We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise by the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Paradise by the ocean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on 13th & 14th of October 2012. Impressed by the pictures in the web site, the scene was amazingly beautiful & felt that photographer hasn't done the justice . Poolside was the biggest attraction for me. Large, warm & with a perfect view of the stunning beach, you will easily spend hours in the pool.
We were on a bulk booking & the whole resort was ours except few rooms. Rooms are spacious, well equipped & well kept, nice & large bathrooms were supplied with hot & cold water.
Food wasn't great to our expectations;, but never felt hungry during the stay  , may be more sea foods would have done the trick. Extended services outside the restaurant need to be improved. Cold bar by the pool looked abandoned .
Most memorable thing happen when one of our team members lost her gold necklace (Worth over LKR60,000) due to her complete negligence. Mr.Amitha Suranga , who is a member of the hotel staff , was such a gentleman to found the lost necklace & return safely to the owner. We greatly appreciate such qualities of the hotel staff which proves that they have hired best of Sri Lankan Genuineness.
Beach was very calm; you will never feel that you are sleeping by the sea except the distance splashes. Swimming in the beach is safe even for kids. Really hot in the day time, Can spend hours easily in the water.
We got to know that they are planning on an expansion & hope these minor things also will be sorted out soon as we believe that it is the best location in “Pasikuda” gifted with lot more capabilities by the nature itself,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niroshan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    109
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
125
76
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Lavinia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Rooms and toilets are clean. Rooms are spacious and relatively elegant. Bar is exceptionally beautiful and the pool is big and fine.

Stream view rooms have a nice view. The stream is not inhabited by many aquatic birds, but there are beautiful crocodiles which is a nice attraction.

Staff is very nice & very helpful, but sometimes the services are slow.

However, food is not that great when compared with other beach hotels in Sri Lanka. Not much sea food and variety is available as mentioned by some earlier reviewers too. Also there were 2 occasions where our meals had some human hair pieces (Resident F & B Manager gave his apology when this was brought to his notice). Therefore, food quality assurance and quality control requires a lot of improvement.

Beach is getting polluted due to the locals dumping their plastic material such as yoghurt cups and bottles and even beer cans. This should be looked into by the Sri Lankan authorities (CCD, CEA, SLTDA) with the support of the Hoteliers in Passikudah Area

Room Tip: Stream view rooms seems to have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanilMountLavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Technically, this hotel has everything. A beach, pool, nice food and clean rooms. But it (still) misses a hint of atmosphere; there's hardly any decoration or vegetation. Dining goes in a concrete hall and the rooms are placed in rows like an army camp. I'm very sure it will look better in time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaanVermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed ay Amethyst with family in July. Location is just... wow! It was the season and the sea a calm, warm pool. The hotel has got one of the best spots on the tourist stretch of Pasikudah, but the product needs work. Rooms were spacious but lacked finishing touches, bathrooms were very warm during the day for lack of air circulation and there was a smell from the drains or sewers outside the rooms. From the outside, the detached roooms look like low-cost housing units rather than beach resort cabins. Food was particularly appaling. The first night was a disaster with just a rice and curry menu, and nothing appropriate for the kids. When we complained, there was marginal improvement of the second day's buffet spread. Still the hotel needs a professional kitchen team. The bar area was unexpectedly nice. Daytime is suffocatingly hot, so the property needs more trees and areas for family activity. We waited forever for luggage to be brought to the car due to staff and trolley shortage.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea frontage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tharuka d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Walking into the Amethyst Resort is a lovely surprise. You find yourself in a huge open airy lobby and your eye is immediately drawn across a bridge over a lagoon to an huge pool and the beach and sea beyond.
The rooms are lovely - large airy and spacious with every mod con with the exception of Wifi.
The bar was big and atmospheric ( though the dart board leave much to be desired- as it is so dry the darts will not stick in it).
The food is good, very tasty and beautifully presented -though the staff stand just a little too close in an attempt to be attentive which is a little off-putting.
The grounds have yet to be fully landscaped and there is a large expanse of sand between the pool and the beach which would be better grassed over. There is a fence between you and the beach with a guard by the gate to let you through to the beach and stop anyone else onto the hotel property.
The beach is lovely and the swimming very safe if not rather shallow. However we did find that as two women swimming (in very conservative swimwear) we soon had a male audience who either swam near us or sat on the beach watching. Harmless but unnerving!
Considering the price we paid I thought it was good value for money, well designed, with friendly staff and very good food. I would stay there again and it is much cheaper than the hotel next door - Malu Malu -which while it looked lovely appeared more cramped.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripping_Al0ng, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel. I'd like to apologize for the drawbacks you had mentioned and we appreciate you bringing it to our notice. We consider your feedback vital in order to improve and provide the desired service.We shall look into it and try to implement appropriate solutions as best we can.

We are so glad that you seem to have had a good stay however and I do hope you'll visit us again soon! Again, thanks so much for taking the time out to add a review on TripAdvisor. Have a pleasant day!

Thanks and kind regards,
Fazeeha Miskin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

All round good hotel, particularly staff make a lot of effort to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. However, it is very new and still lacks some attention to detail. The hotel also has some design problems, bathrooms are impressively huge but have tiny windows which do not air the bathrooms properly, leading them to smell damp and feel like an oven.

There is no shade at all (so option are pool and room), there are not enough umbrellas. Food is good but almost always the same which would get boring after a few days. The biggest problem was the noise from the beach, there were lots of people with trumpets, ice cream vans and motor boats, which created an unbearable amount of noise that one cannot hide from in the room. We wanted a quiet holiday, but this seemed impossible.

Lovely hotel with a lot of potential, just not there yet. We still wish it all the best for its future and may visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the restaurant are quieter, but do not have such a nice view, whilst ocean view chalets...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripping_Al0ng, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear jai8_London,

Thanks for taking the time out to review us and providing us with constructive criticism. We shall do our very best to take your observations into consideration and rectify as best we can.

I'm sorry for all the setbacks you mentioned that might have caused your holiday to be less than pleasant. Of course some of it is beyond our control. But I do apologize for the inconveniences you had to face.

We do hope you'll consider visiting us again. And we hope you did enjoy stay.

Thanks for your feedback!

Kind regards,
Fazeeha Miskin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We visited Sri lnaka from Canada and stayed at Amathyst Resort for two nights and the experience was very pleasent. Initially I was a bit hesitant becuase the hotel was new and not very many reviews to refer to.
Location is superb and very spaceous, clean and well kept. We stayed at a ocean view cottage and the views through the window was splendid.
Very friendly and well trained staff. Food was very good and was presented very well.
Kids loved the pool and it is much bigger and prettier than the "more established resort" in the same area.
Rates were much cheaper than the other "well known reosrt" in the area having spoken to people who stayed at that resort what you get at the Amathyst is almost the same.
Stay at Amathyst.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripping_Al0ng, Public Relations Manager at Amethyst Resort - Passikudah, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi Chetiya,

Thanks so much for the review. Yes you're right unfortunately we don't have many reviews on here. So glad that that seems to be changing slowly! I'm so pleased that you had a good stay. Please do come visit us again soon. And thanks for taking the time out to review us here and add pictures too.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.4 mi away
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#5 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#6 of 12 in Kalkudah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Resort - Passikudah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Resort - Passikudah

Property: Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Address: Coconut Cultivation Development Board Rd, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kalkudah
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amethyst Resort - Passikudah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The undisturbed, pristine coastline, with golden sands and clear blue waters form the beautiful region of Passikudah. Google Maps calls it one the prettiest beaches in the world. Situated about 28km North of Batticaloa town, in the Batticaloa District, of the Eastern Province of Sri Lanka, Passikudah is an approximate 5 hour journey from the Capital, Colombo. The Bay of Passikudah is a crescent-moon shaped inlet of shallow water. The bay is flat and sandy; and provides a very soothing effect on the feet. Its panoramic views and clear, cool waters, ideal for swimming has made it a much adored destination by holiday makers. The amazing tranquility of the beach lends itself beautifully for moments of blissful solitude, with gentle waters lapping at your feet. For more adventurous vacationers, the 4km-long wide and sunny beach provides a great location for bathing, windsurfing and water skiing. Nature lovers will be pleased to find that the bay comprises of a shallow fringing coral reef towards the outer bay with scattered coral communities within. A hotel by the ocean’s edge, a hotel by the banks of a rippling stream, a hotel amidst lush tropical greenery and mangroves… Amethyst resort encompasses all these comforts rolled into one, to offer you the perfect retreat. Immaculate, untouched beaches bordering the beautiful Bay of Passikudha provide the setting for this luxurious holiday destination we call Amethyst resort. Set on 10 acres of the bay, this beautiful coastal gem is a 97 room hotel, facing possibly the most beautiful beaches the island has to offer. Amethyst resort’s uniqueness is emphasized by a beautiful flowing stream running through it; adorned with lush greenery and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amethyst Resort - Passikudah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing