We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$90
$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Uga Bay(Kalkudah)
$266
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amaya Beach(Kalkudah)
$96
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
935 results
Traveler rating
598
225
70
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
225
70
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing villageattic roomsri lankapanoramic suitesteam roommalu maluinfinity poolhuge bathroomcrabpassekudah baythe east coastrain showerclean beachlong drivewhite sandseafoodother hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 935 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

our third visit to Sri Lanka and our first to theeast coast since the war ended. This is a place of sheer indulgence, Great food great beach and excellent accommodation. If you want night life it isnt here yet but based on the ajacent building projects if you want peace and quiet and a great tan go now. The president visited to open the hotel next door whilst we were there and we were offered a chance to meet him and take lunch, however we had a safari booked so no competition.MALU MALU needs to be experianced before Sri Lanka looses its uniqueness and becomes just another tourist destination.

Room Tip: They are all chalet type ground floor adjacent to pool is best
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was of high quality. Rooms are new and comfortable. Service was good.
The beach was not that beautiful as you expect. Lot of algae are present and of muddy colour. The beach at Trincomalee is so much better.
Once you come to this hotel there are no other places to visit. So I recommend to stay here for one night only. You get bored after that.
The hotel premises is so small.
And one other deficiency I noticed is that some of the staff is not proffesionals.
But overall it was a nice one of a kind hotel even though the rates were sky high.
I would recommend it to my friends (and enemies too due to the price)

Room Tip: Rooms with panoramic view are the best. Facing the beach. with attic. 2 double beds (one in the room and one in the attic), huge bathroom. Private swimming pool too (Shared by 2 rooms though), Costs Rs 10,000 extra
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roshithaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Passikudha has one of the most beautiful stretch of beaches in Sri Lanka. It a very relaxing place for a holiday & most of the chalets at Hotel Maalu Maalu have a very good view of the sea. The rooms are clean with basic amenities - not luxury.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. The Restaurant staff is also very helpful & goes out of the way to accommodate any special request made. The food is good. There is a DJ performing during most nights.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a good view of the sea.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPJ1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good silent place..small premises..except some structural odds n price everythng else is ok.staff is friendly ,supportive,its kind of small boutique hotel resemble fisherman hut,rooms bit small comparatively,but extra large bathroom...that is unnecesorily too big.average level room,view from the balcony is v.lovely.need to concern more about mosquito problem.restaurants are small bt clean..satday nite u wil get a nc bbq.bt they prepare dinner by the beach with candle lit dinne r..bt its v.cold,foods wil get cold easily.so eat up hurry n go.good if they can make it bit covered for some extend.foods are authentic hot n spicy.very good for local taeste.bt buffet variety is less.beach is marvelous,one of best beaches in lanka..very lovely safe clean beach.pool is clean n good...check in n checkout was no delay.price rate is too high for the relative type hotel.bt recomend it as a good place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dramendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

For a hors-category boutique beach hotel we expect hors-category rooms (even the non-suite ones) and service. We did not find this at Maalu Maalu, it is far below the quality and facilities level of similarly priced places like Vil Uyana and Ulagalla (inland) or the Southwestern luxury boutique places like Fortress. Rooms are basic, with large bathroom behind the decent bedroom; the balcony can accommodate 4 persons. Dinner (set menu) is reasonable but not overtly luxurious, and only 2 options while again hors-category should have 4-5 at least. Breakfast buffet is relatively basic; due to absence of essentials like yoghurt maybe worth 3 stars. Pool however nice and large, and good spa with prices far lower than in Southwest and Kandy.
If you like Passekudah, opt for ANY of the newly opening hotels and for sure they offer more value for money than this hot-air hotel asking about double the price (we pay block/local rate!) that it is currently worth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjaya B, Director of Sales at Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

I would like to thank the reviewer for choosing Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa for their holiday …

As the management of Maalu Maalu we would like to clarify the concerns that the reviewer has on the property

Comparison with other properties - regret to point out that measures used to compare the hotels have very rare common grounds

1) Similarly Priced
As the reviewer mentioned that they booked through local rates when comparison on current FB rates of Maalu Maalu are 33% lower than the mentioned properties therefore similarly priced would be an overstatement.

2) Comparison with other luxury boutiques-
Maalu Maalu does not follow a luxury boutique concept it follow a concept of an authenticity of a simple fishing village, therefore it is very difficult to compare these two concepts

3) Room being basic compared with luxury boutique –
The concept of the hotel is to give very simple yet a charming holiday & to make our guests minds at ease as possible that is the reason as to why the room is very simple and not too Sophisticated, another will be to encourage our gust to be out of the room spend more time in the terrace or the balcony or the beach and enjoying the natural view.

We are glad that the reviewer enjoyed the dinner menu with the added extra sea food to keep the concept of the fishing village although it is mentioned yoghurt is not available on the breakfast buffet, we do have homemade yogurt along with the fruits & most of the days we serve locally made buffalo curd & lassie to give that local touch as well.

I believe above clarification clears the reviewers view Maalu Maalu as a hot-aired hotel

Wish you all the very best from Maalu Maalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews