We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maalu Maalu Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Uga Bay(Kalkudah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amaya Beach(Kalkudah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveler rating
597
225
70
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
225
70
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing villageattic roomsri lankapanoramic suitesteam roommalu maluinfinity poolhuge bathroomcrabpassekudah baythe east coastrain showerclean beachlong drivewhite sandseafoodother hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 934 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this excellent resort. The hotel is very new (1 year old) and the rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated and maintained. The staff are very well trained (though a little brush of their English is highly recommended) and are eager to please the guests. The food was excellent in terms of quality and diversity and was probably the best we had in Sri Lanka. The beach is very nice though if you are looking to see corals and beautiful fish you better look for another place. While there is a small reef approximately 500 meter to the north, the water clarity is extremely limited due to the currents and therefore you will probably be disappointed.

My only negative comment is that the gym is in adequate in terms of the equipment and especially the air condition which might be sufficient for a small kid's room but definitely not for a gym!

All in all, an excellent experience – go for it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSeacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Loved Maalu Maalu's location, ambience and layout - beautiful pool and stretch of ocean and beach. The room layout was great but had the feel that this had been quickly built in an effort to maximise on its exclusive location (first hotel in what will in the future be a stretch of hotels) so I believe it would require some refurbishment to make it seem more solid. However, the bathrooms were spacious, clean and beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and huge (had the attic room). Staff were courteous and helpful. Food needs an upgrade - not bad but sub par for the price charged. Even with the completion of the other hotels I would still go back to Maalu Maalu because it retains the Maldives villa feel to its layout and not the big hotel structures that now line the west coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is excellent and the service is also of a very high standard. The beach in the area is clean and the sea is excellent for swimming probably the best place in lanka for a sea swim. The staff at the hotel are well trained and were very attentive to all our needs. There was one staff member who for four days continuously while I was in the sea he would bring me drinks from the bar every half hour, considering I spent most of the day at the beach it was excellent unexpected service. Furthermore, I think it is great that most of the hotel staff are from are the surrounding areas and it is great to see this, as people from this part of Sri Lanka have been through a great deal in the last 35 years. If I were to pick on something negative, it was the private pool which I was expecting the chalet to have. The private pool had to be shared by another chalet and hence not very private. the room tastefully decorated which also consisted for a large toilet with a Jacuzzi and rain shower. The food at the restaurant was also very tasty and offered great variety. They also have night club at the hotel so it really keeps you entertained day and night...!! A truly must visit property for beach lovers...!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great hotel. Perfect setting on quiet and unspoilt beach. 3 days was blissful as notice to do other than relax and unwind. Place feels a little like a quiet Ibiza style hangout in the evenings. Dinner on the beach tips off great days!

Service needs a little work in places

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuttlefishbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great place, great service, super beach, food needs more variety (by the third day got tired of the same menu), overall if one can afford it go for it... loved the overall experience. pasikuda rocks.

please note that there are constructions of several hotels nearby so at times can me little noisy....also it can become too hot at times so much so the room ac might not handle it specially if one gets the upstairs room.. but hotel staff will go out of there way to run the ac 24/7 :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedictsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews