We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every way - A Memorable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pirgos Mavromichali
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Limeni
Certificate of Excellence
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level Contributor
1,523 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,932 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every way - A Memorable stay!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pirgos Mavromichali shares the same name with the neighboring hotel Mavromichalai -the owners happen to be relatives. Many people get confused thinking that it is the same hotel but they are totally different in several ways.

LOCATION: It stands in the heart of the Mani peninsula at the most beautiful and picturesque harbor of Limeni. I consider it the finest location and starting point for travelers visiting the round area.

HOSPITALITY: I can describe our stay here as ‘a home away from home’. The word “Philoxenia” which in Greek means Hospitality is truly a fact. The family, proud descendants of the Mavromichalis name are warm, friendly, and in every way amazing hosts. It is something scarce nowadays and through my long travelling experience I consider it among the Top 5 in my list of hotels that truly touch the guest regarding hospitality.

STAFF/MANAGEMENT: Professionalism at its best! Throughout our stay I noticed an unparalleled level of excellent personalized service which is genuine and you can feel it. They are multilingual as well and nothing…honestly nothing is too much trouble for them. Individuals are served in the most unique way. Management and staff work on the least detail for the comfort, preference, taste and style of each and every guest and this is what makes the Team of Mavromichali so Unique.

ROOM: I can call our room a “Little Gem.” Small and picturesque but functional at the same time. It was one of the classic rooms with white-painted stone walls and a breathtaking sea view. I consider the embrasures overlooking the bay the highlight of the room. There was another one in the bathroom too. They allow fresh air and light coming in and function as air vents. Definitely one out of the three was used as a loophole to check if an enemy ship was approaching. There is a small Floor embrasure as well -the specific corner used to be the old toilet set just above rocks, and if you are lucky you can see through it the rough waves splashing against the rocks. Fishing boats keep coming and going and the view from the window is dreamy.
Fresh white linen, and a comfortable King size bed overlook the corner arch concavity where a mirror stands and right above blue light adds charm to the room. Below a kind of base, space to place anything. I found the idea clever and functional. No coffee facilities, but a small ice box, and a flat screen TV are provided.

BATHROOM: A good size tiled bathroom, a walk-in shower cabin and a rain forest shower system. Robes, slippers, hair dryer and the well-known toiletries of the Korres Brand. Towels nice and clean and were changed daily. No plastic cap for the hair though as if all hotels in the area agreed not to provide. We stayed in 5 different hotels and none of them provided any!

BREAKFAST: Served in style, and was simply heavenly. Culinary options of the local cuisine, nutrient and delicious. It had everything one needs to make the first meal of the day special, enough to fill you up for hours. Weather permitting it is served on the terrace with the sounds of waves splashing on the rocks below, the morning breeze, and breathtaking view and sounds make this first meal of the day unbeatable. –The perfect setting for relaxing holidays.

DINING ROOM: This Multi-functional room serves as a dining room with an oblong wooden table dominating the central space. Guests can dine here together on one table when weather conditions are not the best outside. It serves as a reception, a sitting room and a Congressional meeting room as well. In fact the Annual Europe Meeting of Psychotherapy was held those days and Professors and Doctors came here to participate. Two or three family photos of the Mavromichali ancestors are enlarged and made into posters and decorate the walls of this room. Its interior enjoys simplicity with touches of charm.

TERRACE: The elegant surroundings and courtyard design of the terrace is dreamy! The sound of waves lapping over the hotel give a feeling as though it is rocking above the water like a boat and it travels you. In all, you don’t want to leave the premises with these little details that with the one or the other way match with the rugged beauty of the surround area. The breathtaking view, the stunning sunsets each night, the charm and beauty of the sea as it changes color allows guests relax and enjoy the tranquility and serenity of the place. An untamed natural beauty gives the tower a fairytale-like nostalgic charm.

WIFI: Free and you have access mostly in the courtyard and dining room.

BEACH: There is a flight of stairs going down the emerald waters only a few meters from the rooms. The water is Not Ideal for very young children –only 2 meters from the stairs the water is shallow and suddenly it becomes deep.

CUISINE: I found the New Executive Chef of the cuisine George Xynos very charismatic and a talented young man –an Asset to the family!! In his free time he dives and indeed the fish-soup we had the first night as a starter and the fricassee fish dish he prepared for us was his own catch. Nicely presented, tender and simply delicious.
There is no reason to get outside the hotel to satisfy the palate. Products are fresh and local coming from the round area of Mani, the unparalleled service and dedication to detail makes every dining experience one the guest would cherish. A good idea is to let the Chef know if you plan dining indoors much earlier. The menu might not be that rich other than 3 or 4 dishes but the quality, taste, the extra care and service will be the best!

HISTORY: The harbor of Limeni played a significant role in the history of Mani with a strategic location and it was the only place in the country that had never been conquered by invaders although the rest of Greece was for years occupied by Ottoman, Frank, and Venetian forces. The emblem flag of Mani is still waving outside the hotel today to remind Greeks how important freedom is. This is how it should be. It is either Victory or Death! The story is long and interesting and there is an extended report about it in old books found in the hotel but also facts are given on the hotel’s website too.
In the course of time when the family moved to Areopolis, the family established 4 imposing tower mansions in Limeni, and this one was the so-called “Palace” which must have been the most significant. It is centuries-old tower restored structure, with history behind! The owners who are a loving family and descendants of the Mavromichali are delighted to give details of their origin and heroes of the family.

SITE-SEEING: The actual village of Oitylon on the slopes above Limeni is ideal for a jaunt. Dinner at a fish tavern at the coastal Oitylon. I recommend “O Mikros Piratis” or “Takis” at Limeni. Areopolis is ideal for an afternoon stroll offering several options of dining. I recommend “Paradosiako to Mavromichaleiko”. Don’t miss visiting Vathia, the Caves of Diros, Gerolimenas, Gythion and Cape Tenaron. These are my Top Pick. Athens is approximately 350 km from here, and just 80 km from Sparta. Gythio is only a 30 minute drive and Areopolis just 10.

IN ALL: I want to congratulate the whole team and family. Keep it up to the High Standards you are after guys!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    9
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
99
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoham, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

An exotic place. Very high end level. Beautiful private beach. The hotel owner Takis is very nice and make sure that we have enjoyed everything. We had so much fun there, the best place I have ever been in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YossiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILondon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a wonderful find, being both in the middle of nowhere and yet well positioned in the centre of the Mani, allowing exploration north, south and east. We had the Tower Room which was a very comfortable two level suite with great views and with natural air conditioning. This old tower house has been renovated with immense attention to detail with, for example, seating areas provided in the deep shade as well as the sun. The owner was in residence and looked after us personally along with his waitress and the chef who cooked us a fantastic private fish dinner on our first night. The chef had speared the fish personally the previous day. The price of the private dinner was ok, 95 euros for two including wine at 35 euros. We thought this was acceptable for a private treat involving a personally hunted fish!...and was a romantic sunset dinner at that! Breakfast was delicious, served on the terrace. The service here is terrific, the spot beautiful and best of all, direct access down steps to the sea. Not cheap, but good value we thought given the investment the family has made to turn this into a small luxury boutique hotel and their cheerful attention to your every need.

Room Tip: Try the Tower Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived to this hotel upon suggestion of Greeks frieds (P. and A.). It is simply beautiful quiet, on the sea (the music of the waves ...), small and cozy. Not much space in the rooms, but you do not stay in the room in a place like this. Direct access to the water (blue and green!) with two stairs. The mother of the owner, the owner and the son, as well as the gentle waitress and the chef just make you feel at home. Breakfast was excellent, free WiFi (sadly) worked very well. I hope to return and to find LImeni as it is in high season as well. If you like the see with rocks, quietness, to take a bath early in the morning before your breakfast and late in the evening before your dinner, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am usually reluctant to give 5 stars in a review, saving it only for exceptionally good experiences. This time, it was an easy choice. I could easily see to assign 6, 7 or 8 stars for a really perfect stay.
We stayed in the hotel for two days. Right from the moment you enter the premises you sense that it is a special place. A historic spot (the Mavromichalis family has important contribution in the local and national history and can be traced back to the middle ages), recently renovated, right on the sea. The place itself is the old family stone tower, renovated with special sense of quality and ambiance. The hotel is run by the Mavromihalis family and they are excellent in what they offer: the staff makes you feel special.
Rooms and sleep quality are superb, the sea is great but breakfast is really marvelous. Everything is freshly prepared on the spot according to your instructions!
Finally, the chef cooks limited number of excellent dishes, mainly with local ingredients. Be aware, though, that you need to book your dinner (!) in advance since the number of portions prepared daily are really limited. The result is superb and you can enjoy the dishes in the marvelous inner stone yard overlooking the sea.....
Tips:
- DO NOT miss the sunset, the light it turns the place to a fairy tale castle!
- Book as soon as possible since the number of rooms are limited and it is hard to get one....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Pirgos Mavromichali is a small boutique hotel,only thirteen double rooms and two suites,situated front of the sea.Very beautifully decorated with respect for both the area the building and the architecture.The staff manage make you feel at home.Comfortable apartments most of them looking out over the sea.The breakfast which served at your room without other cost,if you'd like is more than excellant.There is free wi fi in all the areas.Thank you for all!!!!!

Room Tip: Try the junior suite in front of the hotel.But all the rooms are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdjdimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is just beautiful, located right on the port. It was lovely to watch the fishing boats coming and going right from the window of our room. The room was very clean and well furnished although quite small for 2 people with a suitcase each. It had a loft area which may suit a family with a young child but too difficult to navigate the steep steps with a suitcase. The steps outside our room went right into the water below. No swimming pool but a large one in the sea at the foot of the stairs. The father and son who greeted us were most friendly and helpful. They were very attentive. The breakfast was served very nicely on the deck...it was delicious and so well presented. This hotel is really lovely but I might suggest slightly overpriced compared to other hotels we stayed in. However, they certainly provide good service and the location is lovely. Many thanks....still wearing the slippers provided. A nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluenosers902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limeni
0.1 mi away
Mavromichalai Hotel
Mavromichalai Hotel
#3 of 3 in Limeni
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vasilios Apartments Hotel
0.3 mi away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 2 in Areopoli
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Porto Vitilo Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Petra & Fos Boutique Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Kyrimai
Kyrimai
#1 of 2 in Gerolimenas
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirgos Mavromichali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirgos Mavromichali

Property: Pirgos Mavromichali
Address: Pirgos Mavromichali Limeni Laconia, Limeni 230 62, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Limeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Limeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pirgos Mavromichali 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located on the historic harbour of Limeni, Pirgos Mavromichali is a restored 18th-century tower overlooking the picturesque bay. It offers elegant, stone-built accommodation and has a private beach area with sun terrace. Featuring wooden floors and vaulted ceilings, Mavromichali rooms and suites offer views of the sea or the traditional courtyard. They are equipped with Cocomat furniture, mattresses, pillows, linens, towels, a flat-screen TV and minibar. Bathrobes, slippers and Korres cosmetics are offered free of charge. Traditional breakfast is served at the monastery-style dining room or the stone-paved verandas. It includes homemade bread and marmalades, omelets, pastries and local delicacies. Drinks and coffees can be enjoyed at the on-site bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pirgos Mavromichali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing