We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find, close to gare du Briancon”
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long drive and ride, coming into Briancon was rather daunting, after driving through the countryside and alpes, coming into the town that was very busy was one in which required attention to where you go.

The first thing that caught my eye were the directions to Hotel de Paris, I was driving and my partnering was riding. For me ease of directions got me to the hotel quickly. It took a while for my partner to find his way there. Yes there is the secret he eventually asked for directions.

The hotel is lovely, clean and quiet. The view from our window was beautiful we looked up to the old town and to the many fortress's that surround this town.

The ability to store our bikes and work on them when required, the area was locked and secure. Close to shopping and launderette made life so much more easy with the amount of cycle kit we had and could wash enabling clean clothing.
Will stay there again. Meals were also great and value for money.

Room Tip: Close to all amenities and easy to find directions signs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A good honest old fashioned hotel- The lady in charge speaks English and was delightful- A very good simple evening meal was served. Very close to the railway line which we were frightened was going to be a problem - but it wasn't.

Nothing pretentious just a clean straightforward old fashioned smallish hotel.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location between the train station and downtown is very convenient, although it is a pretty good hike up to the upper town, which, aside from winter sports, is the main interest in Braincon. The room was small and basic, but adequate, with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen on dry land (more like a boat's head). The breakfast was good, by southern European standards. The dinner was OK, but no better. The WiFi worked fine and was welcome. The staff are very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: The back side, away from the street, is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSK_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

It´s realy strange that so many have given this place a five. The hotel is OK but not more.

The wifi works fine and the personnel is helpful. The rooms are small and basic but with good view of the mountanis. The breakfast is nothing special. Lots of traffic outside but it does not disturb.

The place is not in the old town. But if you are skiing like us its not more then 10 minutes walk to the gondola.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerrSparsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food was great, staff excellent. and a clean room. The room was not great, we had a room at the top of the stairs and could hear each and every conversation of the people walking up the stairs, we were also able to hear the trains at night. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the laundromat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked the Hotel de Paris on line as a last minute bed for the night because we were touring, night was falling and we needed a bed.
To be fair , it was not a "bad" hotel and for the price, I think we paid about 57 Euros and I am sure we could have done a lot worse.
The room was clean enough, very spacious and was let to us as a double but in fact the room we were given was a family room with a double and two singles. The bed was comfortable, no problems there and the staff polite but one or two things were not as good as we would have liked. We would have enjoyed tea or coffee making facilities.
There was no air conditioning so the room was a bit airless however when we opened the window the noise form the road and railway station was too much. In fact the hotel even provided two pairs of ear plugs for free! We ended up sleeping with the window closed.

The shower was a very big let down, an old fashioned shower set so low on the wall that even at 5 foot tall I could not stand under it, my husband didn't even try. When I turned the tap on very gently a jet of water shot straight out with a blast of air or an air lock completely soaking me. I gave up trying to have a shower. The shower wall grouting was pretty well worn and could have done with replacing.
Having failed with the shower we tried to wash in the sink but even that was not possible as the plug did not fit, it was way too loose and the water just kept running away in the end we gave up on the plumbing and settled for wet wipes!

This was not a terrible hotel but it was not the best either. Would I stay here again? If I was caught short in the Alps and needed a bed for the night yes I would, but it wasnt the sort of place I would have booked from choice. On a bright note, the bedroom had a beautiful view of the Alps through the trees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the rear, it could cut the noise quite a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quintrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you came to Briancon to soak up history, this isn't the best choice, but if you came to explore the area, it would be hard to find a better location. This hotel is a short walk from the train station, and an even shorter walk from the bottom of the road going up to the Col d'Izoard. Drive in the other direction and you immediately start climbing the Col de Lauteret. So, it is a good base camp for exploring this part of the alps, and if you are exploring by bike, there is a bike garage below the hotel. The rooms are a good value, and quite clean. There was plenty of water pressure in the shower, even on the top floor. The lady at the front desk is friendly and helpful; the man not so much. Medieval Briancon is about half a mile walk away, all uphill.

Room Tip: The front rooms can be a bit noisy so ask for a room at the back. You'll look out over the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighsscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Briancon hotels
1 mi away
Ibis Briancon Serre Chevalier
0.4 mi away
Soleil Vacances - Parc Hotel Residence
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#12 of 17 in Briancon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#6 of 17 in Briancon
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 17 in Briancon
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont-Brison
Hotel Mont-Brison
#7 of 17 in Briancon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: 41 avenue du General de Gaulle, 05100 Briancon, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Briancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Briancon
Price Range: $59 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing