We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simien Mountains National Park
Open today: 8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Simien Mountains National Park
from $185.18
More Info
from $174.36
More Info
from $7.24
More Info
from $282.06
More Info
Reviews (1,538)
Filter reviews
1,538 results
Traveler rating
1,285
190
30
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,285
190
30
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelada baboons simien mountains day trek ethiopian wolf sleeping bags grand canyon amazing scenery ras dashen his team imet gogo flora and fauna days trekking park office warm clothes rainy season l shape an amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,048 - 1,053 of 1,538 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2015

We arranged a 4 days/3 nights trek in the Simiens with Dezy. He was amazing. He arranged everything for us, from getting picked up from and to the airport, to hiring the scouts, cook, the mule men, and the guide. The food that we had in Simiens was just wonderful. If you can, hire Wondem as a cook. You won't be disappointed. The guide, Malashu, was very knowledgeable, funny, and spoke englsh very well. It was a pleasure to have him with us. This was one of the best experiences I have ever had, and it is due a lot to the wonderful crew that came with us. Thank you all!

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank Ralunicoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015

On day one you trek along the road most of the time and it's dusty and noisy so try and start on the usual second day of the trek if possible. Yes, it was very pretty but no where near as amazing as I expected. It gets very cold at night and rains so make sure you take the right gear. The treks themselves are not very difficult but it does take a little getting used to the altitude.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2015

We did a four day trek in the Simien mountains with our daughter who is working in Gondar for a few months.She had heard that Nega Setargachew of North Expedition was good and he didn't let us down! Nega provided tents which were waterproof, ample sleeping bags and blankets (it cools a lot at night) and wonderful food. We were greeted after a long days trek with tea and snacks and after the longest day chips which were very welcome.. He surprised us every day with the quality of the meals he prepared in cramped conditions. Nega even donned a chefs outfit to serve the evening meal.
Our guide was brilliant , he went out of his way to show us the amazing wildlife, so many birds, baboons and the walia Ibex and he slowed down for us oldies as we got higher.
The scenery is truly magnificent. Our scout was great too, he followed behind, very good humoured and lent a hand on the tricky bits.
The view from Buwahit the second highest peak in Ethiopia was worth the climb, beautiful.
I would definitely recommend using Nega to organise a trip, faultless!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

The scenery in the Simien Mountains is stunning, and there is also some wildlife to spot including plenty of birds and the infamous gelada baboons, some of which you can get very close to as they are used to tourists.

Our original plan was a 3 day trek camping at Geech and Cheneck (this is a more expensive route as it requires more driving, but you get to see the most impressive places in less time). Unfortunately my partner was sick so we couldn't complete our original plan, but what we did see was beautiful - the views at Imet Gogo are very dramatic. I felt that the scenery became more impressive the further you got into the park.

We arranged our trip with Gismu Syum, whose company is Ethiopia Trek and I would very happily recommend him. I've written a detailed review on the Ethiopia Trek tripadvisor page for anybody wanting further details.

Tips: Take plenty of warm clothes. If you have your own sleeping bag and roll mat then take these too for extra warmth/comfort as the ones provided by all of the tour operators seemed to be of varying quality. Bring a torch. There are some tough climbs so be prepared for these.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank NicolaJT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

I had opportunity to explore Simien Mountains in Ethiopia in February 2015.
I had arranged my trip with North Expeditions that is run by Nega Setargachew.
Highly recommend Nega...if you wish to explore the area ...you cannot go wrong with NE.
The mountains views and people along the way will provide you with memories of a lifetime....

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews