We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Danakil Depression
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
149
17
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
17
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt lake sulphur springs erta ale salt mining active volcano living conditions hottest place on earth days trip incredible experience two nights dead sea amazing place camel caravan intense heat ethiopia tours out of this world harsh environment
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 169 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2016

The mining is incredibly hard work and it's fascinating watching the men cut the rough slabs into perfectly shaped and uniform size slabs which are all the same weight. Extracted from the sun-blasted earth in the vast Danakil Depression.

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank saill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Danakil was amazing.....we have lived in Ethiopia and travelled extensively and Danakil is not to be missed. The conditions are rugged (as one would expect) and there is a lot of garbage en route and human/animal waste to contend with but the sights are so interesting and unique that this becomes a part of the adventure. Choose your tour leader wisely (you must take organized travel)....we used Trip Advisor for reviews and advise and were disappointed with the lack of professionalism of our well reviewed tour guide (ETT). Details in the Ethiopia forum. The heat and conditions are such that amiable and professional guides, and precision organization make a world of difference.

Date of experience: January 2016
11  Thank Outoftheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

4 day trip to the Danakil Depression. Hard to describe the incredible natural wonders you will see if you do this. Searingly hot salt plains, out-of-this-world bubbling sulphur springs and a jaw-dropping boiling volcano. Thoroughly recommend using ETT (Ethio Travel and Tours). Our guide Yohannes, driver Birhan, cook China and the rest of the team were all fantastic.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank errantelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

It is quite an effort to get it here, but more than worth the trip. Not only the vulcano which is expectionally special, but also the salt lakes (including the mining)as well as the sulfur springs are astonishing. Travelled with Ethio Travel which was fine - you do spent a lot of time in the car (the helicopter trip was just a little bit out of our budget) but what you see is well worth this time.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank alexvanandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

The hike to the top of Erta Ale was the hardest thing I've ever done! We set out at dusk because of the heat and scrabbled our way up and over uneven footing for an assent lasting about 4 hours where we found ourselves completely exhausted but elated that we'd made it to base camp. After a brief swig of water, we climbed another 10 minutes to the very rim of a roiling, splashing, live volcano!! The only words that would come repeatedly out of my mouth were Oh MY GOD. It sounded like waves crashing against cliffs but it was lava. It was worth sleeping on a 3 inch flea ridden mat under the stars with no running water in the hottest place on earth. Would I do it again? nope.

Date of experience: September 2015
4  Thank dawnkorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews