We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Danakil Depression
from $410.26
More Info
from $500.00
More Info
from $589.75
More Info
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
239
21
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
21
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt lake erta ale sulphur springs unforgettable trip day tour three days salt mining amazing place tour company hottest place on earth an amazing experience air conditioned email address below sea level simien mountains ethiopia tours night's sleep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 264 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2016

The mining is incredibly hard work and it's fascinating watching the men cut the rough slabs into perfectly shaped and uniform size slabs which are all the same weight. Extracted from the sun-blasted earth in the vast Danakil Depression.

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank saill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Danakil was amazing.....we have lived in Ethiopia and travelled extensively and Danakil is not to be missed. The conditions are rugged (as one would expect) and there is a lot of garbage en route and human/animal waste to contend with but the sights are so interesting and unique that this becomes a part of the adventure. Choose your tour leader wisely (you must take organized travel)....we used Trip Advisor for reviews and advise and were disappointed with the lack of professionalism of our well reviewed tour guide (ETT). Details in the Ethiopia forum. The heat and conditions are such that amiable and professional guides, and precision organization make a world of difference.

Date of experience: January 2016
11  Thank Outoftheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

4 day trip to the Danakil Depression. Hard to describe the incredible natural wonders you will see if you do this. Searingly hot salt plains, out-of-this-world bubbling sulphur springs and a jaw-dropping boiling volcano. Thoroughly recommend using ETT (Ethio Travel and Tours). Our guide Yohannes, driver Birhan, cook China and the rest of the team were all fantastic.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank errantelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

The hike to the top of Erta Ale was the hardest thing I've ever done! We set out at dusk because of the heat and scrabbled our way up and over uneven footing for an assent lasting about 4 hours where we found ourselves completely exhausted but elated that we'd made it to base camp. After a brief swig of water, we climbed another 10 minutes to the very rim of a roiling, splashing, live volcano!! The only words that would come repeatedly out of my mouth were Oh MY GOD. It sounded like waves crashing against cliffs but it was lava. It was worth sleeping on a 3 inch flea ridden mat under the stars with no running water in the hottest place on earth. Would I do it again? nope.

Date of experience: September 2015
4  Thank dawnkorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

It was totally gorgeous.
Of course, trekking was hard( tales mor than 3-4hours) but the result was.. Terrific!
And aki (the guide) always try to do his best. And the others, too.

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank solaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews