We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal in so many ways.....”
other travelers have booked this property
Snowgums and mountain on a typical winter's day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snowgums and mountain on a typical winter's day
beautiful vaulted ceiling in the bedroom for 3-4 sledging away from it all
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Snowgums and mountain on a typical winter's day
beautiful vaulted ceiling in the bedroom for 3-4
sledging away from it all
magnificent beamed ceiling in the living area
thermal spa, 15 minutes away
spacious bedroom with lots of storage
main room with double sofabed, and child-size single sofabed
Snowgums' garden under snow
cool in summer, and warm & cosy in winter
snowshoeing, skiing, snowboarding - lots to do, on and off piste
lovely vaulted ceiling bedroom for 3-4
husky sledging nearby
sleep under feather duvets and on feather pillows
Snowgums in winter sunshine, 2 minutes to the slopes
cool cotton and feather filling for beds
Snowgums and Serre Chevalier under snow
open kitchen-living area
Snowgums under snow
open kitchen-dining area
field play, in front of Snowgums
well-equipped large kitchen, large fridge, dish-washer, micro-wave and high spec oven
Snowgums' games cupboard
vaulted ceilings, even in the shower rooms!
snowshoeing from the door
easy access to garden and plenty of room at the table
summer in the garden at Snowgums
fantastic thermal spa just 15 minutes away
great walking
Briancon old town looking towards Serre Chevalier Valley
wildflowers in spring and early summer
great views in all directions
hikes for all ages on our doorstep
the field in front of Snowgums
BBQs in the garden and tables and benches for all eating together
Briancon old town
the next valley, only half an hour away
plenty of shade for those hot days
Snowgums' wildflower meadow in early summer
Snowgums' wildflower meadow
Go Ape!
Snowgums' garden in spring
lots of lakes for swimming
medieval festival nearby
walking with llamas
playing in the Wendy house
a spot of fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Briancon, Hautes-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
EmilySMC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal in so many ways.....”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A whole 4 weeks at Snowgums, we feel so lucky!
Two young'uns came for a long weekend, benefitting from the overnight trains that run through to the end of September. Long sunny walks to Lautaret and Nevache before returning to their respective courses refreshed, leaving the oldies to enjoy it at their own pace.
The highlight was 3 days up at refuge Laval, walking high above the treeline in moonscapes (with lakes), and then walking in the woods - following the upper Durrance to its' source, early morning when the ice crystals were just melting, and up high above Mt.Genevre, as well as just above Mas de Blais / Bois de L'Ours. The autumn colours were stunning and made us want to return in spring. The flat was wonderful and made us want to return anytime, as did the Briancon market and organic coop, with read and cheeses to cheer up any weary walkers... and plums, and pears, and everything tasting so fresh it makes you wonder what they do back home, it never tastes so good.
I loved working under the sunshade in the garden, and the book is just about finished, and Jon is happy to have re-kindled his love of trees and mountains... 26 days of pure sunshine, one gray day and the last day SNOW!!!
A perfect holiday.
Thanks you Pippa and Becky (and Chine too). We're looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting there on the overnight train from London, the location really is fantastic
Liked least: The days are too short to do everything you'd like!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2016
So pleased that your stay went well Emily. We look forward to having you stay with us again another time. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahGDLW
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly welcome in a spectaular location”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our first visit to Snowgums and we were blown away by the gorgeous location in the Haute Alps with beautiful walks in a range of valleys and mountain paths all within a short drive away. There are buses I believe but we didn't use them and would recommend a car to get out and explore the fantastic landscape. The lovely old walled town of Briancon is only a short drive away too. There's a good patisserie and supermarket just a 10-15 minute walk away for fresh croissants every morning too. Snowgums itself was a treat. Pippa, the host, was warm and welcoming and helped us with advice and suggestions for our day trips out into the mountains. She provides good detailed maps we could borrow too so no need to buy these. The 200 year old farmhouse is stylish and cosy and it stands out from many I've been in by all the little decorative touches that make it feel more like a home than an anonymous apartment. If you have never been to this part of France before I definitely recommend Snowgums as Pippa will be able to give you loads of advice and suggestions on the best way to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location and very friendly and helpful host
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Was fabulous having you here and that we could tip you off about our favourite spots to explore. See you soon! Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H
1 review
“Great holiday, wonderful host and great value”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've had a lovely couple of weeks' holiday in Briancon. We've been mountain biking, walking, swimming and even tried via ferrata. The apartment is lovely - very comfortable and well equipped. The farmhouse is in an idyllic location. Thank you for all your helpful suggestions - we have lots of happy memories of this holiday!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
You're welcome - so great having families stay who get out and explore, try different things, and relax too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyB219...
1 review
“A wonderful retreat with huge character and a welcoming host.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We fell in love with the beautiful apartment, with it's quirky features, careful attention to detail and welcoming feel. It is such a restful place; we so enjoyed having time as a family here and really appreciated Pippa's guidance and hospitality. We have certainly fallen in love with this part of the world and feel like there's so much more we need to see and do here. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
It was a real pleasure to have you with us for your stay here in the sunny southern French Alps. It is always a delight to host families such as yours, who enjoy exploring and relaxing together, and we hope to welcome you back again soon, summer or winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very special place”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly appreciated our very relaxing stay at Snowgums. The sense of history in the house with the peace and tranquillity of the surroundings gave a real feeling of timelessness. We struck on a week of sunshine and unexpected heat, so the haven of the house as a retreat from the sun was very welcome.

We took up the offer of meals provided by Nathalie, as recommended by Pippa who owns Snowgums, and can really recommend that others do the same; as vegetarians, eating out can be hit and miss, but having a very well prepared three course meal waiting for us was just wonderful. Special touches that were just as appreciated - towels to go swimming, slippers, flowers, and milk, cheese and bread - very thoughtful. We came with our bikes, and there was plenty of space to store these securely. Pippa very helpfully pointed us in the direction of beautiful rides which exceeded our expectations.

Briancon centre is about 20 minutes' walk away, but supermarket and boulangerie half that. The old town definitely worth having a walk to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and peace
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2016
We were delighted to have you both stay with us Sarah, and to help you make the most of your visit to this special part of the Alps. We look forward to welcoming you another time in the future. Best wishes, Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C
Queanbeyan, Australia
2 reviews
“Superb value - beautiful space - great host”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Total pleasure to stay at Snowgums. Pippa our hostess was so informative and helpful about the region and our stay. She also organised a great local cook Nathalie to create some meals for me and my friends - they were all completely delicious. As Australians it was also great to meet a kindred spirit. The 2 apartments we used were beautifully set up aesthetically and practically.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and comfort of our accommodation
Liked least: No problems
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
It was great to have you guys with us Jo. We look forward to your visit next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinabell...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a Special Place to Stay!”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

It felt as if Pippa had been looking after us for months with all the lead up to our stay. Pippa and her daughter gave my daughters (aged 14 and 6), my cousin and her partner, and me, a very warm and generous welcome to her amazing chalet! What an adventure we had here over this week. We were greeted with lots of snow which is what we came to experience - the girls for the first time. And what a fabulous place to experience it. A chocolate box, breathtaking view at every turn and then such beauty in the tiny details both in the streets of this wonderful area, but also here inside wonderful Snowgums. Pippa, your eye for charming detail is superb. We have loved this cosy apartment, a refuge after venturing out to explore.
The skiing at Chantemerle was a great success. We were visiting without a car. it was an easy 10 minute walk through the village to the free shuttle bus that takes you to up to Chantmerle. We also used Taxi Ben for trips into Briancon including a marvellous dinner in the old town and on another day a trip to to the spa.
The thermal spa is not to be missed - a wonderful way to end the week of skiing, wallowing in steaming water surrounded by snow and looking up at the mountains.
We loved Nathalie's superb food too. All delicious and interesting. (Her chocolate fondant cake was demolished in minutes).
Snowgums is definitely to be recommended as special place to stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2016
Great to have you here for introducing your Aussie kids to a European Alpine winter, with all its delights. So pleased you enjoyed it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing