We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeleivable”

Redwood National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National park that preserves an area of over 110,000 acres of Redwood rainforest and 50 miles of scenic coastline in Northern California.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unbeleivable”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Seeing these magnificent trees up close was an amazing experience. In the words of our hosts "Awesome". You cannot come to California and not make the trip to the north and see these prehistoric marvels. Each one is different so make sure you stop and see as many as possible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank juzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    97
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome take”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Redwoods are an awesome take. We went in April, and being from the East Coast, were surprised by the fact that really was snow in the Mountains. In addition, the driving to get there is amazing in itself. One lane in each direction, winding up and winding down. If you get the chance, definitely stay in the park overnight. Remember to get gas before you get in the Park, as there is no gas , so fill up before you enter the park if you are planning on driving all the way through the park. Definitely bring your camera, and there are numerous opportunities to take breathtaking photos. One of my favorite all time places.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank HISTORY_FINDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Breathtaking Serenity”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

What an amazing place! Fascinating to see living things so huge! A must see for all travelers!
I spent 1 day there and it's definitely not enough time to capture all the serenity. I always want to visit it again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
243 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not the last time to visit”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I first came here as a little kid. Every time I return I am amazed. The Lady Bird Johnson Grove trail is a great way to visit and enjoy the trees.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Stunning! Must stop at Klamath River Overlook”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We didn't have a lot of time to spend in the park, but we did hike a bit and had one of the highlights of our trip at the Klamath River Overlook.

We hiked around Lady Bird Johnson Grove and were amazed at the beauty and size of these trees. Truly another world. We also stopped by Elk Meadow and saw approximately 25 elk grazing - again, amazing!

However, the highlight was a stop at the Klamath River Overlook, upon advice from the park ranger at the visitor center. Within 5 minutes of getting out of our car at the parking lot up top, we spotted two whales spouting and breaching. We then hiked down to the platforms that get you closer to the ocean. We sat there for over 2 hours watching about 5 whales swim, spout, jump and play. It was absolutely worth the visit and I would highly recommend this stopping point for anyone in the area. Warning, you may end up spending most of your day just enjoying the beauty of this spot and watching the whales.

I can't wait to go back and explore more of the park!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redwood National Park also viewed

Redwood National Park, CA
Redwood National Park, CA
 
Redwood National Park, CA
Redwood National Park, CA
 

Been to Redwood National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing