We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with different architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
colombo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with different architecture”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

we wisited maalu maalu hotel during august and september 3 times and i must say it was a nice expierience to stay there. original idea of the architecture seems like re building a Fisshing village like look. Its very hot during the day time in this part of the country. we had a good choce in the buffet but the taste was not that great to me . but not bad for sure. nice pool with lights in the floor looks beautiful in the night. rooms are spacious and bath room is as large as living area.since a newly build hottel cant complain about rooms, very clean, good AC, etc... at the end i can say its worth for the money........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalikakarunaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    195
    58
    20
    15
See reviews for
298
306
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We visited Maalu Maalu with three adults and two children. The hotel is new and in perfect condition. The pool and beach are beautiful and extremely clean. Keep in mind that during June to August the sea is very calm on the east coast of Sri Lanka and at Christmas time, the sea is a little rough. It is the opposite for the west coast of Sri Lanka.

I loved the pool and the beach but my favorite thing at this hotel was the lunch. They had the best spicy Sri Lankan crab curry I have ever had on the lunch buffet every day, I sat there and ate it for hours. I can't get that in the USA so I did not care what anyone thought of my appetite.

There is really nothing else to do outside of this hotel so if you are looking for a lot of nightlife in the evening, this probably is not the place for you. They have a small nightclub and bar which is nice.

If you enjoy a quiet atmosphere, relaxing, swimming and eating, then this is the place for you.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Lankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

our third visit to Sri Lanka and our first to theeast coast since the war ended. This is a place of sheer indulgence, Great food great beach and excellent accommodation. If you want night life it isnt here yet but based on the ajacent building projects if you want peace and quiet and a great tan go now. The president visited to open the hotel next door whilst we were there and we were offered a chance to meet him and take lunch, however we had a safari booked so no competition.MALU MALU needs to be experianced before Sri Lanka looses its uniqueness and becomes just another tourist destination.

Room Tip: They are all chalet type ground floor adjacent to pool is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was of high quality. Rooms are new and comfortable. Service was good.
The beach was not that beautiful as you expect. Lot of algae are present and of muddy colour. The beach at Trincomalee is so much better.
Once you come to this hotel there are no other places to visit. So I recommend to stay here for one night only. You get bored after that.
The hotel premises is so small.
And one other deficiency I noticed is that some of the staff is not proffesionals.
But overall it was a nice one of a kind hotel even though the rates were sky high.
I would recommend it to my friends (and enemies too due to the price)

Room Tip: Rooms with panoramic view are the best. Facing the beach. with attic. 2 double beds (one in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roshithaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Passikudha has one of the most beautiful stretch of beaches in Sri Lanka. It a very relaxing place for a holiday & most of the chalets at Hotel Maalu Maalu have a very good view of the sea. The rooms are clean with basic amenities - not luxury.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. The Restaurant staff is also very helpful & goes out of the way to accommodate any special request made. The food is good. There is a DJ performing during most nights.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPJ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good silent place..small premises..except some structural odds n price everythng else is ok.staff is friendly ,supportive,its kind of small boutique hotel resemble fisherman hut,rooms bit small comparatively,but extra large bathroom...that is unnecesorily too big.average level room,view from the balcony is v.lovely.need to concern more about mosquito problem.restaurants are small bt clean..satday nite u wil get a nc bbq.bt they prepare dinner by the beach with candle lit dinne r..bt its v.cold,foods wil get cold easily.so eat up hurry n go.good if they can make it bit covered for some extend.foods are authentic hot n spicy.very good for local taeste.bt buffet variety is less.beach is marvelous,one of best beaches in lanka..very lovely safe clean beach.pool is clean n good...check in n checkout was no delay.price rate is too high for the relative type hotel.bt recomend it as a good place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
176 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

For a hors-category boutique beach hotel we expect hors-category rooms (even the non-suite ones) and service. We did not find this at Maalu Maalu, it is far below the quality and facilities level of similarly priced places like Vil Uyana and Ulagalla (inland) or the Southwestern luxury boutique places like Fortress. Rooms are basic, with large bathroom behind the decent bedroom; the balcony can accommodate 4 persons. Dinner (set menu) is reasonable but not overtly luxurious, and only 2 options while again hors-category should have 4-5 at least. Breakfast buffet is relatively basic; due to absence of essentials like yoghurt maybe worth 3 stars. Pool however nice and large, and good spa with prices far lower than in Southwest and Kandy.
If you like Passekudah, opt for ANY of the newly opening hotels and for sure they offer more value for money than this hot-air hotel asking about double the price (we pay block/local rate!) that it is currently worth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjaya B, Director of Sales at Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
I would like to thank the reviewer for choosing Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa for their holiday …

As the management of Maalu Maalu we would like to clarify the concerns that the reviewer has on the property

Comparison with other properties - regret to point out that measures used to compare the hotels have very rare common grounds

1) Similarly Priced
As the reviewer mentioned that they booked through local rates when comparison on current FB rates of Maalu Maalu are 33% lower than the mentioned properties therefore similarly priced would be an overstatement.

2) Comparison with other luxury boutiques-
Maalu Maalu does not follow a luxury boutique concept it follow a concept of an authenticity of a simple fishing village, therefore it is very difficult to compare these two concepts

3) Room being basic compared with luxury boutique –
The concept of the hotel is to give very simple yet a charming holiday & to make our guests minds at ease as possible that is the reason as to why the room is very simple and not too Sophisticated, another will be to encourage our gust to be out of the room spend more time in the terrace or the balcony or the beach and enjoying the natural view.

We are glad that the reviewer enjoyed the dinner menu with the added extra sea food to keep the concept of the fishing village although it is mentioned yoghurt is not available on the breakfast buffet, we do have homemade yogurt along with the fruits & most of the days we serve locally made buffalo curd & lassie to give that local touch as well.

I believe above clarification clears the reviewers view Maalu Maalu as a hot-aired hotel

Wish you all the very best from Maalu Maalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 12 in Kalkudah
756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 12 in Kalkudah
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#5 of 12 in Kalkudah
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
0.1 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#6 of 12 in Kalkudah
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#7 of 12 in Kalkudah
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Property: Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Address: Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maalu Maalu our beach hotel is awaiting you with its services in the beautiful environment of Pasikudha. The hotel offers comfortable 32 Deluxe rooms, 04 Interconnecting Chalets, 08 Rooms with Attics. A swimming pool, a sauna, a massage tub and further services are available for our hotel guests who wish to relax and indulge in Ayurvedic treatments. You can feel endlessly rolling waves reflecting the blue of the sky and tipped with frothy whiteness fill the air with a salty haze that sticks to the skin and fills the ears with sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalu Maalu Resort And Spas
Maalu Maalu Hotel Kalkudah
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing