We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time-out Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunung Paradise Retreat
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I had the fortunate experience of staying here, as my first visit to Bali. I had the delight of getting this at a discount via one of the booking sites on the internet, after I had done a few searches on Bali and accommodation options. I had deliberately chosen to be away from the tourists and crowds Bali is renowned for in it's key areas. I arrived after 3 hours travelling from airport, exhausted, and was greeted with a smiling face and, a very welcome, welcome ice cold towel and refreshments, besides a necklace of frangipanis.
The villa was spacious in terms of it bathroom, as well as outside areas, which for me where the most important parts of the villa, and it had a private pool, that allowed for sunbathing on either sides, with a private spa treatment outside room off to the side of the pool.
I even had my own private butler, so felt like royalty. Nothing was too much for them to do, even organising and going to purchase the soft drink I liked consuming but which they didn't initially have.
Although this villa, being one of the first ones built, is close to the entrance, one never felt disturbed. This villa does lack the privacy of the newer designed villas, however felt private enough for me. The guard dog, also being very friendly, and sociable.
I never used the aircon, since it wasn't hot enough for me to consider using, nor did I use the TVC and DVD player. The villa was well maintained, and cleaned immaculately. The decor is slightly dated, however still perfectly acceptable, from my perspective.
One tip, is to use their spa/massage contacts, since it was one of the best massages I had had in quite awhile. Also they took me to various local areas to see areas that interested me. My best was driving in the mountain paths smelling the cloves that heavily fragranced the air whilst drying.
The food was great in terms of breakfast choices, i always had nasi goreng, since i believe your best food choices are what the locals eat, and I truly loved the Indonesian dishes I chose for dinner.
Overall, I would recommend this, if you are looking for a spot away from the crowds, and into the true Bali. It's great for families, due to the size of the villas and you are close to Lovina and Menjangan, if requiring beach, snorkelling or diving. If you are looking for restaurants, entertainment and people, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Should you like the bustle of Kuta area, Royal Residence Rangdu will be a great disappointment.
But…if you like the unspoilt beauty and peace of the northern part of Bali you should certainly go to Royal Residence Rangdu.
RRR is under Dutch management and the management and local staff really understand the requirements of demanding guests who are looking for a beautiful and restful stay, with at one hand all the services within reach and on the other hand people who don’t like to stay in a hotel with all the lack of privacy.
We stayed for 6 weeks in Villa Wana, one of the villa’s which can be rent. We choose for Wana because of the space and the view over the hills and the beautiful scenery. Having said so, this applies for all the villa’s. The privacy and the comfort is guaranteed at all the villa’s on this property.
Villa Wana however is built on a plot where a lot of attention is paid to maintain the original habitat with a lot of beautiful old mango trees which keep the hot sun away. However if you like the sun there a places on the 3.000m2 plot where you can enjoy it.
The villa inside is sober furnished, but with everything you need for a pleasant stay.
The outside terrace/verandah is very huge and you can sit wherever you want, without disturbing your other companion.
On a lower level you will find the beautiful swimming pool with –believe it or not- nice, cool and very clean water without the fragrance of the usual chlorine. Enjoy the sunny terrace and hide yourself under one of the mango trees if you want.
Last but not least: You will enjoy the fantastic service of a private butler. Widi was the butler who took care of our wellbeing and Villa. He always was around without being there prominently. Should you want to make trips, Widi is very happy to take you wherever you want, either with a simple jeep or a big MPV car at indeed very reasonable prices.
We had a full board service. We strongly advise you to consider this, because the next restaurants are in Lovina area which is about 45 minutes away from RRR. Don’t worry about the menu of RRR. They offer a great variety of both lunch and dinner dishes, which are prepared in a central kitchen and is served up in your private villa and you will love the good quality of this kitchen.
We hope to be able to be back in near future.
Peter and Tjeerd - Holland

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterTjeerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were booked for 6 days for new year get away, love the view and the villa, seems everything going well until the second day our money was stolen, Thief was picked up just the money from our bag, not the other stuff, we saw when person went out from our room villa( just see the back of the person/thief) and left the room with the door open, we were thought was the staff or housekeeping, but kind of weird- he just walked fast and half run. till we checked our bag then found, my money were stolen-we reported to management there and they reported to police. Management not really help and at the end we had to pay one of Police officer with the last money in my wallet( for transport fee & investigation) was horrible get away and holiday for us then we decided left the day after we got rob. Why we have to continue if we not feel secure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nura_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliRRR, General Manager at Gunung Paradise Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

As management of Royal Residence Rangdu we are very concerned with the welfare and the safety of our guests and their goods. It is therefore that we always advise to keep valuables in the safety deposit boxes and drawers we have in each villa and that we operate 7x24 security. It was therefore a shocking event for management and our staff, that money seems to be stolen from one of our villas. It never happened before that anything of guest belongings was missing since we started renting out in 2007. After the incident was reported we did the utmost in trying to solve the issue (except compensate the guest for the loss). We started an investigation to find out if any stranger could have entered the guarded compound unnoticed, we checked the alibis of our staff and when this did not unveil any irregularity we invited the Police from Seririt to make an official report. They took it very serious and arrived within 30 min with 6 people from different departments. But the police interview went not as smooth as we hoped because they were not convinced the event really happened. Main reason was that the victim could not explain to satisfaction, where he had the envelope with money from that was carried/put in a travel bag on the floor.
The incident taught us that we had to sharpen the security measurements and advice to our guest to even never leave the villas unlocked when there is nobody there. Secondly our front gate will be permanently closed. Also our staff will be more alert if they see somebody they are unfamiliar with on the 2 ha compound of Royal Residence Rangdu.
The friend whose money was stolen wanted to leave immediately and this review is from his hand. All we did and our sincere apologies for the incident could not change his mind. An invitation to explain why he thinks management response was not accurate remained unanswered. The guest however who booked the villa was of course disappointed about the incident and the consequences, but still gave us a splendid review on agoda.com (mr. Jonathan from USA), because the incident did not hamper the quality of our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We booked for 3 nights but ended up 7. We could not leave this beautiful place. The villa, garden, swimmingpool, location, staff, food were amazing. We really felt at home. We stayed at several places on Bali but consider the area around Royal Residence Rangdu the most beautiful and authentic. Once again Jack, Agus, Rio and the rest of the staff thank you for an unforgettable and wonderful experience. We could write for hours but there are no words to describe how fantastic Royal Residence Rangdu is.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliRRR, General Manager at Gunung Paradise Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are so thankful for your comment because it is exactly what we try to achieve for our guests "to make it hard for them to leave". And we look forward to see you here again as you promised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Guided by good friends I found this hidden gem high on a mountain top surrounded by green jungles and a fantastic atmosphere.

The service was exquisite and the houses luxurious beyond belief and when you combine it with the VERY reasonable balinese prices this stay was an experience of a life time.

I can very warmly recommend Royal Residence Rangdu and I wish you a very good trip :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uffe1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I started my journey in the South of Bali but found it way to busy. My goal was to to relax, reload and enjoy the nature. I decided to find a quiet place and I finally found what I had been looking for.
Not far from Lovina, a 15-20 minutes drive up in the mountains - I found IT!
It was a resort with 6 different, private and beautyful villas – all with an amazing view! The resort is full of magnolia trees and just stunning – like a garden of paradise. There are also lots of mango-, coconut- and papaya trees, and the fruits are used for the most wonderful juices for breakfast or whenever.
The staff was very helpfull, smiling and spoke good English, which was a great experience, after lots of difficult situations ealier on my journey. Even the drivers were great, since they drove carefully, spoke English and always up for sharing a good story.
Both the villa and the private pool were absolutely clean and just wonderful. I could choose to have a private butler, and a driver when needed.
All I could ever ask for was already there. Even a fully equipped kitchen, books, terrace, sun beds and when ever I needed something - I just called the ”butler”. They prepared all food in a kitchen close to the villas, and had a great local menu - from which I could choose, when I wanted.
I found that two friends from the States also were in Bali and invited them to stay in ”my” Villa for 4-5 days, and together we were enjoying the most beautiful quiet surroundings, while exploring when and what ever we felt like in Bali.
It have already been to long since my last stay and I will be back soon for sure! Thanks to Jack and Marijke for an amazing stay and lots of great memories : )

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misswissendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had stayed in North Bali before, but this time we needed accommodation for a week that would suit a group of people in ages ranging from 8 to 80, so it needed to have facilities for all age groups. Not easy to find! This place was recommended to us by friends who had been here last year and it was everything they told us it would be - and a bit more. The villa we rented had a spectacular view of the mountains and the sea, a large garden shaded by mango trees with swimming pool and a children's pool, and very clean and spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. The food was good and varied; the "rijsttafel" on Saturday was really excellent. A butler is available full-time if you want. Our butler did pretty much everything for us: he served our food, took us hiking in the rice fields, made our beds, played with the kids, and took us to Lovina. We all felt very pampered and had a fantastic vacation. The peace and tranquility of the place and the warmth of the people who work here will certainly bring us back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frederique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gunung Paradise Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunung Paradise Retreat

Address: Jl. Muntig, Desa Rangdu | Dusun Karyanadi, Rangdu, Seririt 81153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seririt > Rangdu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rangdu
Price Range: $57 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gunung Paradise Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunung Paradise is an unique luxury boutique villa resort on top of a hill near North Bali coastline. Its beautiful natural environment (one of the greenest of all Bali) is reflected in the way the large villa gardens are shaped. Gunung Paradise comprises one main villa with 2 rentable units with 4+1 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The other villa comprises 3 bedrooms and one bedroom. Both villas offer our guests large outdoor roof covered terraces. So the total number of bedrooms sums up to 7+1. The main villa (Cempaka) has breathaking views to the Bali sea and the Mayong-Munduk valley. Villa Jepun is a garden- and poolview villa. A large (60m2) swimming pool with separate children pool completes the facilities. The top of the hill is 210 m above sealevel which results in a comfortable climate and temperature (max 30 in daytime and min 23 in the night).The resort is adopted by and in the community of Rangdu village what gives us and our guest a rare opportunity to enjoy authentic Balinese life. You can visit our neighbours, the local boarding school or take a guided walk in the village environment and ricefields. Or you can join a special Hindu ceremony with one of our fellow villagers when it occasionally happens. And still you are just 10 min from the beach by car and 20 min from Lovina beach a small touristic beach village with many hotels, restaurants and shops. And on top of that all we provide uncomparable private guest services that goes beyond your expectation. Whether it is the hospitality and personal care your private villa butler gives you or the all day healthy and tasteful meals and drinks we provide or the massages, the yoga class or the trips and tours that we especially designed for our guests. And for those who want to experience more what Bali has to offer on a more spiritual level we also have a few things to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gunung Paradise Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunung Paradise Retreat Rangdu, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing