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Resort - Passikudah

Property: Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Address: Coconut Cultivation Development Board Rd, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kalkudah
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amethyst Resort - Passikudah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The undisturbed, pristine coastline, with golden sands and clear blue waters form the beautiful region of Passikudah. Google Maps calls it one the prettiest beaches in the world. Situated about 28km North of Batticaloa town, in the Batticaloa District, of the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka, Passikudah is an approximate 5 hour journey from the Capital, Colombo. The Bay of Passikudah is a crescent-moon shaped inlet of shallow water. The bay is flat and sandy; and provides a very soothing effect on the feet. Its panoramic views and clear, cool waters, ideal for swimming has made it a much adored destination by holiday makers. The amazing tranquility of the beach lends itself beautifully for moments of blissful solitude, with gentle waters lapping at your feet. For more adventurous vacationers, the 4km-long wide and sunny beach provides a great location for bathing, windsurfing and water skiing. Nature lovers will be pleased to find that the bay comprises of a shallow fringing coral reef towards the outer bay with scattered coral communities within. A hotel by the ocean’s edge, a hotel by the banks of a rippling stream, a hotel amidst lush tropical greenery and mangroves… Amethyst resort encompasses all these comforts rolled into one, to offer you the perfect retreat. Immaculate, untouched beaches bordering the beautiful Bay of Passikudha provide the setting for this luxurious holiday destination we call Amethyst resort. Set on 10 acres of the bay, this beautiful coastal gem is a 97 room hotel, facing possibly the most beautiful beaches the island has to offer. Amethyst resort’s uniqueness is emphasized by a beautiful flowing stream running through it; adorned with lush greenery and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amethyst Resort - Passikudah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing