We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine greek feast”
Review of Kourmas Limeni

Kourmas Limeni
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Limeni
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The family fishtavern Kourmas located in one of the most beautiful destinations of Mani , in the traditional village of Limeni. The name is due to a coconut tree that was planted among the rocks , by a monk who lived in the monastery of Panagia Evretria or Vretti, as the locals call it, in front of the location that Kourmas is located today. You can enjoy your lunch overlooking the azure waters of the bay Limeni & the wonderful colors that the horizon creates during the sunset time or your dinner under the stars. You will be able to enjoy fresh seafood by the sea and you will find live lobsters and kolochtypes in our aquarium. We can accommodate events like Weddings , Baptisms & professional business meetings.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Genuine greek feast”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed walking down to the little town every night to have dinner at our favourite taverna - Kourmas Taverna. They offered a simple menu with whatever had been caught that day so as to guarantee that they fish were fresh. The seas were quite wild during the 3 days we stayed there so the choices were limited but there was a big tank in the restaurant with plenty of slipper lobster (which we had twice with spaghetti - amazing) and they had also caught red mullets/gavros fresh. This taverna was the only one we found that holiday to continue the tradition of yogurt me gliko after the food which we really enjoyed. All of the food was divine. The other taverna (Takis) which is much bigger and busier claimed to have lots of fresh fish - in fact every fish you could possible imagine which lead us to the conclusion that their stock is in fact frozen. It was not possible to have fished such stock in the wild seas we witnessed whilst we were there. We recommend you choose Kourmas instead of Takis - you will not be disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    67
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kourmas, limeni”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Fantastic location, great fresh seafood and attentative staff.
Try the kolochtypi with pasta!
Located in one of the prettiest spots by the it doesn't get much better than this!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michalakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish of the day as well as pasta with shrimp”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Pasta with prawns - the best
Fantastic greek style spreads and fresh fish always saves the day!
Overall it won't go over 20 euros per person depending on the fish you'll get which is definitely value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Paradise in disguise!!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is probably one of the best restaurants(tavern) i have ever eaten .Simple with a magnificent view of Limeni vilage and the bay .Ideal time for dinning during Spring -Summer, is an hour before the sunset .During the Winter is open on Weekends and the space is very cosy with a fireplace.We had lobster pasta ,probably the best i ever had,all the dishes were homemade ,the size of the them, was more than enough ,and very tasty !!! I recommend it ***** 5 out of 5

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Vakis189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
231 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Mediterranean slipper lobster spaghetti(Scyllarides latus)”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As Italians we can say to be expert on pasta and we can assure you that this is the best place in Peloponnese to taste a slipper lobster spaghetti . This special type of lobster has much more "flesh", it is sweeter than its thinner relative and much more tasting.
The restaurant has a marvellous location by the rocks and the waves and you can choose your "meal" while it is swimming in a sea water tank.
While they are cooking it you can choose some other fish"tapas" (in Greek: meze') with the chilled local white wine.
The landscape is out of this world for its wild beauty and you can get hypnotized by the colour of the sea. The Kolohtipa (the name in Greek if you want to order it properly) is ready and the spaghetti are "al dente" as they must be.
Sorry but we cannot wait anymore. Buon Appetito!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kourmas Limeni also viewed

Limeni, Laconia Region
Limeni, Laconia Region
 
Neon Oitylo, Laconia Region
 

Been to Kourmas Limeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing