We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vauban c'est magnifique!”
Review of Hotel Vauban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vauban
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Reviewed April 25, 2008

I stayed at the Vauban in May 2007, as Briancon was the setting for one of the stages of the Giro d'Italia (Italy's version of the Tour de France). Briancon is a really wonderful little town and the Alps are beautiful but let me stick to reviewing the hotel.

I booked the hotel through venere.com. We arrived very late at night, I think around 10:30 pm, because that is when our train (from Barcelona, it took forever, multiple trains) arrived. The staff were waiting for us as I emailed ahead. They checked us in and were very welcoming. We had a room with two twin beds as you can see in the photo. Unfortunately I took the picture while our room was a total mess and it doesn't show the whole room. But it was quite spacious, as was the bathroom. The bathroom was very clean as well and had a bidet (I never tried it though). It also had a balcony overlooking the street below. In the photo, the hustle and bustle is mostly due to the preparation for the race. The balcony window ledge often served as our refrigerator overnight! The hotel was very centrally located, and a supermarket was very close by, so we always bought fruit, yogurt, etc for breakfast. As a vegan, I had somewhat of a difficult time eating in town, but I got by, and there were two really good restaurants, one a creperie and other that was a couscous restaurant.

My friend and I planned to rent bikes (already prearranged) from a particular store, and were going to ride up the Col d'Izoard, one of the mountains they climb in the Tour de France. The store turned out to totally flake out on us and never answered the phone. So the hotel staff, seeing how crestfallen we were, called all around town until they found someone who would rent to us. They really went out of their way and we appreciated it immensely.

Overall, the Vauban will definitely be my hotel of choice if I ever make it back to lovely Briancon.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank brooklynprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zur Rückseite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MVelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Fanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank serge43000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank crafougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: demander 1 chambre qui ne donne pas sur l'avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vacsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Briancon hotels
0.2 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
0.7 mi away
Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier
0.7 mi away
Suite-Home Briancon Serre Chevalier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Cristol
Hotel Le Cristol
#5 of 17 in Briancon
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 17 in Briancon
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge De La Paix
Auberge De La Paix
#4 of 17 in Briancon
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vauban

Address: 13 avenue du General de Gaulle, 05100 Briancon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vauban 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vauban is ideally situated in Briancon city center , less than 5 minutes from the railway station and less than 200 meters from the lifts Prorel , where starts Serre Chevalier ski slopes, 200 m from Briancon pool and rink and 2 minutes from the Briancon Casino Barriere. Hotel Vauban Briancon have 40 comfortable spacious rooms equipped with flat screen, Sattelite TV, Canal +, CanalSat , Iinternational channels , telephone, hairdryer , WIFI , bath or shower. All rooms have been renovated . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing