We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best beaches in sri lanka.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kalkudah
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“One of best beaches in sri lanka.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good silent place..small premises..except some structural odds n price everythng else is ok.staff is friendly ,supportive,its kind of small boutique hotel resemble fisherman hut,rooms bit small comparatively,but extra large bathroom...that is unnecesorily too big.average level room,view from the balcony is v.lovely.need to concern more about mosquito problem.restaurants are small bt clean..satday nite u wil get a nc bbq.bt they prepare dinner by the beach with candle lit dinne r..bt its v.cold,foods wil get cold easily.so eat up hurry n go.good if they can make it bit covered for some extend.foods are authentic hot n spicy.very good for local taeste.bt buffet variety is less.beach is marvelous,one of best beaches in lanka..very lovely safe clean beach.pool is clean n good...check in n checkout was no delay.price rate is too high for the relative type hotel.bt recomend it as a good place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    205
    64
    21
    18
See reviews for
314
313
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

For a hors-category boutique beach hotel we expect hors-category rooms (even the non-suite ones) and service. We did not find this at Maalu Maalu, it is far below the quality and facilities level of similarly priced places like Vil Uyana and Ulagalla (inland) or the Southwestern luxury boutique places like Fortress. Rooms are basic, with large bathroom behind the decent bedroom; the balcony can accommodate 4 persons. Dinner (set menu) is reasonable but not overtly luxurious, and only 2 options while again hors-category should have 4-5 at least. Breakfast buffet is relatively basic; due to absence of essentials like yoghurt maybe worth 3 stars. Pool however nice and large, and good spa with prices far lower than in Southwest and Kandy.
If you like Passekudah, opt for ANY of the newly opening hotels and for sure they offer more value for money than this hot-air hotel asking about double the price (we pay block/local rate!) that it is currently worth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjaya B, Director of Sales at Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
I would like to thank the reviewer for choosing Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa for their holiday …

As the management of Maalu Maalu we would like to clarify the concerns that the reviewer has on the property

Comparison with other properties - regret to point out that measures used to compare the hotels have very rare common grounds

1) Similarly Priced
As the reviewer mentioned that they booked through local rates when comparison on current FB rates of Maalu Maalu are 33% lower than the mentioned properties therefore similarly priced would be an overstatement.

2) Comparison with other luxury boutiques-
Maalu Maalu does not follow a luxury boutique concept it follow a concept of an authenticity of a simple fishing village, therefore it is very difficult to compare these two concepts

3) Room being basic compared with luxury boutique –
The concept of the hotel is to give very simple yet a charming holiday & to make our guests minds at ease as possible that is the reason as to why the room is very simple and not too Sophisticated, another will be to encourage our gust to be out of the room spend more time in the terrace or the balcony or the beach and enjoying the natural view.

We are glad that the reviewer enjoyed the dinner menu with the added extra sea food to keep the concept of the fishing village although it is mentioned yoghurt is not available on the breakfast buffet, we do have homemade yogurt along with the fruits & most of the days we serve locally made buffalo curd & lassie to give that local touch as well.

I believe above clarification clears the reviewers view Maalu Maalu as a hot-aired hotel

Wish you all the very best from Maalu Maalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I, along with our toddler stayed here for two nights and two days with two other families. The location is fantastic and the beach is really clean. The tranquility of the beach was the highlight of our stay, but with so many other resorts / hotels coming up nearby, I don't know whether the beach will remain so quiet and calm for much longer.
Really enjoyed the infinity pool with it's jacuzzi pumps. Rooms are small and compact, but the bathrooms are spacious.
The buffet is rather limited, but the food was tasty. My pet peeve was that when the food finished, the staff was not too quick in refilling. They tended to keep out smaller quantities, which is alright, but they should keep track of the food better and ensure that they refill a little more efficiently.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
This is a good place if you're looking for a lazy holiday of swim and sleep.

Room Tip: Easier access to the pool with downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavithra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked maalu maalu resort abou one and a half month before my travel because it was a long weekend. The management asked me to make the full payment in advance because the expected full occupancy. Therefore I booked 4 double attic rooms for 4 families and made the full payment. We reached the hotel around twelve thirty in the afternoon but the reception said the check in is at 2.00pm. Therefore asked us to have the lunch and wait till 2.00pm. We accepted that and had our lunch. At 2.00pm there was no sign of us having rooms and we went several times to front desk to ask for our rooms. Then they gave us 2 rooms. There were 8 children with us they were really tired after a long journey. The families who got the rooms had a change and went to the pool. Our children were very anxious and they wanted to go to the pool. I was very worried about the situation and asked the front desk about the rooms. The lady at the reception told me they are still making the rooms. I was not happy and asked for the manager. Mr. Sujeewa came and told me he will look into the matter. Then there was another chap who came to me and told it will take another half an hour to prepare the rooms. This was at 2.15pm. I was very unhappy about this and it was a very bad experience at the start of our stay.
What I thought was they new about the busy weekend and and full occupancy. That is why they wanted the full payment at the beginning. So they should have anticipated this and should have acted more efficiently. Other thing is they should have told me about the delay rather than waiting for me to come and ask about the rooms.
So in my opinion I rate them as very poor in efficiency and communication with their customers. I advice you to anticipate this type of delays if you are planning to visit Maalu Maalu.
You will notice their book in room say check in time is 1.00pm.
Dr. P.M.Gunaratne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Manjula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a beautiful location, beach is kept for the residents only and even cleaned of residual seaweed, infinity pool is lovely and the rooms are nice with huge bathrooms. The food is basically the same buffet each day but varies by flavor so there is a salad bar, curry options, western food, griddle and desserts. The spa treatements are lovely, only disappointment was that the free yoga was not really on as the yoga teacher was on holiday and the replacements were engaged in spa treatments. To improve the hotel they should do their own water sports as the local option was not as advertised and offer pedicures and manicures in the spa plus wifi in the rooms too. There is a disco and a karaoke option of sorts in the evening too but other than that it is all about swim, sleep, sunbathe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Full use of the beach front and is very tranquil. Considering the area that is new to good hotels, this is an excellent start. Super layout and nice little things like foot wash at room entrance, green patches to soothe the eyes from an all sand hotel, Pool Jacuzzi, Boat concept bars by the beach and many more. Bar and Restaurant located nicely casual. Difficult entrance to the Karaoke and Disco but once in you can let yourself go. Disco lighting and sound and the DJ ( Front Office Manager) is best. Would have been nice if one could see the ocean from dance floor. That would also attract more people to the disco. Staff well motivated and nice uniform concept too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Upul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The two of us went to Maalu Maalu, full board, for 2 nights, in this June. We drove from Kandy, and the direction to the Hotel was easy to find. The navigator was a help. But the last 1 km was a bit confusing - even the navigator failed. Road was good, the drive was fast and smooth ( look out for traffic cops ! ) and gives you the typical Sri Lankan dry land experience, and we went when the dry season was at it's highest,

Typical unimpressive resort hotel reception. It becomes obvious that the staff is new to the hospitality trade. Checking in took a slightely longer, but waiting at the lounge looking at the beautiful blue sea , took away all the annoyance and travel weariness.

The room was average. A bit let down compared to the price you paid for it. A wash room maybe a too large but definitely a new experience. Finding a place to keep your luggage and to hang your clothes and keep your shoes was a bit of a puzzle.

Food, lunch was super. No complaints.

The evening was heavenly. Sea, sea, and more sea. Beautiful sunset. You get into this perfect "idle mode" , and get absorbed into the lazyness and the calm of the sea.
The sunset was breathtaking.

The dinner again was tasty, with a lot of choices. I missed the prawns, maybe , not the season. In the resturant, in the night, mind the glass partition. While walking with a plate, looking for more exiting-looking spreads, its easy to walk into the glass, well I did ( fortunately, no harm done )

Desserts were simply out of this world. Probably they got a super pastry chef with a lot of creativity, and good luck to him.

The sleep was undisturbed, peaceful, and comfy.


Morning was heavenly, After a swim in the calm sea, if you want a dip in the pool, you'll be dissapointed. Even though they promise to open the pool at 7 am, it's not ready till 9 or so. A big dissappointment, if you are planning to burn off the hugh load of calories you collected previous night.

If you want a little excitement, try out the jet skeir, glass bottom boat trip and snokerling. Baticoloa town is just a hour away, and you can visit the light house, and for 3000 Rs you can have a 3 hour boat ride along the lagoon.

All in all, it was a very refreshing kind of idle holidaying whre you can charge your batteries. The room comforts are not what youd expect for the amount you pay. Even though not experienced, the junior staff and room service was very courteous, friendly and helpful. This helped us to forgive and forget the few shortcomings.

All in all we had a real HOLIDAY. We didnt DO anything other than sea-food, sea , food, and rest. I didn't even open my gadgets to browse the net because I didn't feel the need for it. You feel so relaxed , you even feel like talking softly. We didnt see anybody with loud behaviour or dancing even though their was a Calypso band playing in the beach BBQ. This is just my kind of peace.

Would I go there again ? Probably not, at this price. I think I got the feel and the soul of the place once and for all.

Would I recommend this this to you, yes, if you are my age, in fifties, if you really need a peaceful holiday away from everything, this will be a good place for you to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gamed77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjaya B, Director of Sales at Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
I would like to thank the reviewer for choosing Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa for their holiday &
many thanks as well as for this review posted on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that your stay with us was up to your satisfaction, except for the two minor set backs
and thanks for bring it to our attention.

wish you all the very best from Maalu Maalu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalkudah hotels
0.1 mi away
Uga Bay
Uga Bay
#2 of 13 in Kalkudah
791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anilana Pasikuda
Anilana Pasikuda
#4 of 13 in Kalkudah
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
Sun Aqua Pasikudah
#6 of 13 in Kalkudah
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise by Jetwing
Sunrise by Jetwing
#8 of 13 in Kalkudah
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Calm Resort & Spa
The Calm Resort & Spa
#5 of 13 in Kalkudah
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amethyst Resort - Passikudah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa

Property: Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Address: Passekudah Bay | Hotel Road, Passekudah, Kalkudah 30410, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kalkudah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalkudah
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kalkudah
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkudah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maalu Maalu our beach hotel is awaiting you with its services in the beautiful environment of Pasikudha. The hotel offers comfortable 32 Deluxe rooms, 04 Interconnecting Chalets, 08 Rooms with Attics. A swimming pool, a sauna, a massage tub and further services are available for our hotel guests who wish to relax and indulge in Ayurvedic treatments. You can feel endlessly rolling waves reflecting the blue of the sky and tipped with frothy whiteness fill the air with a salty haze that sticks to the skin and fills the ears with sound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalu Maalu Resort And Spas
Maalu Maalu Hotel Kalkudah
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Kalkudah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing