We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:30 PM, 2:00 PM - 5:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience Simien Mountains National Park
from $180.00
More Info
from $200.00
More Info
from $350.00
More Info
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveler rating
1,064
167
29
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,064
167
29
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelada baboons simien mountains day trek ethiopian wolf sleeping bag grand canyon imet gogo amazing scenery his team flora and fauna park office highest peak altitude sickness days trekking warm clothes rainy season ras dashen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2017

About a two and half hours ride from Gondar took us to the breathtaking views of the Simien Mountains. We trekked through the mountains for about two hours and saw the famed monkeys and exotic birds.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Dear All,

first of all I would like to thank Dezy (Manager of Semien Mountain Trekking and Tours) for all his work. Mhh.. where should I start??

My wife and me stayed allmost ha half year in ethiopia. During that time we looked out for a tour operator, who can organise some bigger and smaller tours. After 6or7 Guides we allmost gave up, because the prices where just to high... but than we found Dezy over his webpage.

He gave us a really good prive for his services and organised everything for us. He reacted kindly on every wish or change of the iternary we wanted to have. Because of a bank issue from our side, we transferred the complete amount infront. He for his side took care of everything and we do not regret booking his agency..
Furthermore he gave us the best tipps and recommended allways special things we wouldn´t find alone. If there was a question,we gave Dezy a call and he imidiatly organised everything. It seemed like, he knows everybody in Ethiopia!
Just that you have him in the back, you can feel save and comfortable all the time!

To the places where we have been:
-Bahir Dar (wonderfull calm down city, possible to see hippos in the lake and churches on the island in Lake Tana)
- Gondar (fascinating castles in the mountains)
- semien mountains (very beautiful mountains with a lot of baboons, if you are not afraid of cold nights --- sleep in a tent!!)
- Axum (nice cultural sites)
- Hawsien (a lot rock churches on surrounding mountain tops)
- DANAKIL (WWOOOOWW!! like on another planet! expensive, but more than worth it!)
- Lalibela (again nice cultural sites)

BOOK HIM!! You will not find anyone better than him, not outside of Ethiopia and not inside! Beleave me, I was there for a long time and talked to a lot of people!

All the best,

Fabian

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Fabian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

One of the most amazing 3 days I have ever had. Our man Dani (dannumolla@gmail.com) organised everything from Gondar. Very reasonable, awesome guides and a true experience. Get in touch with him to arrange everything for you. Made it very easy.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank SamS3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

The Simien Mountains National Park, the only natural site of Ethiopia to be in the list of the UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE sites list, offer a great scenery of the beautiful Simien Mountains, and if you have three days to spend in the park, you can see the endemic mammals of Ethiopia - the Gelada Baboons, the Simien Fox or the Ethiopian Wolf, AND the Walia Ibex (a mountain goat found only in this park).

It is a great place to visit for nature lovers. Visitors can fly north to Gondar and drive 120 km farther north to get to the park. There is a daily flight from Addis Ababa to Gondar.

Visitors have to get entrance tickets, a local park guide and scouts from the town of Debark which is 100km from Gondar.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank mulukeng2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

spent 3 nights camping in the Simien Mountains - one night at Sankaber and 2 nights at Chenek - nice weather during the day and cold at night - beautiful scenery and away from all the chaos of the towns etc the place for 2 nights at Chenek had a bar (more expensive but it provided a purpose) - for walks suggest using a guide and you will also need a scout Can do this as a group or hire a guide as a couple

Cooking shelters are available which made cooking a bit easier and has to be shared on occasions

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews